We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel in a superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel in a superb location”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This hotel is one I will revisit definitely. Nothing is too much trouble for all the staff - everyone is only too pleased to assist you in any matter at any time. The restaurant staff are all very helpful too and the restaurant manager is super-efficient and extremely good at his job, he works tirelessly and seems to be on duty always!! The food here is superb. In particular I must recommend the seafood buffet which was simply amazing. Then location of the hotel is stunning with fantastic views across the bay and beautiful gardens. This hotel is wonderful and I can't wait to go there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    98
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
78
140
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north wales
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

The Peninsula was recommended to us by a local person for sunday lunch and it was great - but make sure you book, it's full of local people (and that must be a recommendation!) The starter is a huge buffet - take care not to fill up too much on this!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffowcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Isles
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We normally stay with famiy in Guernsey but on this occasion we decided we needed our own space and as we were meeting relatives for a lunch on Easter Sunday we decided on the Peninsula Hotel.

We arrived by ferry from Jersey and it took literally 10 minutes drive to the hotel (ok I knew the way but its fairly easy) there is a large car park to the rear of the property and plenty of space out front to drop bags. We were met with a very warm smile and welcome from the receptionist and check in was quick and easy. Our room on the 1st floor had a sea view and a nice corner alcove where a single bed was for my 7 year old daughter. We had a huge comfortable double bed for us. The decor was fresh and the furnishings look contemporary and new.

Worried we were quite late arriving we were pleased that the Bar and Restaurant served food until 9 so had a really nice bar meal in the evening. Good fresh tasting food with good sized portions was served with a smile.

The next morning Breakfast was a delight with all the choices one would expect with hot buffet, Croissants, Cereals, Yoghurts etc. The hot buffet was missing Bacon and Fried eggs but the resaurant manager advised that fresh food was being prepared and would be just a moment, as soon as it arrived he made a point of coming to our table to let us know.

The staff throughout were very freindly and approchable, even my 7 year old mentioned to the receptionist she did not like the Ginger nuts placed with the tea making facilities in the room so the receptionist personally arranged a choice of different biscuits instead!

In all an excellent hotel in a great location with simply superb staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

This was my third trip to the Peninsula. As usual, up to my expectations. We stayed 5 nights over Christmas. The food was fabulous; the staff are, as usual, very friendly and always there to help. Admitted, it does need a bit of updating. They are re-carpeting the bed rooms in January 10. and the bathroom is getting a little tired. This won’t stop me going back next year.
The Lounge seating does need a bit of re-arranging – too many large groups of chairs. The heating is controlled from Reception. It is turned off during the day, but we did ask for it to be turned on one very cold afternoon. Reception obliged.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoPosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2009

Having visited Guernsey at least once a year for the past fifteen years, I have stayed in most of the three star hotels but this year I discovered the Peninsula Hotel on the internet. Although it's off the beaten track, everywhere on this small island is within a few minute's drive of St Peter Port! From the phone call to check price and availability to checking out four days later, I found the receptionists, bar staff and waiting staff very efficient, friendy and courteous representing several countries such as Latvia, Spain, Germany, France and England. I dined some evenings in the bar and once in the restaurant with clients. The food was always excellent, well presented and good value. For me, this hotel ticked most of the boxes and I will certainly return next year preferring it to any other hotel I had frequented on the island. Free wifi too!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

good position near the beach .it was cheaper by £35 per day to book through BA then direct with hotel which was strange .hotel needs upgrade looks very tired . very dark paintwork .and little old 14" tv . very small toilet and the shower is a curtain around the bath . hotel nearly empty so little staff . breakfast was quite tasteless . all hot choice but no cold choice available . but guernsey and the sites were great . we hired car at airport .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gasman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2009

overall an excellent hotel, excellent service, and we will be coming back again, friendly warm and very welcoming;

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nipper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
584 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
854 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Hotel
Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing