We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal holiday retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage - Renovated Throughout.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage - Renovated Throughout.
Rose Cottage and Rose Bud - view as you arrive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Rose Cottage - Renovated Throughout.
Rose Cottage and Rose Bud - view as you arrive
Bi-fold doors on to the patio
Utility room with washer dryer and freezer
Snug with a selection of games and children's toys
Lounge - dining area
Lounge fire place - wood burning stove
Main bathroom - also has large new shower cubicle in back left corner, not shown
Master bedroom with views over the field
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom En-suite Bathroom
Back twin room
Back twin room
Front twin room
Bedroom one with ensuite shower room
Rose Bud - living area
Rose Bud - mezzanine chalet style bedroom
Shower room in Rose Bud
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Coychurch, Vale of Glamorgan, South Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JohnnyB20...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal holiday retreat”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The Rose Cottage and Rose bud was a fantastic place for a family get together. It was very well kitted out with kitchen equipment, children's toys and DVDs. Much better than any other rental property I have been to and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

We will try and come back in sunnier weather when we can explore the area better.

Many thanks.

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had a fabulous stay. Sarah and Brendon Hopkins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thank you. We are delighted you had a great holiday. Regards Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Georges P
1 review
“Rose Cottage”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

very good place, everything was operational, the house was clean and we had all commodities, we enjoy the environment and we was not far from Cardiff for the rugby worl cup

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona J
2 reviews
“Another lovely relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Recently enjoyed another relaxing week at Rose Cottage 9th to 16th September. This is an ideal base for exploring South Wales and revisiting some of my husbands childhood memories. It was great to have the Aga on, which wasn't expected, as we had a couple of rainy days that made it feel a bit chilly in the evening. However, also had some lovely sunny days when we were able to do some walking then come back to sit in the garden looking over the countryside. Once again we had everything we needed and more, including a thoughtful welcome pack with some nice Welsh goodies and treats. Thanks Liz. And thanks Sarah for being so accommodating over just two of us staying. Best cottage we've stayed in!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage in peaceful and private location.
Liked least: Winding lane leading to cottage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahameb
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay!”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two teenage children thoroughly enjoyed our two weeks in Rose Cottage. Our 16 year old son slept in the 'Rose Bud' annexe every night! The booking process was very straightforward and communications from both the owners and the housekeeper were excellent. The cottage was amazingly well-equipped, very clean and beautifully presented. The location is brilliant: very close to Bridgend shops and amenities and to the M4, whilst at the same time being in a countryside setting. Very quiet with horse, rabbits, buzzards, green woodpeckers and bats in the next door field. One of our essential requirements for a happy holiday was good, free wifi and this was provided with no problems at all. We had one very slight problem which the housekeeper sorted out very efficiently and effectively. There is lots to do in the Bridgend area and Cardiff, Swansea and the Gower are quickly and easily reached via the M4 or local roads if you prefer a scenic route. We are planning to return for our family holiday next year.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that the cottage was so well-equipped, and the location.
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything but would probably say the turn into the drive but easily mastered and we have a large MPV.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
769elliee
Linslade, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, expertly equipped, picturesque location”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Already familiar with the area my family and i usually spend the August bank holiday weekend in and around Southerndown, staying at the local hotel. This year we decided to spend a week in the area and looked for a holiday rental. We could not have chosen a better property. The cottage is situated in a small, traditional village and is accessed via a typically Welsh, meandering single track road. With views across the rolling local farmland it is sufficiently remote to feel special and secluded yet efficiently close to amenities (local pubs 2 min walk, Bridgend 5 minute drive, the beautiful beach at Southerndown no more than a 15 min drive). The owners seem to have thought of everything and it really was a home from home. The Rose Bud annexe was loved by the kids which they used as their "base camp" and gave us adults some well deserved peace and quiet. The cottage even comes with a friendly neighbourhood pony who loved popping his head over the wall to see what was going on. The cottage is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. My one wish - that I could pick it up and transport if back to where I live!

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage and square footage
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickalor
1 review
“Stunning cottage great place to stay.”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here over august bank holiday with three other families and there was plenty of space for all of us. The children loved playing in the annex whilst the adults chilled in the cottage.
The cottage is very clean, has everything you need and in a great location. Hoping to go back next year.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing