We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 nights at Peninsula Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“4 nights at Peninsula Hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We visited this hotel as part of a theatre goers group - 27 in total. We were all very impressed with the friendly staff, good service, good food and general ambience. We all had a very comfortable feel about the place.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor. I would suggest that you would get a better view of the surroundi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    97
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
78
137
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

just back from a two night break with two friends. Stayed on the ground floor in newly refurbished rooms which were lovely. The staff were excellent and could not fault the food. Both the restaurant and the bar food were excellent, good quality and well priced. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracybabymk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Took very elderly mother-in-law for a short break. We have been before, so we knew what to expect - mother was visiting for the first time and and wasn't at all disappointed. The hotel has two (I think?) rooms specifically for visitors with reduced mobility and certain requirements. The room was well appointed with plenty of room for her wheelchair, comfortable bed and chair, grab rails in the bathroom, raised WC and walk-in shower with seat and was perfect for her needs.

The staff (as before), were polite, courteous, friendly and efficient throughout - excellent in all respects.

The food was superb for breakfast and for evening meal, (how do you do a four course set menu for around just £16-18 each?). Also, we were able to get soup and bread for her in-room or just a few sandwiches or tea and biscuits any time.

Nice heated outdoor pool, but no gym or spa, which didn't bother us, but might be necessary for some.

This hotel offers great service, accommodation and food for a very reasonable price. It is suitable for all ages and there were a mix of older visitors and young families there. Would recommend to anyone and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you need a 'disabled' room, book as early as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimSmith1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife & I decided to return to the Peninsula after 18 years, having been recommended to give it a second try on two separate occasions by islanders. We had accepted the fact that the hotel has a lower rating than those we had stayed in on Guernsey over recent years and so did not expect it to be as good nor the staff to be as efficient. And we knew that there are no balconies to the rooms which is usually an essential item for us. But it was considerably less expensive than the others and, overall, we considered it to be very good value for money. Although the Peninsula has not really moved on since our initial stay and does look a little tired (even the refurbished rooms), we had yet another excellant holiday on a wonderful island.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor for lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigboyjohn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a large group, and what a wonderful choice it was. From the moment we arrived and were met by courteous and helpful receptionist and directed to a beautiful clean well decorated bedroom with a large comfortable bed. The food, both breakfast and evening meal was astonishing for the price they charged, and the setting in the dining room was veryn pleasant. All the staff were so helpful and polite, it was a please to stay here. Can't recomend it enough

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZzRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Recharged our batteries once again!! lovely weather and food - every convenience catered for as usual - whilst there the Peninsula was voted the Number One Hotel on the island for people visiting the island with disabilities - huge congratulations and well deserved... Our thanks to everyone for making our stay so wonderful, as usual - can't wait until October, see you soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are really worth it - but the newly refurbished ground floor rooms are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Have been to this hotel for Sunday lunch many times, the buffet has an amazing array of sea food, cold meats, and salads.... The roast is also very good and plenty of choice of meats... The dessert table has lots of individual sweets, and a very large selection of cheeses..
The staff are all really friendly, and cope really well with a full restaurant.
The hotel itself, has just been refurbished & has plenty of comfortable seating in the bar, we're we sat to finish of with coffees, while the children love to play outside in the well kept play area...
Look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noseypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
575 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Hotel
Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing