We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very good”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Boldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Overall very good”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited for a Saturday lunch and we're overall impressed by the pub and it's food. A warm atmosphere with a country feel. Large decked area at the rear which would be nice on a summers day.

We were very happy with the food we ordered however the service was mixed. Some of the waitresses were very cheerful and attentive whilst others seemed rather unenthused. Maybe lack of confidence/experience.

Menu is very extensive, maybe too much so, but the quality is good as is the presentation. Probably more restaurant quality than pub food.

Would definitely return. Better customer service and would have given 5 stars.

Helpful?
Thank Gerroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your lunch on Saturday here at the Red Lion. As a team it is great to get such positive feedback about the food and the overall service, I will pass on your comments to the chef about the food and the presentation. Please accept my apologies if some of the staff seemed inexperienced. We do have a few new staff in the restaurant and I am confident next time you visit they will have found their feet. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    79
    27
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Co. Durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A great Happy Birthday lunch”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

On Sunday 19th January a family group of 10 met to celebrate my grandson's 18th birthday.
The staff had taken the time to decorate the table with balloons and banners we had previously provided which got the "party" off to a great start although I must say my grandson was a bit embarrassed to start with.
The choices of meals on the menu meant it did take a while to make decisions but the efficient and friendly staff were very patient. Meals eventually chosen included mince and dumplings,lamb.pork with DELICIOUS stuffing and crackling,chicken and the trio of meat. All were accompanied with succulent gravy.Perfectly cooked vegetables were piping hot.Nothing was a bother to the staff who brought extra veg,gravy and even crackling and stuffing on request.
Drinks were provided on request and "empties" were removed efficiently and without disruption to our conversations and eating.
Main course finished,plates etc cleared and suitable time lapsed the decision of desserts started.Once again the staff were great answering all questions to help with the hard work of deciding what to have!We were not disappointed with the desserts and although a bit of a struggle for a couple of us all plates were gleaned and removed.
We were not made to feel as though we had to leave the table and stayed for a while longer to enjoy the friendly atmosphere and good service given.
This was not our first visit to The Red Lion but it was our first party there and I would certainly recommend it,the staff are fantastic and NOTHING is a bother to any of them!!!
Thank you to you all for making the "party" go well.
Thanks also go to the other diners who along with the staff joined in with the singing of "Happy Birthday"
See you again soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your grandsons birthday celebration at the Red Lion. As a team it is great to get such positive feedback about the food and the service, I will pass on your comments to the chef and the friendly waiting staff. I am pleased we could be part of making your grandsons birthday a special one. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant new basket meals”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This is about 10th time at the red Lion and it just keeps on getting better. Well done staff and chefs food was great and we loved the basket meal in the bar. Brilliant

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrshiggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the Red Lion. As a team it is great to get such positive feedback, especially from our long standing regular customers, about the food and the staff. We do pride ourselves on our basket menu, it has been a great addition to the bar and we have received a lot of fantastic comments about it. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Decent pub”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Have tried the Red Lion a few times over the years and always found it to be ok. Hadn't been since last august when we were faced with a rude bar man. We went in at ten mins to twelve and we were told we couldn't have a table as the restaurant didn't open til twelve. Instead of giving us menus and offering us a seat in the bar for ten mins he curtly told us they didn't serve til twelve.
I wouldn't have returned but was with a couple of friends and they wanted to visit. Anyway the staff were friendly and the food ok. But must agree with a previous reviewer that the menu needs a shake up.
Yes I know you can have two meals for £9.95 so I don't need to be told it again but my £9.95 will stay in my pocket

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Millyannpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the Red Lion. As a team it is great to get positive feedback about the staff. We do pride ourselves on our two course for £9.95 special which I know you did see. We have various other deals midweek ie homemade pie nights, steak nights and a specials board. As well as our extensive restaurant menu (20+ main meal choices), we also offer the basket menu in the bar during the day. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Menu needs a shake up”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited the red lion the other day the staff, as always were friendly and attentive, the menu however I feel needs a bit of updating and maybe some specials aswel

Helpful?
1 Thank Aggymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to the Red Lion. As a team it is great to get such positive feedback about the staff. We do pride ourselves on our two course for £9.95 special and have various other deals midweek ie homemade pie nights, steak nights. We also offer the basket menu in the bar during the day. My apologies if you didn't know about all our delicious specials. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to try them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Boldon, Tyne and Wear
West Boldon, Tyne and Wear
 
West Boldon, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
East Boldon, Sunderland
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing