We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful!!”
Review of Penrhadw Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penrhadw Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontsticill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I arrived and checked in, went up to my room, and despite paying extra for a 'room with a countryside view', I got the room of the neighbours disgusting backyard, and if I hung out of the bathroom window, then I could just see a little bit of the countryside.

I complained due to paying extra, and was kindly moved to one of the cottages, however, after getting out of the bath, the electrics went, I went downstairs in the pitch black to find that the bath water was leaking in through the ceiling, I then slipped in the flood of water.

This B&B isnt staffed all the time, therefore, I had to ring the B&B telephone number, however, they wouldnt come out and assist me, and only advised that I make my way up to the B&B house and sleep in my original room.

Therefore I had to pack all my belongings up in the darkness and sustain an injury along the way.

The whole place smells of grease, and really does need gutting and bringing into the 21st century and cleaned.

The breakfast was dreadful too - I had to use a knife to saw through the scrambled egg!!!

Do not go! - a huge waste of money.

Room Tip: **Do Not Go!!!**
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripangel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 88 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A pre arrival call to check estimated arrival time was good. Shown up to room and also shown breakfast room and advised of a local pub for dinner. The room & bathroom were spacious but there were a few spiders in the top corners of the room / bathroom. When showering or running bath water, there was a terrible noise from the plumbing. The taps had to be turned a few times to find a point where it was quieter. I could hear the plumbing noise from the next room. The bed was a big springy (I have a firm bed at home). Some people arrived after 10pm which resulted in noise (we overlooked the parking) as well as banging of doors (they need rubber seals around the door frame). At breakfast there was a good selection. A few too many items on the table. The staff in the kitchen next door were a bit loud. I've stayed in many B&B's (locally and in Europe) for business and based on the price, I've had better for less. The only difference is the location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

It was probably the best hotel I have been to in last couple of years. We had one of the cottages overlooking the hills (sleeps 6). Our accommodation was beautifully appointed, inkeeping with the character of the place. Almost a steal for the price.

Excellent local pub is just down the road. We were simply immersed in beautiful Welsh countryside.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was something else. Great choice of home-made jams, cakes, locally made cheeses, sundries, cereal. All that was accompanied by cooked breakfast to die for.

The service is impeccable. Four ladies who run the place are friendly and fun to talk to. I could spend weeks there and would come back for more. If you go to Penrhadw Farm, you will definitely fall in love with Wales.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewa Marcin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This will be the third time I have stayed at Harris Cottage with a group of friends for a long weekend. Excellent location, excellent and quality accommodation, best breakfast I have had anywhere and really helpful and friendly staff.
We shall be visiting again in a year or so, and all of us have no hesitation in recommending this venue. A real gem in a lovely area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toostressedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Beautiful surroundings, fabulous room (nice and warm, but easy to turn heating off/down if you don't like warm!). Loads of great choice for breakfast, all well cooked and presented. Staff were brilliant, nice mix of firnedly and helpful, without being intrusive. Country walks on your doorstep, and two lovely little pubs a short walk away. Couldn't ask for more, excellent value for money, highly recommended. Thank you for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed 1 night at this B&B and had the best nights sleep ever.From the fabulous welcome to breakfast in the morning...our stay was perfect.A little bit difficult to find however directions from the owners were spot on.Immaculate room and ensuite with tea/coffee facilities and even offer of fresh milk.Breakfast was a joy with gorgeous mixed fruits and nuts and seeds for cereal as well as homemade cake.The staff couldnt do enough to make you comfortable.The house was immaculately clean and the views(even on a grey day) were so lovely.This guest accommodation is ideal for all sorts of guests from business to sightseers.Ideal base to explore Brecon and surrounding areas.
Thank you to Kath and Co. and look forward to seeing you when next visiting Wales.
Best Wishes Julie and Athena

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A remote area but just in the Brecon Beacons and beautiful. Hiking in the area is amazing. This is not a farm but more a B&B and some small houses to accommodate families. Staff is very helpful, breakfast the best and the room was very comfortable. Don't miss the Brecon Beacon Railway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontsticill
2.4 mi away
Studios at Glenthorne
Studios at Glenthorne
#2 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
92 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Mount Pleasant Inn
The Mount Pleasant Inn
#5 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
62 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhadw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhadw Farm

Address: Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2TU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil > Pontsticill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pontsticill
Price Range: $79 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhadw Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrhadw Farm is family run Guest House and holiday homes complex situated in the southern valley of the Brecon Beacons National Park.Established in 1997 whilst owners also running and developing a highly recommended hotel and restaurant in Merthyr Tydfil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penrhadw Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing