We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”
Review of Penrhadw Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penrhadw Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Pontsticill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A remote area but just in the Brecon Beacons and beautiful. Hiking in the area is amazing. This is not a farm but more a B&B and some small houses to accommodate families. Staff is very helpful, breakfast the best and the room was very comfortable. Don't miss the Brecon Beacon Railway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaHayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
24
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

In the middle of nowhere - a bit difficult to find even with satnav but very nice when you get there. The staff are most welcoming and friendly, our room was the smallest in the hotel - the 2 single beds parked in corners but we managed OK. Bathroom and shower OK. The lounge was big and comfortably furnished with big furniture and TV - very good. The breakfasts were excellent with every variety of food available including fresh fruit and dried fruit and nuts of every kind - as good as a 5 star hotel!! Will recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the small room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandalwood40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great spot.
Travelled to the Brecon Beacon's bank holiday weekend and booked Penrhadw farm after reading reviews on here and it did not disappoint.
The room was very clean and cosy, the breakfast was spot on and just what is needed before a yomp around the lovely valleys.
Kath the owner cannot do enough to make you feel comfortable and welcome, if your ever in this part of the world you would be hard pushed to find a better plae to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the farm for one night during our cycling trip from North to South Wales. We arrived soaking wet and received an extremely warm welcome. Excellent facilities for safe bike storage. Lovely rooms and the best breakfast we had during our whole journey. I would strongly recommend the B&B to anyone - I only wish all the places we had stayed were this good. Another small but positive point was they were perfectly happy for us to come into their kitchen - always a good sign.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1 , which had two beds , a double and a single - both excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I booked the Penyfan and Cribyn cottages for a 2 night stay with 10 friends for my birthday in March.

Despite the decor being dated and a bit floral, you couldn't fault the attention to detail that went into every element of the cottages. The kitchens in both the cottages were modern and spacious, enough for all 11 of us to congregate in one in the evenings.

The breakfasts were cooked to order and of a high standard - and the staff serving the breakfast were really friendly.

The accomodation prices are very reasonable considering that breakfast is included. We all had a fabulous time and will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Although the weather was wet wet wet on my arrival the welcome made me feel at home. my room spotless the decor made me feel at home the on suite facilities excellent. The Breakfast Menu was all that one would have in a Hotel but was cooked on order. The staff happy and helpful. This is a must return in my book bu only if the sun shines.

Room Tip: When booking explain if you have any health problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pongo10Wimborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed as a group of 8, family and friends, for 3 nights over the Easter vacation.4 of us were in the B&B and the others, plus 3 dogs, in one of the houses.It would be misleading to call it a cottage as it was very spacious and beautifully appointed.Everyone was so friendly and the breakfasts were great. The cleaning staff were friendly but unobtrusive. We even held a party on the Saturday.
There are some great local walks to help burn off the breakfast calories and I must recommend the "Red Cow" in the village; log fire and excellent Wye Valley ale.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontsticill
3.6 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
300 reviews
10.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
11.2 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
583 reviews
2.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhadw Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhadw Farm

Property: Penrhadw Farm
Address: Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil CF48 2TU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil > Pontsticill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pontsticill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Penrhadw Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penrhadw Farm is family run Guest House and holiday homes complex situated in the southern valley of the Brecon Beacons National Park.Established in 1997 whilst owners also running and developing a highly recommended hotel and restaurant in Merthyr Tydfil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Penrhadw Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing