We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Honest Grills and Great Salad Bar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Poachers Cottage

The Poachers Cottage
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Trentham
Price range: $4 - $36
Cuisines: Bar, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Poacher's Cottage Harvester in Stoke on Trent food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill and side whether it be our roast chicken, slow cooked, kiln smoked ribs or much much more and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.If you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Stoke on Trent, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Hanford, Blurton and Hem Heath, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
314 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Honest Grills and Great Salad Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was our first visit to a Harvester Restaurant. Our waiter Simon talked us through the menu and was there if we needed him. Restaurant was very busy so we had a short wait for a table. We were all pleased with the quality and quantity of the meals ordered. Loved the salad bar and the fact you could help yourself to as much as you wanted, very good selection. We would certainly visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    140
    114
    72
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“How to kill a fish twice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went in at lunch time with wife. Ordered fish and chips.The salad bar and diet cola was fine. Main course of battered cod and chips arrived. The batter was like armour plating. When I finally got into the fish it was dry and hard. Needless to say I complained that not only had the fish been killed when it was caught but it was killed again in the kitchen. Worst meal I have ever had. Will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rawkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average kinda place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

They do average food, nothing fancy! box standard. unlimited salad bar is a nice touch.
Never had a bad meal there, but never had a good meal either. Just will do sort of eatery.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank H4ppyTr4veller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Grilled' menu items actually means 'BURNT'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We visited in July for son's football festival. Bar staff was friendly. Wait staff was rude. Service was poor. After learning that the rotisserie chicken was 'sold out' 35 minutes after we placed our order, we ordered the grilled chicken skewers. After a very long wait (55 minutes), the waiter served us the charred remnants of what I think might have been chicken - we're talking BLACK through and through. The waiter looked confused when we refused the meal stating that the cook had to ensure 'it wasn't raw'. Are you kidding????, it was freaking burnt to a crisp. We politely excused ourselves and left. Wait staff are in need of customer service training. Kitchen staff need grilling tips. We ended up at a pub 20 minutes away and enjoyed traditional fish and chips!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorcaslane14122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“They didn't have any chicken”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went here for lunch as we fancied spit roast chicken with salad. We were seated next to the door. Having got our drinks we chose from the menu only to be told they had had a busy weekend and some things were off the menu. This included part of the salad bar, bacon, cheese and all chicken except chicken breast. As we were already sat we decided we would choose again and find something else on the menu. The food wasn't great and we were very cold as the late order arrived while we were waiting and the doors were propped open while they unloaded, which took around 20 mins. We did ask for the doors to be closed but were told that until the delivery was completly in they couldn't close them. When we had almost finished our meal someone asked if everything was ok we said that it was really cold (we were now sat with our coats on) They asked us at this point if we would like to change tables we said no as we were then leaving.
We have been in the past to this harvester and had a really good meal. This was a badly handled off day I hope.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mandjankers555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poachers Cottage also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Trentham, Stoke-on-Trent
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Poachers Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing