We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside of Mallaig but absolutely worth staying there!”
Review of Glencairn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glencairn House
Ranked #2 of 10 Morar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very good B&B with the best lounge we've had so far. We were welcomed with a cup of tea and freshly baked scones. Perfect arrival. The owners were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and equipped with everything you need. At the evening you can sit in the lounge, watch TV, listen to music or only enjoy a glass whisky in front of the fireplace. There are several places for dinner in Mallaig which is a 10 minute drive away. The breakfast at the B&B was good (yummy selfmade marmalade). The B&B is very good but compared to the sense of wellbeing we had at other B&Bs, only 4 of 5 points. But this is only a subjective valuation. The B&B is absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausisnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 148 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have to say, staying @ Glencairn House was unforgettable experience.
Welcomed by freshly brewed tea and coffee. Showed clean and very nice rooms. Location is amazing with nice views and only 5 mins drive from the main road (We went for picnic to nearby white sand beach). Gary and his wife made us huge and tasty breakfast. I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miroslav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We've spent one week in Scotland and honestly I've to say that Glencairn House is, by far the best B and B we stayed in. The location is perfect to visit the sandy beaches, its tranquility amazing, great surroundings..... Gary is the most helpful and kind owner we've met. The breakfast was delicious as well as the cakes they ofered to us when we arrived. So, we absolutely recommend to spend some night here. If we come back to Scotland, no doubt we'll come back to Glencairn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pep j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

glencairn is a very nice place to stay. it is lovely situated, just 5 mins drive from main road (morar) easy to find along B8008 road, and 10 mins drive from arisaig beaches. 10 mins walk from camusdarach beach, built in a quiet location. the two rooms we occupied were large. my parents room was larger (ground floor) and had a little bit better facilities, whereas our room, upstairs had a large terrace - perfect for long summer evenings.
the breakfast area was superb - large living room with tv, books, selection of whisky and games. nicely decorated, live fire heating :) very nice atmosphere.
the lady offered us a care and coffee/tea on our arrival, even packed some to take away when we walked to the beach - gave advice on good seafood places in west coast.
great selection for breakfast, menu in at least 5 languages which helped my parents a lot :)

on the minus side: owners are smokers, and thou they don't smoke in the b&b area, the house smells of cigarettes. on the arrival we were greeted by a might barking of their (lovely after all) shepherd dog (sorry if wrong, not too good with pedigrees) lol

I would stay there again if in the area

Room Tip: the downstairs room is larger and has better facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ela106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed in the family room which had a lovely balcony with great views. Ruth and Gary were very welcoming and the breakfast was lovely. Dogs are very welcome too which was really nice, hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 314Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Glencairn House is the best ever. We could not fault it from the warm welcome to the wonderful food. Ruth and Gary are very friendly and the house is so comfortable. We had a lovely room on the ground floor. Everything was 5 star will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The accommodation surpassed our expectations. Immaculate decor. Huge, comfortable lounge area. Great bed. The location is stunning, even on a dreich March day. Breakfast was fabulous. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djdm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morar
1.1 mi away
Morar Hotel
Morar Hotel
#1 of 1 in Morar
155 reviews
3.4 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
615 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arisaig Hotel
Arisaig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Arisaig
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Old Library Lodge And Restaurant
3.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Mallaig
71 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn House

Address: Glencairn House Glencairn House Glencairn House, Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Mallaig > Morar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Morar
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A detached property set in 35 acres of land located on the Road To The Isles mid-way between Mallaig and Arisaig. Three en-suite rooms - one king-size double with private balcony, one standard twin/double/triple and one standard double room. A wide breakfast selection with traditional Scottish foods, local specialities or a lighter option. Dogs welcome and stay free. Free parking. Free high-speed Wi-fi access. Open 1st February to 30th November. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn House Morar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing