We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Princes Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trefriw
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Princes Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
627 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Over twenty years ago and when my two sons were youngsters we to stayed many times in the top floor flats here, Lindsay and Ann had not long taken over the hotel and were beginning a programme of modernisation. I return every year with friends and family on my annual visits to North Wales and it's wonderful to see them both as enthusiastic and welcoming as ever.
Recently we ate twice in the restaurant, delicious well cooked and sourced local food and just the thing after a day's walking in the mountains and all that wholesome fresh air.
The Princes Arms is situated in the village of Trefriw, close by to Llanwrst and Betws y Coed with lovely views over the River Conwy and to the distant hills.
Plenty to do and Lindsay will arrange golf for residents at some of the finest courses and is a mine of useful information. Take a drive up the hill behind the hotel to Lake Crafnant where there is a delightful café and one can sit on the lake shore enjoying home made cakes and wonder at the view and tranquillity.
The Princes Arms is a fine example of a well run, excellent value and friendly hotel and if you haven't already been there then I suggest you do!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PutneySW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
41
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely Sunday lunch here
We really enjoyed it food was really good
It also really reasonable I would recommend here to all my friends
Service was good such friendly staff
Plenty to choose from off the menu
Definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

First class service ,fantasic food ,we felt that we lived there nothing was too much trouble ,lovely village feel ! Sitting by the open fire having a coffee was the icing on the cake for us what was a beautiful evening had to come to a end ! We will be back soon & we can't wait !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a wonderful welcome we received from our host Lindsay. He couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were large and clean and provided a fantastic view of the river Conwy. The beds were comfortable and the crisp, clean white sheets were a luxury as were the thick, sumptuous towels. The food was delicious, but the portions far too large for us! I couldn't resist the Welsh lamb 2 evenings on the trot though (lamb rump and lamb shank). The staff were very accommodating and on the ball without being intrusive and they all had a good sense of humour. It was very cosy relaxing in front of the log fire and Lindsay seemed to attend to us just at the right moment. If only all hotel hosts were like him. The hotel is in a wonderful spot and easy to find and I can recommend it to anyone looking to visit North Wales.

Room Tip: All rooms at the hotel have a view of the River Conwy due to the way the hotel is built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouffeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Fabulous view from our room and really excellent food - american size servings. As they advertise the bed and towel linens are of high quality and the room was large and comfortable. The large flat screen TV and strong (and free) wi-fi signal were a pleasant surprise. Looking forward to our next visit

Room Tip: any room at the front will give a fabulous and ever changing view of the beautiful conwy valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiteforest0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Princes Arms is one of our favourite places in north Wales. The host and staff are lovely, the food sublime and the accommodation spacious, clean and well-maintained. Special mention must go to the food - fabulous breakfasts, mouth-watering lunches and dinner, well, I've run out of superlatives. My family hale from the Conwy Valley and we've been lucky enough to visit the majority of the eateries in the area over the years - the Princes Arms is the one we look forward to going back to the most. It's the peace and quiet and spectacular views as well - awesome!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor at the front - the views are marvellous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We try and go as often as we can to the Princess Arms. We can always be sure of a warm welcome, stunning location, brilliant food and lovely a time.
This is a place that knows how to treat it's guests, provide great food and service. Lindsey and Ann have it down to a TEE.
Food freshly prepared to suit every need, and will help with anything.
I LOVE THIS PLACE :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trefriw
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Arms Hotel

Property: Princes Arms Hotel
Address: Trefriw, Snowdonia National Park LL27 0JP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Trefriw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Trefriw
Hotel Class:3 star — Princes Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This haven of natural beauty is renowned for its exceptional setting and its quality of cuisine.It forms an excellent base from which to explore the stunning Snowdonia countryside.[Situated near Betws Y Coed].With the gently meandering river Conwy to the fore and the lakes of Snowdonia behind, there are few settings lovelier than the Princes Arms Hotel in the picturesque village of Trefriw.Wake up to sunrise over the Conwy valley or sleep on in the quiet comfort of your room, but bear in mind our breakfasts are exceptional!Simply step out of the door onto riverside walks and forestry tracks leading to views that will take your breath away.Alternatively, take a short drive and you are at the foot of Snowdon, shopping in Betws-y-coed or marveling at the stunning Bodnant Gardens.The Conwy valley and surrounding countryside is a region of great beauty and history. Whether it is sightseeing, walking, fishing or golfing, the list of attractions within striking distance are endless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Princes Arms Hotel Trefriw, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing