We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy cake”
Review of The Beach House

The Beach House
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Beach House, overlooking Pembroke Beach, Guernsey. We offer drinks, coffees, wines, snacks, cakes, ice cream, lunch, dinner etc etc. Takeaways available if you fancy sitting on the beach
Reviewed May 18, 2017 via mobile

We sat outside on a fairly cool day, but were sheltered by the glass screens and enjoyed our coffee and cake, especially the banana and peanut butter one. The menu looked good with plenty of choice and I'd be happy to return for a meal. The viewing platform is worth climbing.

Thank louiseholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Dear louiseholistic,

Thank you for leaving us a 5 star review following your visit.

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed the cake and like the look of the menu.

Regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 225 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

Today being liberation day in Guernsey we popped down to Pembroke to watch the parade of military vehicles park up before they set off for town.

While we were waiting we decided to go to The Beach House for a spot of food.

I had the bacon, Brie and cranberry panini and my wife had a chicken burger.

Both arrived quickly and tasted lovely.

We've been here a few times and I can honestly say never had a bad meal will go again.

Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2017

Dear Martin B,

Thank you for leaving us a great 5 star review, we are all really pleased.

Glad that you enjoyed everything, hopefully you don't leave it until next Liberation Day to visit us again!

Regards,

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

Paul is now baking the best cheesecake I have ever tasted. Keep up the good food and family atmosphere. Brilliant place to be even on a wet day

Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Dear Steve C,

Thank you very much for posting another lovely review, very much appreciated.

Great to hear that you enjoyed our Cheesecake, please can you bring the sunshine with you on the next visit!!!

Warmest regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile

Really nothing special.

Two beers on draft.

Chips and burgers type of food.

Poor service. Order at bar.

Prob good for watching sport as two large screens.

Nothing massively wrong with it, just very much nothing special.

Thank jburts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Dear jburts,

I normally thank guests for their review, positive or negative, however your review confuses me slightly.

You are correct in some of the things you mention, two beers on draught, we do indeed serve chips and burgers, you do order at the bar and we show sports on our screen (we only have one by the way!). We don't go out of our way to promote ourselves as anything 'special' we are simply a relaxed an informal beach cafe serving tasty home made food. As you say, nothing massively wrong and to be honest we deliver what we promise.

We may not be your cup of tea so to speak and maybe you were expecting something else but why that is only worthy of one star (terrible) i'm not so sure?? Your review doesn't sound like you had a terrible experience?? Maybe one that just didn't suit you perhaps??

You do not elaborate on the poor service comment so perhaps you will take the time to email me, paul@beachhouseguernsey.com to relay your concerns in this area and I can address them.

Kind regards,

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2017

This place is extremely busy on a Sunday lunchtime. They don't take bookings, so we went for 11.15 and had a coffee. By 11.30 the place was buzzing and as soon as the roast of the day was put up on the board (12.00), there was a queue to order. You order and pay at the counter and your food is brought to you. There are a lot of other items on the menu and everything is well priced. Right next to the beach and the Common, so a long walk afterwards is perfect. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul J, Partner at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Dear JanC001,

Thank you very much for your kind review following your Sunday Lunch with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and intend to return. We look forward to welcoming you.

Paul Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House also viewed

 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 
St Peter Port, Guernsey
St Peter Port, Guernsey
 

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing