We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping / eating”
Review of Trentham Gardens

Trentham Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Trentham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Trentham Estate is home to the award-winning Trentham Gardens featuring The Italian Garden by Tom Stuart-Smith, and the Floral Labyrinth and Rivers of Grass by Piet Oudolf and vast wildflower and woodland meadow plantings by Nigel Dunnett. A fascinating wire fairy sculpture trail, fab childrens adventure playground with the UK's first barefoot walk, a family-friendly maze, mile-long Capability Brown lake with seasonal boat and train trips. Trentham Monkey Forest, Trentham Treetop Adventure and Trentham Shopping Village with 50 shops and 14 cafes and restaurants can also be found at The Trentham Estate. You'll find something for everyone here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile

We love visiting here. You can wander amongst the little shops or go into the main garden centre. You can grab a coffee and cake or a full meal. They have a wonderful selection in the garden centre.

The walk round the gardens is lovely and the cafe is located perfectly for taking a break.

Well worth a visit.

Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Estate! This week the Gardens are carpeted with snow and the views down the mile-long lake are magnificent with a clear, crisp Winter sky. The Shopping Village chalets look amazing covered in Snow too! We hope you'll find lots of gift ideas in the run up to Christmas and continue your visits into the new year.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"barefoot walk"
in 302 reviews
"garden centre"
in 380 reviews
"annual pass"
in 140 reviews
"shopping village"
in 232 reviews
"italian garden"
in 125 reviews
"fairy sculptures"
in 49 reviews
"boat trip"
in 80 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 81 reviews
"round the lake"
in 76 reviews
"monkey forest"
in 253 reviews
"lake walk"
in 44 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 54 reviews
"play area"
in 145 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 39 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 38 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 50 reviews
"all ages"
in 152 reviews
Filter

288 - 292 of 3,229 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2017

The gardens are truly amazing and always see something new in different seasons - love it! So much to do especially looking round the fab shops too and most of them are dog friendly. Can recommend the Italian restaurant in the garden centre definitely need a day to visit. Only costs £2.50 pp if you use your Tesco Clubcard vouchers but need to buy in advance - what a bargain!

Thank jonathanlatham84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

We are proud to present horticultural interest and beautiful scenery all year round here in the Gardens. We're so pleased you have been enjoying your visits! If it gets a bit chilly outside we have a great variety of cafes for you to cosy up with a hot chocolate. We hope you'll return soon in the run up to Christmas to take advantage of the range of gift ideas here on the Estate.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

Trentham Gardens has a lots to do. It has Gardens to walk round (not free), Large garden centre, shops, cafes and restaurants and free parking The walk round the gardens is lovely and quite easy to walk especially in the summer. Great play area in the gardens for kids and parents who are young at heart.

Thank ALS2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

We have a large variety of attractions here on the Estate to suit the whole family, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are proud to display seasonal interest in the Gardens all year round, currently we're on tenterhooks waiting for our Witch hazels to flower around the Zig-Zag woodland walk! The yellow flowers will give off a magnificent sweet scent. We hope you'll return soon to enjoy another visit.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2017

there is so much to do here and its is so nicely done - take the time and walk the park as well as the stores

Thank sunr00m4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

We're very pleased that you've enjoyed your visit to the Estate, we hope you'll return for late night shopping in the village as well as the Winter interest we have in the Gardens!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2017

Went for a morning walk here and absolutely loved it! Stunning place. No wonder it will be even nicer in summer. But entry fee is way too expensive. We were only passing and didnt have much time so we went in only for a short walk and thought £9 was very high!

Thank Guzin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We are so glad you came for a peaceful morning walk. At this time of year the crisp sunny mornings are fantastic. We hope you'll be back to soon to experience Trentham in all seasons. However, we are sorry you were disappointed with the price of your visit, the cheap tickets page on our website displays the best ticket offers for you to take advantage of for future visits.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Gardens also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing