We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peninsula Hotel is 5* service in a 3* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peninsula Hotel is 5* service in a 3* hotel”
Reviewed August 25, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a wonderful week in the Peninsula Hotel, Guernsey and we were happily surprised at the fantastic level of service. It truly was 5* service in a 3* hotel, in fact we couldn't help but wonder if the hotel was aiming for an award as the customer service by all of the staff was impeccable. We will definitely be returning and we can not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Liked — The service was fabulous
  • Disliked — The decor is a little old fashioned
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G&CLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    97
    29
    10
    3
See reviews for
78
137
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

I spent three nights at this hotel at the beginning of June 2008.
The breakfast buffet and the Dinners were great and the seafood buffet had to be seen to be believed!
The best thing of all though was the energy, enthusiasm and attitude of the staff. I have never stayed at a hotel before where, without exception, everyone did their utmost to make sure that your stay was enjoyable. Very impressive!

  • Liked — large rooms and a lovely seaview and very clean
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodman-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights and glad we did.
The hotel is on the north of the Island and there are sea views all around the hotel. Really in a great location.
The staff are all foreign but couldn't be more helpful and friendly.
I just liked the atmosphere, OK the rooms are a little basic but excellent value, very clean and everything working.

The Breakfasts were exeptionally good - Buffet style .
The Dinners were good and again for the price well worth it.
No evening entertainment on the Sat & Sun nights we were there but it was the end of the early season in Late May. Perhaps they put on entertainment later on.

Free WI-FI access if you're sad like me and can't miss your emails or want to check the weather forecast!

Glad we stayed here.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere. The Guiness on tap.
  • Disliked — Small TV, rooms a little basic.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil_McGarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

This is a place that ticks all the boxes at a very good price. Rooms aren't fancy but most have sea views and there are lovely coastal walks right outside the door. Breakfasts are top notch and dinners are decent, especially the special once a week seafood buffet. It's highly popular with families so elders could find it a bit top heavy with kids but we were beyond parentling age ourselves and it was perfectly possible to keep at a safe distance! St Peter Port is an easy and cheap taxi ride away (and car hire is also cheap and easy on Guernsey) so you can go into town for restaurants at night. Staff at the Peninsula are also happy to serve a nightcap in the bar even if you get back late. Staff were friendly and helpful always and although the hotel doesn't pretend to be top flight luxury it is extremely well run and everything is efficient, clean and in working order. We are going back again this year!

  • Liked — It had everything I wanted at a great price and terrific sea views
  • Disliked — Lots of kids!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My partner and I stayed here with my son for five nights in order to visit the grandchildren. We have stayed here before and loved the location, as well as the package deal price which included car hire. This time the hotel had been refurbished, so it was even better than in the past. The hotel is three storeys high and lies on top of a quiet cliff on the west coast. It has a nice swimming pool with a section for very young children, so it is ideal for families. A buffet breakfast was included in the package, and that was as good as anyone would have hoped for. I especially loved the croissants with the rich local butter. Although there were plenty of children there, the hotel was quiet by ten o'clock. The lounge is light and airy and they have a laundrette so that you don't have to take too many clothes with you. The grounds are beautiful, and there is a pitch and putt course, some play equipment and a table tennis tables as well as extensive gardens with little wooden bridges taking you over the stream. Considering it was the high season, I thought £45 per person inclusive was an very good price. Apart from the main charge, all I had to pay for was the CDW and half a tank of petrol for the car, and that came to £45 as well. They do Autumn deals as well as Christmas and New Year packages, and they all represent great value. Now with relatively cheap air fares and a good timetable courtesy of Aurigny and Flybe from Gatwick, we can fly from our home in Spain in the morning, and be there in the early evening.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — No room service after ten o`clock
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarasque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Just returned from a break in Guernsey at The Peninsula Hotel. The staff could not be more helpful - thanks Angelo & chef for my beautiful crab sandwich which was not on the menu !! The breakfast was really good & hot - including the toast. The setting is beautiful & the beach at the back of the hotel is stunning - we had it all to ourselves for about an hour. The rooms are basic but very clean with lots of storage space. There is a pub about 2 minutes walk from the hotel which does excellent food but you need to book. We will definitely return but not in the school holidays as the only downside was that children were allowed to use the hotel lounge as a gymnasium in the evening when we just wanted to enjoy a quiet drink.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Children running about in the evening
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank D_DBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Not visited Guernsey before, so got a cheapy from the Condor Ferries website. So no choice of hotel, and when we saw Peninsular Hotel on the tickets and checked with Tripadviser we were extremely worried as to what we would find.
In the event our fears were groundless. It is in a good location near the sea, with plenty of free parking. It has friendly, helpful, albeit foreign, staff, excellent value food, and a pleasant room which although reminiscent of a motel was adequately equipped. We had a bar snack by the pool, and later an excellent dinner in a pleasant restaurant. After dinner we mingled with other guests, and learned that some of them had been coming to the hotel year after year!
So what is the problem with other reviewers?
As background, I am a retired business owner, well travelled, and have enjoyed such establishments as Savoys, Hiltons, and the Dorchester, all superior to the Peninsular, but at many times the price.
Finally, I am not a regular contributor to such sites as this, and am prompted only by what I see as a desire to see fair play.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere, value for money.
  • Disliked — Motel type room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AllisonWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vale
2.0 mi away
Cobo Bay Hotel
Cobo Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Castel
575 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
776 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
St. Pierre Park Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.8 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Hotel
Address: Les Dicqs, Vale GY6 8JP
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Guernsey > Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peninsula Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Guernsey
Peninsula Guernsey
Guernsey Peninsula
The Peninsula Hotel Guernsey/Vale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing