We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Gwytherin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break at The Lion Inn.. We had previously stayed in Betws y Coed, and wondered if we were making the right decision by staying further out into the countryside.. Good decision!! We were made to feel completely at home by both Tim and Fiona.. nothing was too much trouble! The room was beautifully decorated, immaculate in every way, and the definition of pure comfort!
We had booked a meal for the first night of our stay, the food was home cooked by Fiona, and truly delicious!.. The regular 'locals' of the area were really friendly and made us feel welcome.. We would not hesitate to recommend The Lion Inn to our family and friends, and I am already looking ahead to when we can plan our next visit!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne-DarrenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
124
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bacup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Have just returned from a short holiday at the Lion Inn with my husband and very elderly father. Tim and Fiona really couldn't have done more to make us welcome and to make our stay as comfortable as possible. A special thanks to Fiona for going to so much trouble to make me some wonderful vegan meals. I think the spicy vegetables done in coconut milk was my favourite. Will happily recommend it to anyone looking for a well placed, relaxing holiday in a beautiful spot.

Room Tip: We couldn't have stayed in the room called the Bothy because my husband is disabled but it looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Last weekend I made a return visit to the Lion Inn with my daughter and we spent two nights at this very special place. There is a great welcome from Tim and both he and Fiona do their utmost to make your stay memorable. Fiona takes a lot trouble with the meals she prepares and uses local produce wherever possible.

Room Tip: Room Rosemary is over the bar area so can be noisy at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at the Lion Inn and, from the warm welcome we received to the fond farewells after breakfast on our last day, Tim and Fiona were the perfect hosts. The Inn had such a relaxing feel, from sitting around the wonderful open fire with a drink in the bar to those amazing rooms with robes, TV, DVD and WiFi access - the room exceeded all our expectations. Fiona s use of locally sourced produce is a real winner, we had two wonderful meals during the course of our stay as well as those amazing cooked breakfasts.

The Lion Inn was an amazing find, we will return again on our next visit to Wales! Thank you Tim and Fiona

Tony and Jane

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swearly69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely two night stay at The Lion Inn. The B&B is situated in beautiful surroundings, a short drive from Snowdon, with a beautiful valley as backdrop.

We received a very friendly welcome from Tim, showing the room and facilities, including robes and also access to a large DVD library. Our room had our own balcony with fab views of the surrounding hills. The room was cosy, but spotlessly clean, with attractive furniture and comfortable bedding.

The Inn is run by Tim and Fiona and they have a very personal, welcoming approach. As it is a small Inn, with all the cooking done by Fiona, they require you to make bookings for dinner in advance, which is explained in detail in their welcoming email prior to arrival. They are very accommodating however and ensure all guests are looked after.

As a vegetarian I was nervous about menu choices, but Fiona discussed personal preferences with me and the food I had on both nights was excellent (desserts were also delicious!) and breakfast was great too.

The bar area is small and since the Inn is in a small village, there is not a wide range of ales on tap, but the bar staff and regular locals were friendly and welcoming.

Overall, we had a really relaxing stay, with friendly and welcoming hosts. If you want a break in a traditional inn, with very personal approach this is a great place.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RRush_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from the Lion Inn, Tim and Fiona were perfect hosts, friendly and welcoming.
Charming B&B stylishly decorated but with a homely feel making it easy to relax.
Fiona obviously takes great pride in using the wonderful local produce that is available in North Wales . A wonderful find

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had 2 nights at The Lion Inn with Tim & Fiona , they were so welcoming and could not do enough for you . room excellent , food top class [ Fiona uses everything local ] you even have a lovely welcome from the local people who come for a drink at the bar . . One place we love to go back soon ! . .Thank you Fiona & Tim . . once more !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigG186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gwytherin
6.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
9.9 mi away
Groes Inn
Groes Inn
#1 of 1 in Tyn-y-Groes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
6.3 mi away
Black Lion
Black Lion
#1 of 1 in Llanfair Talhaiarn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion Inn

Property: The Lion Inn
Address: Gwytherin LL22 8UU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Gwytherin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gwytherin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Inn Gwytherin in beautiful Wales is a great place to come and eat fresh food, drink good wine and real ale and recharge your batteries. Close to Snowdonia it is a great centre from which to explore North Wales. Dating from the 16th century, but the bedrooms take their design cues from the 21st century - Wales Great Little Places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion Inn Gwytherin Hotel Gwytherin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing