We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Old Colwyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Plough in Old Colwyn is now under new ownership. We've just launched our fine dining restaurant, with head chef John Wynne at the helm. The restaurant is open: Wed & Thurs, 12pm - 2pm and 6pm - 9:00pm Friday & Saturday 12pm - 2pm and 6pm - 9:30pm Sunday 12pm - 6pm
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Sunday lunch at The Plough was delightful. Beautifully cooked food, great service from helpful and friendly staff together with a relaxed atmosphere made for a really superb dining experience. Well done to everone involved. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LRoseGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    17
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

My friend Anne and I decided to give this restaurant a try and we weren't disappointed. The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We decided to have bread and olives with our drinks while we waited for our table. What a good idea, the olives were delicious, accompanied by three types of bread with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. We decided against a starter and both chose shoulder of lamb which was beautifully cooked and presented and went really well with the Argentinian Malbec wine. We completed the meal with a really good coffee and mint. The surroundings were very pleasant and the ambiance delightful. All in all, a very pleasant experience and we'll definitely call again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshSue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fine dinning comes to Old Colwyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This has got to be the best rump steak, my husband has had in a long time.
the service was excellent, you couldn't fault her care and attention.

top tip don't eat all day before you go as the steak was so big and good.

will be going back, had heard a lot of good thing's about the place, all true.

car parking space across the road, good to see a local pub turning out such good quality.

Highly recommend the Plough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soulcity52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Have Been to the plough three times now and each time the food has been fantastic this time I had a fish special and it was cooked and presented with perfection can't wait to go back again

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great meal, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Visited for the first time the other evening. The food was very good, the service was excellent. Well worth trying - we'll be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Old Colwyn, Conwy County
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
 
Colwyn Bay, Conwy County
Old Colwyn, Conwy County
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing