We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, A Bit Tired Rooms”
Review of Lord Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Location, A Bit Tired Rooms”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I travel frequently to Milford Haven for business and often stay at the Lord Nelson, as there aren't many options in the area.

Pros: friendly staff, good rate (typically includes breakfast), great location with lots of restaurants within walking distance, good room size

Cons: a bit tired (could use some renovation, which I believe has happened in some rooms, but not nearly enough), poor wifi signal in many rooms

Overall, I've never had any major issues during my many stays here. Make sure to ask for a room that looks out to the sea versus a stairwell (that's a miserable view)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    31
    13
    24
See reviews for
26
45
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Is this the best hotel in town or the only hotel in town?
The whole town of Milford haven is a bit tired, let alone the hotel. But our room was large and very clean, with a lovely bathroom. We ate in the hotel in the evening and the food was good as was the breakfast the next morning. The service was sometimes a bit slow. You have to ask for a hair dryer as there is not one in the room and when I went downstairs I had to wait a long time at reception before anybody realised I was there. In a nutshell, not too bad but not great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

A no frills hotel which is getting tired and a little frayed around the edges. I would have been happier and would have stayed again if there had been mattress protectors. One thin sheet through which you can see the mattress stripes doesn't install a feeling of cleanliness. Just little things eg. Broken toilet roll holder and hole left in wall let this hotel down.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Attended a wedding yesterday had a mixed experience. Organisation very poor, lots of waiting around before we could go into the function room in the afternoon and evening. Food! The beef was cut very thick and resembled shoe leather, the children's meal was exactly the same size as adults and I was told they are all the same size! Service was very slow as was the clearing between courses. On the plus side the serving staff were very helpful but they were from an agency not actually employed by the hotel. After the reception we were virtually frog marched out of the room by a very unprofessional lady who then took an eternity to set up the room for the evening. Evening buffet very uninspiring.
Good job weddings are about the people who share the day with you

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milford Haven hotels

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The only nice thing I can say about this hotel were that the staff were lovely.The food was very poor and the room extremely shabby.If this is the best that Milford had to offer I am so glad that I have no reason to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZZIELeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,790 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 903 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here with two walking chums at the start of 6 days walking part of the Pembokeshire Coastal Path. Apparently this is the best that Milford Haven has to offer, but we were not overly impressed. My single room was very small, although the bed was reasonably comfy - the other 2 shared a twin room (they at least got two double beds) which was very tatty. The whole place needs some TLC as it is looking very tired.
The bar food was OK (I had home made pie & chips) as was breakfast, but the beer was rather disappointing - just Brains Smooth and later SA, when we were hoping for some real ales.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had a party nearby. The staff were very welcoming and extremely friendly. We asked for a sea view if possible and they kindly gave us one. Our room was spacious, recently decorated and very clean - easily four star standard.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: 203 is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycecme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Haven
5.3 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
281 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
286 reviews
15.0 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
218 reviews
15.1 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
222 reviews
9.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Property: Lord Nelson
Address: 9 Hamilton Terrace, Milford Haven SA73 3AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Nelson 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lord Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Hotel Milford Haven
Lord Nelson Milford Haven, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing