We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location ideally placed for city visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stow Cum Quy
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First stay won't be the last. Easy to find just off A14, away from noise and a short trip to the 'park and ride' into Cambridge. Clean room with spa facilities on site. Excellent breakfast with relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel.
Great short break.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyChapx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 808 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just had our second stay at the Quy Mill, which we chose because of its quiet location well away from the city, with plentiful free parking (a rarity for hotels in the city centre). A car is a bit of a liability in the city anyway - this is not a problem at the Quy Mill, which is about 1 mile from the Park & Ride on the Newmarket Road (on the way to Cambridge). We paid a little extra for a "superior" room, which was very spacious, well furnished and equipped, with a very comfortable bed, and with bath and separate walk-in shower. Our visit coincided with a change in the weather from very warm to quite cold, and it took us a little while to realise that we needed to turn the electric radiators on! After that the temperature was fine. The room had a beautiful view of the hotel garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the reception desk is manned day and night, which was useful when we wanted extra supplies for making hot drinks.I was very happy with my cooked breakfast chosen from a buffet - no long wait for service, and my own choice of components. I would certainly recommend this hotel for visits to Cambridge, and we will use again for our future visits.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Enjoying a weekend break here at Quy Mill. Hotel has lovely grounds and has been converted from a water mill beautifully. It has a lovely pool and the food and service is great. No hesitation in recommending this hotel and we plan to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David120361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Got a really good deal via secret escapes for a standard room, on arrival found we had a room in the annexe 203, which was upstairs with a four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath. Room awe quiet and if anything due to the change in weather could have done with air con. The ceiling fan was better than nothing but not really adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout, we had a restaurant meal which was reasonably priced and excellent. The pool and spa facilities were included with massage at extra cost, but deals can be done.
The hotel is in lovely grounds, with a bridle path to the local village, but you will need walking shoes as it is across a farmers field, their are other walks, just ask at reception. If you take your bikes there is a cycle way into Cambridge about 5 miles.
We would highly recommend this hotel and we will make use of again.

Room Tip: When you arrive watch for the turnoff as it is almost immediately on you as you turn left. Follow th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOTTESFORDJEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very nice stay despite the fact that there was a wedding taking place on the day of our visit, you wouldn't have really known, we had afternoon tea when we arrived and the staff kept on apologising for the delays due to the wedding, however I hadn't even noticed a delay! We asked to see the restaurant menu for that evening and an extremely helpful member of staff happily obliged and couldn't do enough for us (I think her name was Sue?), as my boyfriend is quite picky with his food, she assured us that it would be absolutely fine for him to eat off the bar menu and myself off the restaurant menu, whilst sitting in the restaurant, she booked us in the restaurant for that evening and even showed us where it was and let us pick our own table. Afternoon tea was lovely and not too overpriced (£6 each). Room was lovely, we paid £180 for our room which was quite steep however it was lovely. We paid extra so that we could have a four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath. the jacuzzi bath was lovely although it took us a while to figure out how to use it and it was quite violent, it could do with a lighter mode.

We wanted a massage or a treatment from the adjoining imagine spa, however they were unfortunately fully booked, which is our own fault for not pre booking. However the facilities were lovely, we didn't spend long in there but the steam room was good and pool nice, although bit cold! We then went for a walk - lovely grounds.

We went down to the restaurant at 8pm and the service was impeccable, very impressive. Food was lovely and not too overpriced (£25 for three courses).
Decided not to have breakfast as bad reviews for it and glad we didn't as it looked very overpriced and even if you had paid for breakfast you still had to pay extra for a lot of things.
Check out was fast and efficient.

Adequate car parking and very close to hotel reception. Only negative points were that there was no handwash in the bathroom, which to be honest I would expect for the price and that the room was ridiculously hot when we arrived, especially considering it was 18 degrees outside, it was like an oven, however this was easily solved by opening windows and turning the heaters off. TV was placed in a position on the wall that from one side of the bed, the post from the bed obscured it.

Good amount of tea, milk and coffee in the room as well as biscuits and hot chocolate which was a nice touch. Excellent view from our window. (Room 5). Another nice element was that we had an inside lock on our door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Hotel staff are very welcoming and the bar food excellent value and very nice . The Spa is in separate building where you can get snacks and drinks upstairs there are several rooms where you can have a variety of treatments. Again the staff who show you around the facilities are very informative and helpful. The pool is lovely and warm too and you can relax around the pool or use the steam or sauna , or relax in the jacuzzi. A lovely place to stay beautiful surroundings, lovely walks and food excellent in restaurant. great value highly recommend. Very Peaceful and calm. Even though this time the weather wasn't good. We have been here at least four times now.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethfoley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Hotel is not that easy to find as it is away from the main road, especially if you arrive when it is dark. Watch out for the signs. But advantage is that the area is very quiet for a good sleep. For those having heavy luggage avoid a room below the roof in the tower (no lift and steep stairs). But the rooms are nice.
For amateurs of whiskey there is a vast choice available at the bar. Better to stay several days to find out which vintage you prefer.
The food at the restaurant is also good and they also prepare something if you arrive late.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfisti61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stow Cum Quy
4.2 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,428 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,843 reviews
4.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#6 of 36 in Cambridge
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,215 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection

Address: Church Road, Stow Cum Quy, Cambridge CB25 9AF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Cambridge Quy Mill Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge > Stow Cum Quy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stow Cum Quy
Price Range: $111 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever you expect from a four star luxurious small hotel in Cambridge, you will be pleasantly surprised by the Quy Mill Hotel & Spa! Once an historic watermill, Quy Mill Hotel & Spa is a secluded haven which offers charming hotel accommodation in Cambridge, award winning 2 AA Rosette food and unfailing courtesy. It has long been a magnet for visitors from across the world, and they come here to Cambridge for a great many reasons. Guests enjoy the University City of Cambridge, and the easy access to Newmarket and the range of treasures to be found in the area. They appreciate the peaceful atmosphere, the excellent food and the attentive service of the Mill. We often welcome back couples who were married here so they can remember the enchantment of their Cambridge wedding. Our business clients comment on the ease with which any arrangements can be made and how they look forward to a session in our Health Club when the day's business is concluded - available free to guests, it is complete with a stunning deck level pool. Our business clients recall the enjoyment and benefit of corporate team building exercise in our famous 'five acre field' and Quy Mill Hotel & Spa has become their first port of call when looking for places to stay in Cambridge. All our rooms feature en-suite bath and shower and some offer the height of exclusivity with four poster beds and double whirlpool spa baths. Our award-winning restaurant will create a tempting selection of local and international dishes, while room service is on call 24 hours a day. A full list of amenities can be reached here. Welcome to Quy Mill Hotel & Spa. We promise to provide everything you would expect from a luxury hotel in Cambridge - and much much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing