We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Lord Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lord Nelson
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just spent 4 nights here on holiday with a friend. The hotel is clean and the rooms are warm and the beds are comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were really good and substantial. We had an evening meal in the bar and this was also good value for money. We would recommend this hotel to all our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyD947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    31
    13
    24
See reviews for
26
45
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Being as the are ais a very small dated and quiet town i did not expect such a lovely hotel. The staff was briliant, i had no issues with sleeping, Great big rooms, i went with my girlfriend and he got a double bed each in one room ! I cant say one thing bad about this hotel Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnstapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASINGSTOKE
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel but noises from beer garden not good when trying to sleep .The rooms were large and clean , good service , nice breakfast and evening meals good and also good for price , only complaint was noise from outside .

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEIDI G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my hubby and toddler. We were in a lovely room, which was a good size and was very clean. We had all the facilities we needed, cot was provided and made up too. There was a super king bed and it was so comfy. The room was very hot, no radiators was on, so we opened a window, it remained quite warm. The next morning we requested a fan for the room which was provided, so we were pleased. The breakfast is basic and there is not that much variety but it is easy to be flexible with what you order. They happily served our little one with 2 eggs and some bacon. All the staff were friendly and polite and the service was swift. To be a 5 star maybe try a bit more variety with breakfast and provide decaf coffee. Parking was very easy. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jempyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here over night on 20th March. From the bright, cheerful and happy check-in chap to the bar staff, this was a great experience. The hotel is not a world beating place but the staff were great and very helpful, it was clean and tidy and the views across the bay are superb! And for the price (I think it was £59 a night inc breakfast) I really could not fault it - great value for money.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms will offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeB50
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on Saturday 16th March Arrived at 1pm was told check in after 2pm we said we would wait in bar and ordered a drink within 5 mins the young man on reception came looking for us and said he had spoke to Housekeeping and our room was ready 201 on the second floor. The room to the front of the hotel with wonderful views over the Harbour and Marina. It was large with modern fittings, separate sitting area with sofa bed 2 chairs and coffee table. Dressing table and hanging space for clothes. The bathroom was small modern and clean and had really good water pressure for shower and the bath was filled very quickly with plenty of hot water.The bed was very comfortable but could have done with a mattress topper as I could feel the details of the mattress through the sheet. The windows are original and not double glazed so noise from outside could be heard until late but it was Saturday night and Wales had just won the Rugby match against England so we were quite happy to listen to the celebrations, which didn't go on too late. Having a very comfortable large modern room in an Old Traditional Hotel with a bar and restaurant with good food downstairs the Lord Nelson Hotel is well worth a visit especially for £70 B & B. Breakfast was very good too. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but instead chose to walk down to the marina to Harbour Master restaurant ( separate review) where we had a fabulous meal of the freshest fish wonderfully cooked, well worth a visit.
The Nelson staff were friendly and professional the visit was a pleasure from check in to check out Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great tip, price for B&B, then ask for Bed Breakfast and Evening meal. Embarrassingly cheap for what I received at the Lord Nelson a couple of days ago.
Theres a small carpark but on-street parking is free after six. Very easily found. Nice veiw, over the marina, estuary, a ship or two.
Check in was easier than usual, pre-booked by phone. He didnt mind plugging my mobile into his computer's USB to charge up.
Probably one of the best places around to eat so eat in. Specials available, standard menu okay too. HUGE. Too much for me even when hungry. Good Beers (Brains) an extravagent welsh whisky to finish. Footie on TV discretely.
All 3 staff were freindly and genuinely helpful (I can spot, and hate, customer service training. Much prefer staff who are nice without being shown how). Their boss must choose and treat them carefully?
Great room, 202. spacious, huge bed, recently tastefully redone. Warm clean comfy. The original windows let in a little noise compared to modern glazing but I slept very heavily.
At under £75 all-in I had no right to sleep so well !
Outstanding

Room Tip: 202, large recently refurbished comfy king size. Large bathroom with bath and shower - and thank you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Haven
5.3 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
280 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
286 reviews
15.0 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
217 reviews
15.1 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
222 reviews
9.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson

Property: Lord Nelson
Address: 9 Hamilton Terrace, Milford Haven SA73 3AW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Milford Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milford Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Nelson 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Lord Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Hotel Milford Haven
Lord Nelson Milford Haven, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing