We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”
Review of Kismul House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kismul House
Ranked #4 of 10 Morar B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed here. The location is stunning - I had an upstairs lochside room with truly the most amazing view I've ever had in a B&B. The owners were away so we didn't quite get the full-on afternoon tea experience I read about in other reveiws but nevertheless we were beautifully looked after by the owner's sister, who was so kind and warm, and best of all very flexible in the service she offered as she changed her own plans to allow us to stay an extra night (one night is definately not long enough to explore this incredible area of Scotland). The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean, fresh and the beds were nice and comfortable ... and there's plenty for breakfast! The road to the B&B, while a single track, is easy to drive down and once you're there you will be greeted with a peaceful, beautiful and unique stay. I can stronly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Choose a lochside, upper floor room for stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amazing tranquil views of Loch Morar. We only stayed in this wonderful and modern B&B for two nights and wish we had booked a longer stay. I have never stayed at such a beautiful location in the UK before, we sat on the decking in the garden both nights until 10pm, only having to go to our room as the sun had set taking away the stunning view. The ever changing light means the loch water and the mountains behind were ever changing scenery which we watched in awe. The owners couldn't have been more helpful, even cranking up the outdoor fire so we could stay out longer (to be both warm and midge free!). Impressed also with the breakfast pancake stack!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stumbled by pure chance on to this amazing jewel, and decided to go in and see about a room. Catherine was so kind to show us upstairs to the only room she had available. It was beautiful - overlooked the Loch, and just perfect: clean and tidy and had a little teapot in the corner with tea and milk and biscuits to go with the tea, and coffee and sugar - everything one could need. But she invited us in to her kitchen for a proper cup of tea. Her breakfasts were so great, and once we had eaten breakfast we had no need of a meal until dinner! Catherine is such a nice person, and made us feel completely at home.We took the room for one night, but decided to jettison other plans and stay for an extra night. So comfy, so quiet and perfect! Thank you Catherine!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28970Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We arrived rather travel-weary and late (sorry Cathy!), to a warm welcome! Our room was lovely, crispy clean linen, well appointed and with a picture-book view. Breakfast was delicious, with a view onto the garden, just coming in full spring bloom. Catherine made us feel really at home, all the stresses fell away and we enjoyed the stunning scenery and walks along the loch. It was great being away from cities, pollution and masses of people! If we ever travel back to Scotland this is the place to go and spend more time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanzendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

As we drove along the shores of Loch Morar towards the peaceful rural hideaway that is Kismul, away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, things just got better and better. Michael and Catherine welcomed us into their home (with home-made cake, always good...) for 4 nights, with friendly hospitality, a spotless, comfortable, beautifully decorated loch-facing room and a delicious breakfast that kept us going all day. Breakfast was served in the dining room at the table with other guests, which made for a lively and social start to the day, and at the end of an active outdoorsy day the was a wonderfully relaxing bubble bath with plenty of hot water to soothe tired muscles. We felt most comfortable and welcome, and will definitely be back. It is a great part of the country to explore, whether on foot, in a kayak or on a bicycle. Thank you, Michael and Catherine, and see you again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdy_and_dassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is our second stay with Catherine and it truly is a home from home. You are welcomed with fresh home baked cakes/ scones and a refreshing cuppa. The rooms are wonderful, spotlessly clean and modern. A beautiful decked area to the side of the house overlooks loch Morar. Absolutely stunning. A very friendly and genuine welcome. Great food. Stunning views - great value for money. Ramon & Agnes

Room Tip: house is remote and a car is needed to access the house, that is the only reason I have said very go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramonagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Where do I start, from the stunning scenery to the amazing hospitality by the owners Catherine and Michael. We were recommded this B&B from others who had visited and we were not disappointed. The family room was immaculate, spacious and had everything we needed during our stay and the breakfast was superb - you definately do not go hungry here. The house has a deck where we could relax and have our afternoon tea which has amazing views over Loch Morar. Beautiful beaches and village nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kismul House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismul House

Address: Bracara | Morar, Morar, Mallaig, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Morar
Also Known As:
Kismul House Morar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing