We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some bits very good, other bits poor”

Bedwellty House and Park
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Tredegar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Some bits very good, other bits poor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'd certainly recommend the cafe for groups with small children. Various amenities have thoughtfully been provided for them. The afternoon teas are excellent value, although the scones not so fresh on a Sunday as they might have been. Staff were friendly but not very efficient.

The park and gardens are lovely, especially if you get to see them when it's not raining.

The bar in the 'Carriage Room' was very well priced, but the staff let it down.

I'm not from anywhere near Tredegar and when we were ready to leave Bedwellty House, just before 7pm, there was no clear exit strategy. The front reception desk was closed. I asked the bar staff to call a taxi and instead they rummaged around for numbers (three) for us to try calling ourselves. None of the three numbers connected us to an available taxi service. I'd really have expected a function room facility such as this to have a regular taxi pick-up firm organised for their guests.

There was a strong smell of bleach in odd places.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheGustoDiningClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    19
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Beautiful grounds and some moving testimony of a culture that only those involved in mining could understand fully

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebbw vale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you live in or near Tredegar you have to go to Bedwellty house for sunday dinner..the food is out of this world. Me and my family have been going here for the last 12 months...its a hidden gem ..but make sure you book in advance as you cant just walk in and order sunday lunch...once visited never forgotten.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank smmrplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I took my wife to Bedwellty House for afternoon tea on mother`s day. We had a loverly afternoon, good atmosphere and service, plenty of sandwiches and nice cakes and scones with ample jam and cream and as much tea as we could drink. There was also a harpist playing some very relaxing background music.All of this for a very reasonable price. We have also visited this historical house for Sunday lunch on more than one occasion and always been very impressed. I would recommend this house and the tea rooms to any visitors to South Wales or any local people. If you have not already visited then I can highly advise you to do so. You will be pleasantly surprised by what you will find.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely on a sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Beautiful, historic park, loads to see and do, theres a whole programme of events throughout the year, check the website to see whats on, book fairs, local brass band performing in the beautiful bandstand etc.. etc....

Cafe is set in a conservatory, staff friendly & polite. Nice little area for children to do some colouring and play with the toy kitchen. Food was fresh and nicely presented. Definitely a good place for lunch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank benjifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bedwellty House and Park also viewed

Tredegar, Blaenau Gwent
Newport, South Wales
 
Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
 

Been to Bedwellty House and Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing