We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for touring.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembroke Dock
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“A good base for touring.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I’ve been staying at this hotel quite a lot over the past year or two while on business. It’s got a lot to commend it.
For a start it’s in a good spot overlooking the Cleddau Estuary, right next to the bridge. It’s convenient to reach most places in south Pembrokeshire.
It’s not special inside or outside. It's functional rather than funky: simple and good value (depending on your deal). Most rooms seem to be identical with good facilities and well-stocked with bathroom and tea/coffee making consumables.
I found it to be extremely clean and well maintained. Staff were all very pleasant.
The restaurant was very good (well-presented and huge portions!) if lacking in atmosphere – as was the bar.
I usually stay on business, but wouldn’t hesitate to make this hotel a base for a weekend in Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleddauHotel, Manager at Cleddau Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We appreciate your honest and favourable review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the food here. Our head chef joined us just before Christmas and we have only had good comments since then. Good chefs are very hard to come by but I think we've hit the jackpot with Lee. I can understand your comments about the lack of atmosphere in some respects: we use our restaurant for weddings and thus must keep them simply decorated to enable quick turn arounds of furniture. However, we hope that with a full restaurant the atmosphere will follow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    86
    50
    8
    9
See reviews for
58
110
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed and attended the new year eve party 31/12/2012, our party consisted of 5 people, 1 which was earldery,
The staff were very helpful, food was nice, and the entertainment could have been better, but ok, rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was first class, so in all would use this hotel again. as was good value for money.

Room Tip: Room in the new quarter are larger and better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleddauHotel, Manager at Cleddau Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your very favourable comments. I also was disappointed with the entertainment on New Year's Eve. He came highly recommended from a 5* hotel in Cardiff so I'm not quite sure what went wrong on the night. I will pass on your praise for the service and food to the relevant members of staff. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent one night in Cleddau Bridge with my family while visiting friends in Harverford West. We stayed in a family suite. It was surprisingly very neat and the staff were just very courteous. The hotel is beautifully located atop a hill with a stunning view of the Cleddau River and its fine bridge. I'm looking forward to going to back to that lovely town and staying in that hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomokeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleddauHotel, Manager at Cleddau Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to offer your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at the Cleddau Bridge from 23 - 28th December so that I could visit my elderly parents and treat them to Christmas lunch at the hotel. From the time I arrived to the time I left I was looked after superbly by a smiling, friendly staff who did everything they could to make my stay as pleasant as possible. The room was light, airy, a good size and was spotlessly clean, with the white bedding being completely free of any marks. Pillows were plump and fresh and there was a good supply of beverages, with more available when I asked for extra after a soggy walk on the beautiful Pembrokeshire coastal path.
I wasn't sure about going to a hotel for Christmas lunch, but I needn't have worried because my parents and I had a wonderful time. We ate in the Pembroke Suite and this large function room was very well presented, with tasteful table decorations and large red or gold chiffon bows on the backs of chairs. We were quickly greeted by Kelly, our excellent waitress who tended to our every need throughout the meal. It was noticeable that staff were attentive but unobtrusive, which was very pleasing. The room was full, but didn't feel crowded as plenty of space had been left between tables. The lunch itself was superb, with everything cooked to a very high standard and with a wide choice of vegetables and sauces. I've eaten lunch and dinner at this hotel several times and the standard has always been very high, with consistent attention being paid to taste and presentation.
I like the way the hotel employs staff of widely different ages, from the very young (sixteen) to senior citizens. All of them are kind and helpful and have a ready smile. The view from the restaurant is always pleasant and the hotel is situated such that there is easy access to a variety of Pembrokeshire sights and destinations.
I have to say that I was more than pleased with the value for money, with accommodation being offered at better rates than lesser hotels.
I visit Pembrokeshire regularly and I don't even bother to look for other hotels any longer because this one fits the bill very well indeed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleddauHotel, Manager at Cleddau Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Your comments are truly a delight to read. Thank you so much for taking the time to offer your feedback for your stay here with us. I will pass your comments on to Kelly as I know she will appreciate your special mention. Thank you once again and I look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent our Christmas at the Cleddau again (we returned after enjoying it so much last year). Being Seniors we find it so easy to travel to from our home in neighbouring Glamorgan. This year i must comment on the kind help that Kim the Receptionist afforded my husband. He wanted to give me a boquet of red roses as a surprise when we arrived at the Hotel and Kim kindly arranged everything for him. We both thanked her personally but I would like the owners of the Hotel to know what a treasure they have in Kim - an employee that should be valued.
We feel the Cleddau is home from home for us now, we have the same room every time we visit and wish we had discovered this hotel years ago.
Thank you Thomas and all the Staff for a lovely break once again. Special thanks to Kim xxx

Room Tip: Pay extra for an executive room facing the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleddauHotel, Manager at Cleddau Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us. I will pass on your compliments to all the staff that made your stay so memorable, including Kim of course, who will be very pleased. We pride ourselves on having excellent staff and the fact that you have acknowledged that fact makes it clear that we have a good team here. Thank you and I look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Cleddau Bridge Hotel for 1 night before a conference in the Bridge Innovation Centre. We arrived to a nice looking hotel (albeit with dated decor) with friendly staff. The room was fine, what you would expect from a twin room, no problems with that.

The issues came with dinner. We arrived at the restaurant and each ordered main courses off the menu. I ordered a fillet of steak with black pudding and chips, my partner ordered lamb steaks with 'summer salad?' and garlic potatoes.

In case you don't know, a fillet of steak is a lovely cut of beef, certainly the most expensive cut, this was reflected in the circa £22 price. When my 'medium/rare' steak arrived, it was so tough I could hardly cut through it. There was no pink to be seen - this was a well done piece of meat. The chips were certainly nothing special, though I suppose you can hardly go wrong with oven-chips.

The meat on the other main course was fine, quite nice actually, but the summer salad was nothing more than a scattering of peas, which was very disappointing.

The other issue was the selection of vegetables which came with the meal. I can not express enough how poor and inedible it was. It seemed much like some 'leftover' sprouts, new potatoes and swede, that was clearly microwaved and re-heated as the potatoes were shrivelled in their skins, and the swede was so hot, I burned my tongue.

We both left the veg, and begrudgingly picked through the rest. I hate leaving food to waste, but most of it was left behind - quite a shame for around £40. We didn't bother with desert.

We put the bad food down to the time, as in fairness, they stopped serving food at 9:30, and it was 9pm when we entered the restaurant - but I would have much preferred they refused us entry and sent us to McDonalds!

Overall, a nice enough hotel, good location for the Bridge Innovation Centre (which is only across the road) and the staff were nice enough, but don't eat there, I certainly wouldn't again.

The hotel was not really good value (around £100 per night for the corporate rate) and the food, with the bottle of Rose was close to £60 - I think you'd be better off elsewhere if you're on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nintynath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleddauHotel, Manager at Cleddau Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments both positive and negative. Your feedback gives us the opportunity to find out what we are doing right as well as wrong.

You may have arrived towards the end of our serving time for dinner but I can assure you that all food that leaves the kitchen should be of the best standard regardless of the time it was served.

There seems to be some confusion, however, over the fillet steak. Both the chef and the restaurant manager claim that you requested a medium steak and that it was definitely served pink.

My only wish is that you had discussed your concerns with the front of house staff at the time so that the problem could have been rectified immediately. I appreciate you may have felt that you were holding them up but they are paid to be there. They were completely unaware that there had been a problem with your meal as they claim it had all been eaten.

With regard to your comments about the value for money, I believe we are competitive with other hotels locally of the same 3* standard and we always provide an excellent breakfast that we have been told is second to none, which is included in the price of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed last night and was very impressed. As a woman travelling alone I sometimes get a bit nervousness. At checkin the really friendly receptionist madea point of not verbalising my room no but just showing me so no one could over hear. I had a free upgrade. The room was clean and perfectly fine, not luxurious but comfy. The bed was huge and pillows lovely. I had room service and a woman receptionist accompanied the male waiter again a great safety idea. The food was fine. I slept really well which for me is also the important bit. Ideal formu business as the hotel was only 2 mins away

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbiemetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CleddauHotel, Manager at Cleddau Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I am very pleased that you appreciated our endeavours to ensure your safety. This is really important to us as many of our weekly visitors are lone travellers like yourself. I will pass on your very positive comments to the relevant staff members and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke Dock
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
Travelodge Pembroke Dock
#1 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
218 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
281 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
474 reviews
9.4 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
13.9 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleddau Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleddau Bridge Hotel

Property: Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Address: Essex Road, Pembroke Dock SA72 6EG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke Dock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Pembroke Dock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cleddau Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cleddau Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleddau Bridge Hotel Pembroke Dock, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing