We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cullen, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon L
BRIGHTON ENGLAND
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

On first sight the cottage is very charming and comfortable. It's bright, spacious and am sure would comfortable accommodate four adults and two children. We were only two so were spoilt. A few negatives make this not a five star. As previous reviewers have said, the two doubles are very hard and the one downstairs like a board. We ended up using the duvets as padding and covering with the light patterned quilt. The ventilation in the bathroom is not adequate, the ceiling is covered in black mould and the radiator is rusting. After just one shower the walls and door are streaming. We took to leaving the light and extractor on for a while after finishing in the bathroom and leaving the door open to air the room. The kitchen is large with ample seating, but again a few things need attention, the freezer was unusable as it was choked up with ice the drawers would not open, and the door would not close properly further adding to the ice problem. Quite a few of the down lighters did not work, nor did the standard lamp in the sitting room. Think there perhaps needs to be a check list to go through at change over. We arrived around 3.30 and the cleaner was still there, she allowed us to bring our bags in whilst she finished up but think perhaps that led to a bit of a rush job?
One last thing, we all live in era of technology and expect to be able to stay in contact with family and work whilst away. Wi-Fi would be an excellent addition to the cottage as there is no telephone signal in the area. Ended up feeling a bit cut off, maybe the point of a holiday, but still felt a bit anxious that I could not be contacted as I have an elderly mother. I'm sure the costs could be recovered by adding £5 to the rental.
All in all these are only minor niggles and did not mar a lovely stay. I would recommend this place but would also recommend the owners do a bit of maintenance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The beds!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ttjph
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A very lovely cottage that with a few tweaks could be 5 star. This cottage has everything you could need and is beautifully decorated, modern and very spacious. The kitchen was well stocked and you could easily cook a meal if you wished to. We were kindly left some delicious shortbread which was much appreciated. The tweaks needed are slightly better cleaning, WI-FI installing, particularly as there is no phone signal and the biggest thing of all is new mattresses on both double beds. The bed in the downstairs bedroom was very, very uncomfortable and as hard as a rock. The mattresses are the only things that would stop me from returning but if these were replaced I would return tomorrow. The location is idyllic and only 2 minutes walk from the beach and harbour. Cullen has everything you need, including a fantastic fish and chip shop, ice cream shop and delightful cafe. The surrounding area is beautiful with plenty to do and see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, lay out of the cottage and lovely decor
Liked least: Mattresses on double beds
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone
Reviewed August 30, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester
Reviewed July 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
slsFife
fife
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“comfortable and warm”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This cottage is spacious, comfortable and ideally located for visiting the Moray coast. The rooms have been beautifully decorated and the seaside theme is tasteful.We were particularly impressed with the highly efficient and easy to operate heating system and believe me, you need a warm place to stay at all times of the year in this area!

Anyone with mobility issues would find getting upstairs difficult but there is a bedroom downstairs.We would recommend the owners to install a shower curtain rather than the shower screen as putting on the taps to run the bath is not easy unless you have very, very long arms! As another reviewer pointed out the beds are rather on the firm side but we both slept well.

All in all, a lovely cottage and one we would hope to return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lister-An...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a wonderful week in this lovely comfortable cottage...Everything you needed including toys for young children, seats for the beach, buckets and spades and even picnic items. The cottage was spotless, lovely comfortable beds with a lovely homely feel.. The beach was within walking distance also a golf club. What made it even better was the very good weather we had.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elstree
Reviewed December 9, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing