We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expectations not met”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hellaby Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hellaby Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“expectations not met”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having booked an executive room and from the fantastic pictures of the said rooms on the internet we were expecting something pretty special. Imagine walking into the room and finding not even what you can get in a travelodge but with the 2 single beds zipped together and apart from the sheet nothing covering the zip. Not what we expected at all.

Having chosen this hotel as somewhere new to try can certainly say we will not be staying again.

The leisure facilities had a fabulous sized pool and good sauna and steam room. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was cooler than the pool itself so became a splash pool for after the sauna/steam room. Make sure you have a towel from hotel reception first as staff in leisure centre will not get this for you. We were advised they should have them and had none available when we entered and sent us back to hotel reception to get these. Duty manager then brought these over.

The receptionist was very helpful and changed our room to one of the 'refurbished' executive rooms (there are only 2 of these) and these are the ones that are pictured on the web. Whilst the room was large with 2 double beds, it can be a family room, the cleanliness and the care of the room falls short of 4* standards. Lights broken, bulbs not working, makeup covered towel in the bathroom and toothpaste on the sink. The sofa was comfy tho but the TV only showed 3 channels. Fortunately BBC1 was available so the closing cermony of the Olympics was watched.

Dinner from the set menu was adequate however could have been served in any local pub for about half the price.

Breakfast was cooked to order however at £12 per head this was rather highly priced for tinned tomatoes.

Wish i had taken note of the reviews before booking this.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for rooms 28 or 30 if you want a proper executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wanderers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair M, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback, zip and link beds are commonly used in 4 and 5 star hotels to create a king size bed, the bedroom you were moved to is actually a family room hence it has two double beds and a sofa.

The jacuzzi in bodyscene is actually a spa pool, its temperature is correct at just above the heat of the pool, this is how it is advertised on our website.

I am disappointed to hear your comments on the breakfast buffet we carry a large range of cooked and continental items, our prices are lower than other local 4 star hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    214
    154
    106
    76
See reviews for
141
274
19
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Thank you Hall Hotel you are all fantastic ! Had to hold a last minute conference this week. Nothing was too much trouble for the catering team, my guests commented on the fantastic friendly service, comfortable rooms and amazing gardens.

Kyle Gillie Emily Wendy Nathan kirsty and Rachel to name but a few who were shining stars very professional and helpful. The new breakfast buffet looks sharp and extremely well stocked!

Can not find a single fault! All the leisure staff are excellent really recomend the body pump class

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazghauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair M, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your excellent feedback!!! It was great we could manage to cater for your last minute meeting, your colleague has just booked for his wife's 40th birthday celebrations so we look forward to pampering them!

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel in the same group as the person above and had a smilar experience. We had a great time for our friends birthday. I was the person organising so was a bit dubious after reading the reviews as it would fall on my head if anything went wrong but the package was such a great deal I decided to take the risk...and it paid off.The staff were lovely, so helpful nothing was too much trouble. Even the girl in your booking office who I email a million times asking different questions.The bedrooms were excellent...especially the barn room...we all went in together in our pjs and watch a film with the popcorn and chocs. We also added on afternoon tea which was served on tea stands and with vintage cups and plates, it was delicious. All in all a brilliant weekend would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWTrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair M, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your excellent feedback, I am delighted you had such a great stay, look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I would like to thank all at Hellaby Hall for making mine and my wife’s wedding day so special.
Everything went fantastic and we can’t thank everyone at the hotel enough.
On the day every single staff member was brilliant, right from the young girl on reception entertaining the pageboys with her knowledge of the hotels history, to the bar staff in the carnelly bar who catered for all our guests needs, right through to the waiters and waitresses during the meal who were fantastic and helped out cheerfully when needed. we would also like to thank the evening bar staff who were brilliant and the overnight staff who even at breakfast the next morning were cheerful and congratulatory to me and my new wife with genuine sincerity.
But we would like to make a personal and special mention to Eamonn (our toastmaster) and his staff.
Eamonn was what we feel was the difference between a great day and an absolutely fantastic day! Right from the start of the day when he introduced himself and completely put us at ease, his professionalism, polite manner and willingness to cater for anything we required was second to none.
He truly was brilliant for us, sorting out the pageboys, making sure everyone was where they needed to be at the correct time, his announcement of our arrival to the wedding breakfast and his presentation of the speeches were fantastic.
We would defiantly recommend the hotel as a wedding venue and the Fretwell suite we stayed in on our wedding night was fantastic
Thank you all once again for an absolutely fantastic day, that we will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robandyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair M, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Many thanks for your excellent feedback, we pride ourselves at Hellaby Hall hotel for running excellent wedding receptions. We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I went to hellaby for my friends birthday as part of a pamper package where you get dinner and an overnight stay and a treatment in the spa. I have to say I wasn't looking forward to staying because of the reviews but I didn't have much choice as it was my friends birthday. But after going I thought it was brilliant and didn't want to go back home to the kids. We had a gorgeous dinner in the restaurant and they even let us bring our own cake.I had a massage and the girl in the spa was really good. We also noticed that the Jacuzzi was cold and asked a member of staff about this he explained to us that its a spa pool and is suppose to be the same temperature as the pool or something like that...I think we scared him off when we asked him to join us!All the staff we came across were very friendly even when we were a bit loud in the restaurant.I would definitely come back to this hotel and am thinking about the package for my birthday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0Blue_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair M, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to give your excellent feedback!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back for your birthday celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
223 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

From the pictures i had expected something a little out of the ordinary - but in reality it was averagely good not exceptional
The welcomes was warm, but if they had told me that the wifi was intermitent and that there was a free of charge cable variant that would have helped.
As it was, I was forced into a 6 30 am wake up to go to the hall for a signal
The room was OK, the pool was good although the separate block would have been poor in bad weather

Room Tip: ask about the wifi if that is important to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair M, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments, just to let you know you can walk through the hotel to get to Bodyscene without going outside. In terms of phone signal some areas do suffer from a poor reception. This is the same signal you get if you live in the area. This is why we allow the plug in internet at no extra cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I returned to Hellaby Hall last week to hold a small conference and entertain corporate clients in Carnelly's Restaurant. The service was friendly yet professional, the staff knew their menus and great wine recommendations. The manager was courteous and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.

The new style bedrooms were homely and 4star, some bar prices had reduced since my last visit including bottled beers and spirits still hotel prices but cheaper than before.

The leisure facilities are so clean and spacious I can't compliment the staff enough. The housekeeper got me extra coffee tea etc and arranged a speaker phone at short notice for my conference call.

I would recomend hellaby hall hotel to anybody, the location is excellent for business traveller and customer service is spot on! 5 stars to Hellaby hall

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazghauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair M, General Manager at Hellaby Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your excellent feedback, I am delighted to hear you are so happy with our service, food and bedroom standards. We work hard to offer exceptional customer care, its great to be aknowledged.

Look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellaby
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Aston Hall Hotel
4.5 mi away
Carlton Park Hotel
Carlton Park Hotel
#7 of 15 in Rotherham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
13.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Rotherham East
Ibis Rotherham East
#2 of 15 in Rotherham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
11.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellaby Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellaby Hall Hotel

Property: Hellaby Hall Hotel
Address: Old Hellaby Lane, Hellaby, Rotherham S66 8EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Rotherham > Hellaby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hellaby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hellaby Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hellaby Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hellaby Hall Rotherham
Hotel Hellaby Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing