We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take the time to do this properly”
Review of Trentham Gardens

Trentham Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Trentham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Trentham Estate is home to the award-winning Trentham Gardens featuring The Italian Garden by Tom Stuart-Smith, and the Floral Labyrinth and Rivers of Grass by Piet Oudolf and vast wildflower and woodland meadow plantings by Nigel Dunnett. A fascinating wire fairy sculpture trail, fab childrens adventure playground with the UK's first barefoot walk, a family-friendly maze, mile-long Capability Brown lake with seasonal boat and train trips. Trentham Monkey Forest, Trentham Treetop Adventure and Trentham Shopping Village with 50 shops and 14 cafes and restaurants can also be found at The Trentham Estate. You'll find something for everyone here.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed November 29, 2017

there is so much to do here and its is so nicely done - take the time and walk the park as well as the stores

Thank sunr00m4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

We're very pleased that you've enjoyed your visit to the Estate, we hope you'll return for late night shopping in the village as well as the Winter interest we have in the Gardens!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"barefoot walk"
in 302 reviews
"garden centre"
in 379 reviews
"annual pass"
in 140 reviews
"shopping village"
in 231 reviews
"italian garden"
in 125 reviews
"boat trip"
in 80 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 81 reviews
"round the lake"
in 76 reviews
"monkey forest"
in 252 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 54 reviews
"lake walk"
in 44 reviews
"play area"
in 145 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 39 reviews
"tesco vouchers"
in 38 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 50 reviews
"all ages"
in 152 reviews
"plenty of places to eat"
in 51 reviews
Filter

285 - 289 of 3,223 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2017

Went for a morning walk here and absolutely loved it! Stunning place. No wonder it will be even nicer in summer. But entry fee is way too expensive. We were only passing and didnt have much time so we went in only for a short walk and thought £9 was very high!

Thank Guzin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We are so glad you came for a peaceful morning walk. At this time of year the crisp sunny mornings are fantastic. We hope you'll be back to soon to experience Trentham in all seasons. However, we are sorry you were disappointed with the price of your visit, the cheap tickets page on our website displays the best ticket offers for you to take advantage of for future visits.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2017

I visited here on a flying visit to Stoke-on-Trent. £9 entry was a bit high as attractions such as the maze are not in bloom at this time of the year. The lake, Italian garden and countless jaw dropping sculptures, statues and art pieces was still spectacular. If I were more local, I would visit this place many times a year to enjoy all seasons. Lancelot Capability Brown also put his touch on this garden.

Thank MrBarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We are sorry you were disappointed with the price of your visit, our cheap tickets page on the website displays the best ticket offers available to you for future visits. We are thrilled that you enjoyed seeing various points of Autumn/Winter interest in the Gardens and along the Lakeside Walk! We hope you will return soon and take advantage of our offers.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2017

A good historic landscape enhanced by recent renovations and plantings. The lake route is a good walk on pleasant paths in a Capability Brown landscape. The lakeside cafe is a good stop half way round with both indoor and outdoor seating. The Italian gardens which are more formal are very interesting, with good signboards providing information regarding the gardens, their restoration and the demolished stately home. Worthwhile looking online for a voucher - ours was 2 for 1 entry.

Thank MadalynH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2017

Thank you for your 4 star review.

We're pleased you took advantage of the 2 for 1 offer, it's always worth checking the website to make sure you're getting the best deal. The Lakeside Café is a great place to relax and take in the lake scenery. We hope you'll be back soon to enjoy further visits.

Thank you for getting in touch with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2017 via mobile

Great place to chill out. Go at least once a month - cafes, restaurants, indoor and outdoor shops and a good garden centre and even a hotel.
If you want to pay you can walk around the gardens and lake which is really picturesque the only downside is the price for a family is expensive and then you have to pay for food etc on top of that.
Although very busy at weekends lots of space for parking.
Well worth a visit, something for everyone even the dog.

Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrenthamEstate, Visitor Experience Assistant at Trentham Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review.

It is a real pleasure to know that regular visitors like yourself continue to support and enjoy the Estate, we have a wide range of activities and attractions to suit the whole family. For your next visit to the Gardens, keep an eye on our cheap tickets webpage for ways for you to save.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trentham Gardens also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Trentham Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing