We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - well deserved 5*”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Ship Inn

External
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External
Main Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
External
Main Lounge
Kitchen
2nd Lounge
Pool Table
Dormitory Room
Dining Room
Dinning Room View 2
Sample Bathroom
Sample Bathroom 2
Sample Bathroom 3
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 7
Bedroom 8
Bedroom 9
Bedroom 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
12 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Old Colwyn, Conwy County, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hayley P
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent - well deserved 5*”
Reviewed February 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We shared this house with 25 of us '30 somethings' in january 2016, we were a mix of couples and singles with no children. It has easy access to the activities of snowdonia and is linked to really convenient train and road network so we could all travel in from all over the country. The large carpark really made things easy too. It was perfect, great layout in the rooms and communal areas, loads of bathrooms and a well stocked kitchen equipment wise. I will definitely be going back and Mark (the guy I was in touch with about bookings) was more than helpful and replied incredibly quickly - a very honest, down to earth guy, it seemed he very genuinely just wants you to enjoy your time there and doesn't mess you around. Hope you enjoy yourself as much as we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2016
Hayley,
You are a superstar. Thank you so much for your kind words. Hope to see you again at The Ship or Mountain View soon!
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
241chrisa
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house and location”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the second time I've stayed at The Ship now and loved it both times. First time was a family trip with about 25 of us and a dog, second time was a stag for for 12. Both times the house was perfect!
SkySports on the projector is a great afternoon in watching the football.
The rooms are good, bed duvets VERY thick, pool table good, kitchen area brilliant and comfy sofas in the living room.
All in all, a great place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bedrooms
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2016
Thanks Chris and I beleive we will be welcoming you back in Oct?
Thanks for your kind words.
mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrrryyy...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best cottage by far xx ”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Had the best time ever, everyone one loved it it so much. A big thanks to my footy coach for booking this.By far one of the best cottages we have stayed in it was so clean and big we made use of everything and really enjoyed it. We wasn't to much of a big bunch of occupants but easily the cottage could have fit way more people it is big. We used all the facilities such as the projector and the pool table we had a great laugh and just chilled out in the lobby. It's perfect for us and we will hopefully come here again in the near future. The kids room was awesome I can't fault this property in anyway To be honest with you. We really really enjoyed and thank you for having us xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Marrrrryyyyy!
Thank you for your kind words. I guess you are one of Shamila's ladies. Glad you made the most of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the summer!
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamila N
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bradford ”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Amazing property beautiful and clean,booked the property for my womens football club,they enjoyed every moment of their stay,this place is located in a very friendly area,landlord was extremely helpful,will defo be booking again in the summer,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2015
Thanks Shamila, glad the girls all enjoyed themselves and look forward to seeing you in the summer.
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamJBrear
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome place, Great Experience!”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I organised a Stag-do at The Ship, with 26 guys in attendance. We had guests coming from Aberdeen, Northern Ireland, and London, so The Ships location in Old Colwyn right in the middle of the UK was spot on. The Ship it'self is a gem! The facilities were great and there is everything you need to accomodate 30 people comfortably. With a giant screen, pool table, table football, and other board games, you have no problems keeping everyone entertained!
The booking and check in/check out experience was really smooth and laid back, making for a great weekend!

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2015
Thanks Sam for those kind words. I trust you sent the Groom off in style!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dm2mo
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house for a large group”
Reviewed November 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A group of about 30 friends (half adults, half kids) stayed here for a long weekend earlier in the year. We had such a fantastic time that we are about to book it again. As I'm reading the reviews, I've realised that I forgot to write one after our stay! We obviously had an amazing time, so good that we can't wait to do it again. Loads of room. Loads of entertainment for the kids. Soft play area within walking distance and an easy walk to the beach. Loads of supermarkets and takeaways in the town. The house itself is very well equipped and had everything that we needed. Everyone, especially the kids, had an absolutely ball and haven't stopped talking about it.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Hey Di, thank you so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back in Jan 2016! Mark and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrytew
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We used The Ship Inn for our annual family summer holiday with our children and grandchildren and it proved to be excellent accommodation for 14 adults and 16 children.
There is an abundance of good quality toilets and showers and great communal areas including a large kitchen / diner.
We were happy from the moment we arrived with very good sleeping arrangements and very comfortable beds helping us enjoy our holiday.
The immediate area offers plenty of shops, pubs and takeaways and there are plenty of beaches and tourist attractions including Snowdon within a short drive.
The owner Mark is very helpful and easily contactable by phone if required.
Definitively one of the best large houses that we have stayed in.
Many thanks to Mark and his team for helping us enjoy a great week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and abundance of bathrooms.
Liked least: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2015
Why thank you kind fellows! Thank you so much for taking the time to lodge a review and for the kind words contained within. I am so pleased the Ship lived up to your expectation and that the whole family could get together to enjoy each others company. That is, afterall, what it is ALL about. Hope to see team 'Tew' again in the future!
Mark and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing