We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real gem!”
other travelers have booked this property
Hill Crest Holiday Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hill Crest Holiday Cottage
Lounge with flat screen TV, DVD player & wide choice of movies, games, puzzles, books Lounge also has electric fire and both sea and garden views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Hill Crest Holiday Cottage
Lounge with flat screen TV, DVD player & wide choice of movies, games, puzzles, books
Lounge also has electric fire and both sea and garden views
View from lounge towards front hall .
Kitchen and breakfast bar
Fully equipped kitchen with breakfast bar
Dining room set for six ready for a relaxing meal.  Includes cosy gas fire.
Dining room has three windows all with sea views.
Gas fire in the dining room.  Cozy reading nook in the corner.
Main floor double bedroom with king size bed and ensuite shower room
Kingsize bed in main floor bedroom
First floor double bedroom with kingsize bed and sea views on three sides.
First floor single bedroom with window seat and sea view.
First floor single bedroom with garden and sea view.
The Gazebo overlooking Cullen Bay
Comfortable deck chairs
Decking overlooking the Bay
View from the deck of Cullen Bay including the harbour, beach and the golf course
Tides out - Cullen's Seatown in the distance
Back garden patio set.
Back garden view from the patio.
View to the gazebo from the kitchen.
Pretty things.
Sea views from almost every window!
An excellent spot for dolphin spotting
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cullen, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Morag2013
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A real gem! ”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our stay at Hill Crest was wonderful. Everything you could ask for was provided. We were greeted by Selma upon arrival. We were made to feel so welcome. The house is immaculate and furnished beautifully. We can't wait to return. Can't reccomended this house enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really enjoy the great feedback we receive from our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy1129
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic find!”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

What a lovely experience staying at Hillcrest cottage. I've stayed at dozens of properties and this one has to be among my favorites. Although I chose the cottage after viewing it on line - the photos didn't do it justice. It was larger than it appeared and each room was tastefully and comfortably decorated. The kitchen was so well - equipped that we wanted for nothing and we were thrilled with the yummy welcome basket that included soups, whiskey, bread, cookies, jams, coffe and fresh eggs from the owner's chickens. The beds were super comfortable and had quality linens. And the location of the cottage, sitting on a cliff overlooking the North Sea, was amazing.The bathrooms were modern and well appointed - including luxury lotions, gels and shampoos. We were able to do day trips in all directions, visiting Inverness one day, and driving south through beautiful countryside another. We were so comfortable that we cooked every meal in, only venturing out during the day. My cousin who had the double room on the upper floor, couldn't get over leaving her window open at night and hearing the sound of the crashing waves. I would certainly return to Hillcrest and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a cozy, clean, well appointed holiday letting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the sea and the cleanliness and comfort.
Liked least: We had occasional problems with the wi-fi but otherwise no complaints.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
Thank you so very much for your review of Hill Crest. You really painted a picture of what is on offer and I'm so pleased that both of you enjoyed both the house and your visit to our area. We would love to have you come to stay again in the future.

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JennyBGla...
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mrs ”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

So back again to the wonderful Hillcrest in Cullen. This amazing house will be a forever holiday for us. We just love the hospitality Selma and Rob provide every time we go.

When you walk into the cottage the first thing that is apparent is the care taken on cleaning the whole house after the last guests have stayed. It is absolutely immaculate and so clean.

The house is in amazing condition every time we stay here and I think that is a lot to do with the care the guests take when staying here and the care and attention Selma and Rob take to looking after it for the guests.

The welcome basket is always appreciated as is the kitchen and all it's utensils.

This year we were very fortunate that the weather was fabulous so we spent most of our time outside in the garden. The garden itself was perfect for our little boy and so beautiful to be in. Again the view and the location of the cottage is just perfect.

There really is nothing you could want from this cottage that is not already provided.

We have booked already to return and will do for a long time yet.

Unfortunately I left my purse in the cottage and Selma and rob very kindly posted it to me at their own expense. Not many people would take the time and care to do that.

This is the most amazing find and we just love now that we know our holidays will be spent here every year. Thank you Selma and Rob for a beautiful home to stay in. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. Hill Crest has become a favourite haven for so many of our return guests. We love sharing it with everyone who comes to stay and do our best to make it feel special to everyone who steps through our door.
We look forward to your next holiday!
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomdenova...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“5 star & sheer bliss!”
Reviewed September 28, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Booked into Hillcrest Cottage for 3 days and nights.

On arrival a welcome pack - incl filter coffee, freshly laid eggs, butteries and a wee dram of malt.

Very cosy, luxurious cottage with fab facilities over looking Cullen Bay and a 2 minute walk to the beach. See many Grey Seals and various wildlife - lots of walking.

Cullen Bay Hotel - nice food & service.

You have a lovely place - thank you and we are having a fab time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us. We are so very pleased you are enjoying everything that Hill Crest and Cullen has to offer. Hope to see you again in the future for another visit.

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthWest...
South West
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful bolt hole”
Reviewed July 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We've stayed many times at Hill Crest and it's always as good as the last.
The house has amazing views, is beautifully decorated and has everything you could possibly need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 2, 2016
Thanks so much for the great review. I'm not sure I understand the bolt hold reference in the title but appreciate the positive comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith w
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a gem. Equipped and furnished to a luxurious standard. Great location, fab views. Very friendly, helpful owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2016
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again for another visit to our area.

Selma & Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The perfect 5 star retreat”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We arrived to a warm and cosy Cottage, everything was perfect - it felt like a five star hotel.
Selma and Rob made us feel so very welcome with a basket of treats and fresh flowers.
We explored the area by foot and by car and managed to see the Northern lights on the eve of my birthday which was the best gift ever! We drove to sand end which was just a bit darker than Cullen.
The weather was kind to us and the view looks different everyday, we loved waking up to the sound of the Seaside!
Absolutely beautiful and hope to return one day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Super high standard
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2016
Thanks for that great review. Hill Crest is a wonderful home for so many reasons and we feel so lucky to be able to share it. We look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing