We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peninsula Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunchoille(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Piette Hotel(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Fregate Hotel(St Peter Port)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
215
103
31
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
103
31
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood buffetcoach partypitch and puttsea viewseparate toilettable tenniscity limitsbus stopoystersst peter portcoach triphalf boardcourse mealbar mealsheated outdoor poollovely locationcoastal walks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 362 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed here when it first opened a long while ago, and then again this week for 2 nights. Good location next to beach and sea. Near golf course and coastal path around guernsey. On bus route. Good free wifi and good breakfast service. Rooms clean but decor fixtures fittings all a bit jaded (don't know whether they have refurbished at all since opening).

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Minty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here overnight on a business trip so didn't use the pool facilities etc but it looked good.
Lovely friendly staff, good sized rooms with decent facilities, tea, coffee, hairdryer etc. WIFI throughout the hotel was appreciated. Bar meal at night was good & breakfast was excellent. All in all a pleasant overnight stay & would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vjh265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I am not sure what those who have given bad reviews are looking for. This is a 3* hotel and very good at that level. It is clear comfortable, in a quiet location and the staff are excellent. We thought the food in the bar and the restaurant was good. We met a number of people who go back year after year and that is testament to the hotel.

If you are looking for a 5* hotel with a gormet restauarnt then look elsewhere. If you want a lovely holiday on a great island and somewhere out of the way to relax then this is ideal.

We would certainly go back again.

Thanks you to all of the staff.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second floor away from the public areas. The "party" (weddings etc) rooms are away from the bedrooms but the toilets etc are in the same area so it can get a bit noisy on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grahve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As regular visitors to Guernsey we thought we would give the Peninsular Hotel a try this year as we needed a base to explore the North of the Island. We found the hotel to be a rather mixed bag.
Situated overlooking a quiet bay and located close to an area of dunes and coastal grass land, the hotel is in a lovely spot and a great location for those wishing to explore " The Vale" area and northern coastline, particularly on foot. Despite initial appearances the building is quite old, the present owners are gradually refurbishing but there are still some areas where some updating would not go a miss, this is mainly public areas, corridors and stairwells etc. Most of the rooms have been updated and the hotel and accommodation areas are kept very clean, the domestic staff are very efficient and helpful. We found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms clean and reasonably well equipped with plenty of storage. Our room had a "sea view", but this was actually overlooking the end of a sheltered bay, and I would describe it more as scenic , you could see the sea proper if you hung out the window, still very nice though.
On the whole We felt the accommodation and general facilities of the hotel represented good value for money, it must be said that the hotel is usually very busy with functions at the weekend and it can be little noisy at times, fortunately they have a large car park so for those with cars, there is always somewhere to park.
The one area that left us feeling a little disappointed was the restaurant. We found the food quality average and uninspiring, the staff lacking in moral and although they were trying to be friendly and helpful we did not find the atmosphere relaxing. The hotel caters for touring parties of mainly older folk and the restaurant is not large enough to accommodate everyone when the hotel is full, on our first night we had to eat in the bar despite trying to book a table on our arrival at lunchtime. If you are on a coach tour this is probably acceptable, but there are so many good eating places on the island that we were not tempted to try the restaurant in the evening again.
Buffet style breakfasts were OK with a good choice of cooked offerings although fruit selection was a little limited and there was not much in the way of continental style foods as an alternative. They consistently managed to serve the worst coffee I have ever had in a hotel.
Public areas of the hotel were kept clean and the swimming pool well maintained, the open plan nature of the lounge and bar area lacks intimacy and may not appeal to everyone. Reception staff work very hard and most are extremely helpful. If you are looking for a convenient base and are not tied to eating in the hotel or looking for a cosy bar to spend the evening this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanRG127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite isolated and is next to some lovely beaches. The rooms are a good size with a tv that has access to a number of channels. The bathroom was clean and there is access to wifi (although not written down anywhere).

I had kippers and haddock at breakfast - these were delicious and above the standard of everything else available in the buffet. It was perfectly nice.

Staff were pleasant. Would I stay there again? Probably.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEM069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews