We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class bed and breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penrhadw Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penrhadw Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontsticill B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“First class bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Spacious bedroom and bathroom, spotlessly clean and furnished to a high standard.
A really warm welcome from all the staff. The breakfasts are wonderful, very plentiful, excellent choice and variety, cooked to order and nicely presented.
The location is very convenient with a range of walks, cycling and fishing in the immediate area.
The local pub [The Butchers Arms?] is very friendly and serves a good evening meal at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
24
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

After staying in B and B's on working farms before, we were under the impression that this would be a similar experience (the clue is in the name). It is a very modern building that looks purpose built as a hotel. The breakfasts were excellent but the place lacks character, and is about £10 per night overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_edward2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

A peaceful retreat away from the big bad world. Friendly, attentive and knowledgeable staff. Freshly cooked and delicious breakfast after your choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc. We had booked a superior room and on arrival were shown to our own 4 bed detached house in the grounds with all amenities. Comfortable, warm, sky TV and a complete dining kitchen.

Would highly recommend if you want to get away from it all. The only negative point is, unlike previous reviewers, our towels were unfeasibly small!

Apart from this, everything was just perfect.

  • Liked — The full features available.
  • Disliked — Small towels
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed at the Cribyn cottage in August 2008. The bottom floor of the house has a large kitchen, a sitting room, and a place for the washing machine. The top floor has two double and two single rooms.

The house is stocked with everything we could think of, including a stove and oven, microwave, washing machine, TV, DVD and VCR. The place is spotlessly clean.

The location is very convenient for touring the Brecon Beacons area, but you'll probably need a car as it is in a small village.

The owners were helpful in any way they could.

Two things missing are a map of walking paths in the area and maybe a few books and DVDs. Otherwise, its simply perfect!

  • Liked — Has everything we needed
  • Disliked — No DVDs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2006

I booked this on activehotels.com. I was worried from the previous review that it was booked on the internet but was not reliable. I had phoned the hotel directly the day after I had booked it and a lovely lady had reconfirmed it. I also received a phone call on the day of the booking to confirm that I was still coming down which was a nice comfort that they were expecting me. Absolutely great and lovely hosts. Lovely cooked breakfasts with an large array choice including cereals, fruit, croissants and yoghurt. A shame that we couldn't stay longer. I would definitely stay here again if I was staying the Brecon Beacons. If I had to be really picky - the TV did not have all the 5 channels but not a big deal!!

  • Liked — Food and hosts
  • Disliked — TV did not have all 5 channels
  • Tips/Secrets — Not a place to watch TV
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueBubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2006

Could not recommend hihgly enough. Beautifiul rooms as good or better than any 4 star hotel. Great breakfast, lots of choice. Friendly welcoming staff.

Helpful?
2 Thank zelda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2004

I have stayed at Penrhadw Farm several times in various rooms from doubles to the cottages when bringing a group.The facilities are as good as any 5 star hotel in Dublin,my home town where I have my own taxi business.
The breakfasts are absolutely superb and quite the best I have ever enjoyed.The staff are delightful people,as befits the south Wales people.
I can recommend this place to anyone from World traveller to the day tripper.
Martin Deignan.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontsticill
4.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cwmtaf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
10.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beili Helyg Guest House
Beili Helyg Guest House
#1 of 1 in Penderyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhadw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhadw Farm

Property: Penrhadw Farm
Address: Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2TU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil > Pontsticill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pontsticill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Penrhadw Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrhadw Farm is family run Guest House and holiday homes complex situated in the southern valley of the Brecon Beacons National Park.Established in 1997 whilst owners also running and developing a highly recommended hotel and restaurant in Merthyr Tydfil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Penrhadw Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing