We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for looking after my mum”
Review of Marine Hotel

Marine Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Colwyn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marine Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Colwyn
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My mum and partner have spent a excellent week here,the food was home cooked and very good...and lots of it,the room was clean and very comfortable with its own en-suite.Very friendly atmostsphere and welcoming....will definately book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 116rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

Had an amazing time staying here, Wendy an her staff were amazing. Felt very well accommodated. The only place to stay in old colwyn.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshdickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Very clean; helpful and friendly staff. The room was nice and spacious with a really comfy bed and a good shower.
We only stayed for one night but really enjoyed the stay- breakfast was amazing!
We will be coming back here again.

Stayed: May 2011
1  Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Not very friendly and not all that helpful staff (all the staff seemed very young and a lack of training or they simply did not really care)- no atmosphere in the dinning room apart from the odd record which we assume was played from the bar duke box every now and then.

Starters we has prawn cocktail served eighties style in a very small wine glass just some shredded ice burg lettuce and some small prawns topped with a cheap/nasty sauce and some cheap sliced brown bread - was just edible but would never have again or recommend. -

We was then expecting a similar main meal but to our surprise it was it was a very tasty Beef Sunday Dinner, very tasty very well cooked good quality beef with home made beef stock gravy, very nice roast potatoes - tasty and crispy again seemed home made/prepared and good boiled potatoes along with a side dish of veg carrots/peas/broccoli and cauliflower all good.

Was a Yorkshire pudding but very over done/burnt - this was the only one small fault with the dinner as everything else on the main Dinner was excellent. - sweets were average pub quality- nothing special.
We would try this place again but stick to just a Sunday dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAMSEY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had been due to stay at another hotel in the area but, unfortunately, due to a fire, they were unable to accomodate us.
Accordingly we looked for other accomodation and approached the Marine during the afternoon. Wendy and her husband could not have been more helpful.
For a clean, comfortable room and overall pleasant accomodation, together with a big plus for the breakfast, we were delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellie499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend,we was made to feel very welcome,the food was excellent and the rooms were large,clean and modern.All in all The Marine is a great place to stay,we are intending to stay there again in 2011.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPerkins13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Fabulous stay Wendy and all the staff were wonderful!! Really accommodating especially as we travelled with a one year old!! Food was amazing (steak to die for)! Felt at home the staff couldn't do enough for us!! Welsh netball would recommend it to anyone!!! Great people great value!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs2086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Colwyn
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyndale Hotel
Lyndale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Old Colwyn
58 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bryn Holcombe
Bryn Holcombe
#2 of 2 in Colwyn Bay
156 reviews
9.2 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: 236 Abergele Road, Old Colwyn LL29 9YH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Old Colwyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Colwyn
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing