We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely first class!”
other travelers have booked this property
Camrose Holiday Cottage street view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Camrose Holiday Cottage street view
Cozy and spacious lounge Bright and spacious lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Camrose Holiday Cottage street view
Cozy and spacious lounge
Bright and spacious lounge
Picture windows with views of back garden, village and countryside
Lounge and door leading to main hallway
Modern fully equipped kitchen with double oven range cooker
Kitchen has dual aspect windows as well
All the mod cons here plus a view!
Breakfast bar for those casual mornings
Mmmm
Another sunny spot to relax in the sun lounge
Cosy and comfortable as well!
Sun lounge dining area which seats 6
Sun lounge leads to the back garden and more views!
Ready for a lovely meal
Camrose has a unique layout over 4 levels
The view down the staircase from the top landing to the lower levels
Huge master bedroom with loads of storage
All bedrooms have a great view over the village and surrounding countryside
Spacious twin room
Another bright room with dual aspect windows
Adult size bunk bedroom
Main bathroom is on 1st level - shower over bath
Main bathroom
Toiletries all supplied
Second main level cloakroom
Washer and vented dryer.  Rotary dryer and indoor drying rack also available
Back of Camrose viewed from lower garden.  Garden is fully enclosed with picnic area and BBQ.
View from master bedroom
Grassed area leading to lower garden
Spring blooms
View from twin bedroom - stunning
More garden angles
Upper garden just outside the sun lounge
Cullen viaduct is very close by
Just another lovely angle of the wee bridge
Fabulous Cullen Bay is only a few minutes away
We look forward to your visit!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cullen, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nixxy999
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely first class!”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

aving holidayed many times in Cullen since childhood, we really wanted to return, but had struggled to find really great accommodation in recent years. Luckily we have now found an absolute gem in Camrose! Selma & Rob are 'masters of their craft' & have obviously put their heart & soul into the renovation of this charming cottage from the start, resulting in a truly outstanding place to stay. The photos really don't do this house justice. It's very spacious inside & is flooded with natural light at all times of the day. The accommodation is spread over 4 levels & the house is furnished to an exceedingly high standard throughout. As adults, the extra touches such as Denby crockery, luxury linen, abundance of towels, complimentary dressing gowns, free welcome pack, toiletries & wifi made for an exceptional 5* stay. Our children adored the bunk beds, the split levels, the safe garden, the Easter treats so thoughtfully provided, as well as the games, toys & endless hiding places for 'hide & seek'! Nothing has been overlooked by Selma & Rob & if you really wanted to, you could cook a 4 course dinner for 10 in the amazing kitchen! . If you don't want to cook, there's a super fish & chip shop on the main street & a lovely Chinese take away 2 mins from the cottage. And the famous Cullen Ice Cream shop is literally a stones throw away. Cullen provides the ideal location for a really great family holiday. There are miles of gorgeous cliff-top & beach walks to enjoy. The cycle path along the old railway line is brilliant for safe cycling with little ones & there's also a lovely play park just up the road. Further afield we visited the aquarium in MacDuff which the kids loved & Duff House & gardens which are well worth a visit for a picnic. We were blessed with brilliant weather for our week & so spent most of it at the main beach enjoying the sunshine! The house & garden were spotlessly clean & a real joy to stay in. We felt very spoiled. We had fabulous holiday & can't wait to enjoy the charms Camrose & Cullen have to offer again, later in the year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2015
We're so very pleased that you discovered Camrose and we look forward to your return!

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotty197...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“They've thought of everything”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

What a fantastic property. There was everything a family could want for a holiday in Scotland. We all loved the fact that we were so near the beach which we walked every day, even with the stormy weather we had when we were there!
We had a lovely walk to Portknockie one fine day and had a gorgeous fish supper, but be warned, there was absolutely nothing else open, we couldn't even find a corner shop, neither could we get a drink in the hotel! But having said that it was definitely worth the walk, which was mostly level, except for some steps at Cullen.,
We had a lovely Sunday lunch at the Cullen hotel which overlooks the bay, they were very helpful and let us take our dog Luna in with us (the bar only of course).
Lunch in the Rockpool was very nice, but Luna had to stay at home that day.
Now, there were lots of raving reports about the ice cream shop but tbh, the staff were very rude, which kind of soured the taste of the ice cream, so we only went there once.
We tried the fish and chip shop in Cullen, but only once as not great.
Right, so bak to the house- luxurious linen, tastefully decorated, very thoughtfully laid out, cosy, homely, all the kitchen equipment you could think of, fab cooker (I want one!), absolutely loads of towels, including beach towels, Denby crockery, coffee maker, cosy throws in the lounge to snuggle up on the sofa with. The owners, Selma and Rob provided us with a welcome basket which was really nice, there were teabags, coffee and sugar there and they even laid out a blanket and towel for our wee dog to use for her stay, which was very thoughtful (although we had taken our own), but thoughtful nonetheless. Think that's about all I can say really. It was such a treat to stay here for the week, it really was like staying in someone's home. Oh, and the techys in our family loved the free wifi. There was also a bookshelf on the landing with books, games etc in case you were bored.
We would definitely recommend this property and would stay here again. Thank you Selma and Rob for sharing your property with our family and apologies it has taken me soon long to write this review!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quality of property
Liked least: the light coming in from the skylights in the bedrooms
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2015
Better late than never! We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Camrose last summer. We've done our best to provide our guests with a comfortable and pleasant accommodation in a location that speaks for itself. Sorry you found the skylights a bit of a bother in the bedrooms. The roller blinds on those windows block out most of the light we thought but perhaps in the summer months some light may have still been getting through. We'll certainly check it out. Hope to see you again in 2015!

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JohnAFren...
1 review
“Fantastic home from home in Cullen”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were truly overwhelmed by the high standards of comfort and decor in this stunningly well presented accommodation. Every little detail was covered and we could not want for anything! Excellent location, great views, outstanding house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2014
Thank you so very much for your kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again for your next holiday in Cullen.
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeilSnoma...
Isle of Seil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superlative”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Camrose House - Absolutely Superlative

We have stayed in a number of properties over the past 15 years and have experienced what we thought was unbeatable 5 star quality

Camrose is a level way above this !! - It is absolutely superlative in EVERY aspect

Where do you start ?

The kitchen just oozes quality not only with its bright high spec finish and gas range cooker but is also tastefully complimented with Denby Tableware and seriously upmarket cookware - no expense has been spared in this area - It actually makes you want to cook whilst you are on holiday ......... !!

The house is a split level design and has a beautiful lounge situated mid level. This room is very bright thanks to two large floor to ceiling windows which affords views of the village and famous viaduct - once again the lounge has been very tastefully decorated and is a lovely place to relax in the evening

On the upper half landing is the main bathroom - like every other room of the house the finish is impeccable and boasts a power shower situated in a large bath - a large ladder style radiator ensures warm and dry towels

Towels incidentally are abundant throughout the house.

There is also a second cloakroom style bathroom situated in the hall

On the top floor of the house there are two bedrooms - the master bedroom is equipped with a particularly comfortable king size bed and has loads of storage space.

The other bedroom has twin beds - the views from both rooms are spectacular - my wife particularly liked the quality bed linen !!! A third bedroom is situated on the half landing and ha been kitted out with bunk beds

All in all the bedrooms definitely compliment the rest of the house which to me are in keeping with what I perceive as a 'coastal seaside theme '

The carefully manicured tiered garden which is accessed from the sun lounge/dining room is south westerly facing so enjoys the sunshine from mid morning to sunset - perhaps some free standing muskoka chairs might be useful here but there is a large circular bench and barbecue which allows for outdoor eating

Rob and Selma the owners deserve a special mention too - following a warm welcome it quickly became apparent that this couple are passionate about this recently renovated house -their attention to detail and taste is second to none and is also demonstrated by an extensive welcome pack not forgetting the speciality toiletries that have been left out for guests use

If Cullen is the place for you then Camrose is the place to stay

We hope to be back sooner than later

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Wow - what a review! We are so pleased that you found the standard of Camrose so far above the norm. We have strived to make both of our cottages Hill Crest & Camrose the best they can be. We are passionate about our holiday lets and are thrilled our guests are responding with such enthusiasm - thanks so much!
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of the property throughout.
Liked least: Parking was a little difficult at times
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Camrose which illustrates perfectly what a great spot Cullen is for a family holiday. We've done our best to make Camrose a comfortable and pleasant home away from home. We look forward to your next visit.

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts, beautiful home, Amazing location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2014
Thank you so very much for the fabulous first review. We have worked hard to make Camrose a comfortable and pleasant home away from home. We look forward to your next visit!

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing