We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sunday lunch was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Boldon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“sunday lunch was excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

29th july Just had our sunday lunch in The Red Lion and we both agree that this was the best we have had in a pub

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch, we take a lot of pride in the feedback we receive about it. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe to try the excellent mid week menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    76
    27
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

After reading many good reviews about this pub, I decided to give it a go last Saturday lunchtime with my wife. On entering we where escorted to a dirty unmade table, even though there was clean, made up table available? We decided to start with potato skins, and soup of the day. The skins where greasy and burnt, the soup came without any bread, and was just so so. On hoping for a better mains we both ordered the corned beef pie, what a disaster !!!!
It arrived in a bowl with a puff pastry top that had simply being placed on top, and a dish of blanched carrot, cauliflower and peas. There was no gravy or sauce of any kind, and the whole dish was completely dry. The "Pie" mixture reasmbled something I would have got out of a dog tin, absolutely disgustring. Being a person who eats out a lot both socialy and for business, I have the pleasure of visiting all types of establishments ranging from pubs to michelin standard restaurants, but I must award this place the honour of the worst I have sampled for many a year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. On behalf of the owners and staff I would like to apologise if you had a less than pleasant experience whilst at the Red Lion, had you let a member of staff know you had concerns on Saturday lunchtime whilst you were here, we would have done our best to rectify any problems at the time. As a team we endeavour to make your meal as enjoyable as possible and if you feel we have fallen short of that your points will be addressed. I hope you will give the Red Lion and it's excellent team of staff another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Keeping up standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I often visit with my wife on an evening, but popped in for a business lunch with prospective customer. Service was great as ever, food was superb. I discovered a new treat, scampi and chips in a basket, simple and stylish and really beautiful scampi.
Great menu to choose from, quiet enough for business discussions, yet still has the atmosphere of somewhere special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to read positive comments from our customers and as a team we are delighted you enjoyed your lunch. Our basket menu is a new addition so we are pleased to get good feedback on it. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaydon on Tyne
Level Contributor
207 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“great place for a relaxing lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have visited the Red Lion a number of times so I thought it was about time for a review!. We visited on the bank holiday Monday and arrived early which was just as well because the pub was packed by the time we left. We had lunch in the conservatory where we were well looked after without knowing about it which is just how we liked it.

We were only going to have a main because from past experience we knew how large the portions were. However the other half and our son managed to squeeze in the lemon cheesecake, don't ask me how!. All in all great food which we have come to expect from the Red Lion and somewhere that we will visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlaydonBlunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to read positive comments from our customers and as a team we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your lunch. We hope to welcome you all back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just had lunch here today and I was very impressed. Been past this pub lots of times but never stopped. However, after finding our usual pub was closed for a 'do' we drove on a bit further and decided to try the red lion. We were not disappointed. Not only is it a lovely looking pub but the food was great, and let me tell you REAL CHIPS no less, not those awful bought in things you often get and they were delicious. Service was prompt, low key and friendly. Feel like we have found a little gem here. We will be back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ladytina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiMorgan11, Public Relations Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to read positive comments and as a team we are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience. We are especially pleased you enjoyed your 'real chips', they do take pride of place on our menu! We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Boldon, Tyne and Wear
West Boldon, Tyne and Wear
 
West Boldon, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing