We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
228
71
15
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
71
15
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners scallop starter wester ross dining room bar menu warm welcome jacuzzi bath breakfast choices fine dining scottish gins fish pie great food overlooking the sea great stop excellent restaurant portion size comfortable lounge
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 328 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Lovely friendly hotel with good food in newly refurbished restaurant with friendly staff. Right on the beach with great views. We watched a magical sunset over the loch. Would recommend and new owners very keen to get it right

Room Tip: Room 10 has fabulous views
Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank PoppyLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We originally thought about staying in Ullapool but we are glad we changed our minds. The Aultbea Hotel was lovely and it’s in a quiet spot right on the water. The staff were terrific, the food was delicious, and our room was clean and spacious. We just wish we had planned to stay longer ... next time.

Try not to miss this place. We stayed in room 7 which had great water views. And say hi to the Aussie who works there (we think her name was Ann; sorry “Ann” if that’s wrong) - it was really bonza for us to hear a familiar accent!

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank PCtravel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Delightful hotel on NC500 route. Comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms. Excellent WIFI!! Views of loch were beautiful. Pub and restaurant on site were fabulous....the food was outstanding-highly recommend the lobster! Owners were very friendly and helpful. A hidden gem.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Simi072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

I am a local holiday accommodation owner and I and a friend decided to have lunch at the Aultbea. We looked at the website which says it is open at lunchtime 7 days a week and the menu looked very inviting.
On arrival we went through to the bar where we got a very disinterested greeting from the woman at the bar. We enquired about lunch and she said that only sandwiches and steakburgers were available. We were surprised and she gave the reason as the menu was being changed. We left..

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank jacky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

A family group of eight went for a booked evening meal . Most of the food was of a high quality - well cooked and beautifully presented . We had an extremely long wait between starters and main courses . Then three meals claiming to be chicken and vegetable pies had absolutely NO vegetables in them . We told the manager at the end of the meal of our dissatisfaction and he apologised immediately . He didn't charge for the three unsatisfactory meals and we considered he had done his utmost to make amends. We hope other managers facing genuine complaints anywhere else are as quick to rectify the situation.
Tree of us returned on another evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meals.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews