We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Taighali Apartment

house of the top floor apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
house of the top floor apartment
Kitchen in  Apartment sittingroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
house of the top floor apartment
Kitchen in  Apartment
sittingroom
Double bedroom in apartment
toilet and shower room
view from apartment
Stairway upto apartment
Gruinard Beach
kitchen and dining area
sittingroom
Aultbea village
Aul,tbea village in the winter
sun view from window
view from apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aultbea, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brunster1...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was was the first time doing a self catering of this type , and we weren't disappointed.
The apartment is spacious light and airy with windows facing all directions with amazing views,the apartment is well equipped and very comfortable (home from home) there is also a sandy beach 2 minutes away. There lots to do and see in the local area .
Thanks Alexander for a lovely stay up there. Thoroughly enjoyed it

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thank you for your review it was nice meeting you and hope you got home safely Alexander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian S
1 review
“Perfect situation”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very comfortable clean homely apartment. Perfect situation and Alexander very helpful. Would recommend this accommmodation

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you for your review, it was nice meeting you Alexander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelmad...
S.E. England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very comfortable accommodation (shame about the weather!)”
Reviewed June 20, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

As others have said, the apartment was very well equipped with everything needed as a 'home from home'.(I did not realise that a hairdryer was included so took my own, an unnecessary weight from my sparse airline luggage allowance!). Although the weather was dire, the countryside is beautiful, the birds were amazing (barn owl swooping overhead at night), location extremely peaceful. Our only niggle was a smell of 'dog' that persisted in the lounge area; pets are welcomed so we should have realised, but we found this slightly unpleasant. We would also suggest that a facility for drying wet cagoules would have been a bonus.Otherwise, we could not fault the Taighali Apartment and would recommend it to others..

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you for your review nice to have you stay Alexander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistlema...
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We spent last week here and had a thoroughly enjoyable time despite mediocre weather. Alexander’s directions were excellent and he was there to greet us and show us the features of the apartment. We were surprised by how spacious it is, especially the bedroom. With windows on all sides and plenty of light, the apartment is a very pleasant environment in which to relax. Although the weather was cool, it was warm in the apartment and we never felt the need to turn on the heating. There was always plenty of hot water and the shower was consistent. The kitchen is practical and adequately equipped, with plenty of workspace. Chairs rather than stools would have been appreciated at the dining table.

The WiFi worked well and was reasonably fast; the radio reception was surprisingly good, given the remote location; FreeView TV was fine though the television is unusually small by today’s standards; a 32” at least (with integral DVD player) would be more appropriate for the size of the lounge.

One of the attractions of the apartment is the lovely views from all windows and we spent some time looking out and bird-watching with binoculars. One evening we saw a barn owl flying slowly over the fields; it came very close to the house at one point and was visible for some minutes as it hunted. Also interesting was the way in which the hundreds of terns which nest and roost on the old jetty rose into the air en masse every so often for no apparent reason. Wheatears, wagtails, pipits and oystercatchers in the garden and nearby fields and black-throated divers, red-breasted mergansers and gannets on the loch, so plenty of interest for birders.

We did some short local walks; the area at the end of the track beyond the Aroma Café is interesting due to its rock formations and the remains of WW2 fortifications; we saw a seal not far from the shore there a number of times.

We had coffee at the Aroma Café but found it very expensive and dinner at the Aultbea Hotel; that too was expensive (especially the wine) but good, with friendly service. Nice visit to Inverewe Gardens (free admission with our National Trust cards) but the midges were a nuisance, as they were during a pleasant walk on the way-marked trails at Laide Wood!

Overall a great stay and we would certainly recommend the accommodation.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay i will think about a bigger TV glad you got home safely
Alexander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twillardo
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The booking process and communication with Alexander was 1st class, the apartment is set in a quiet rural area and was just what we were looking for, we found the drive to the apartment extremely relaxing due to the fantastic scenery.
We were met by the very pleasant Alexander upon our arrival, he let us into the apartment which is entered by the front door and up a flight of stairs to a landing, immediately to the right was the double bedroom where Alexander had kindly put in a single bed for our 10 year old son, there was a comfortable & very cost double bed with a double wardrobe and dressing table with plenty of storage space for clothes.
Across the hall is the nice, clean & bright shower & toilet, no bath but a roomy shower enclosure with a handbasin & toilet.
Leaving the toilet/shower room you take a right into the bright spacious open plan kitchen/dining & living room, the large and clean fitted kitchen area has an electric hob with a fan assisted oven, good sized fridge & freezer, there is lots of cupboard space along with cooking utensils, cutlery, dishware along with pots & pans, there is also a dining table that seats 4 if you fancy cooking in the apartment which we did on a few occasions.
Walking through the kitchen/dining area you are in the large living room, there are three windows offering fantastic views over Loch Ewe & the Torridon range which were absolutely breathtaking, there is gas central heating throughout the spartment for colder days & nights, Freeview TV & WiFi.
Our stay consisted of mainly hill walking due to the many and varied walks in the area, visiting the surrounding town's & villages, historical sites & sampling the local cuisine.
There are lots and varied places of interest to visit so it's a good idea to brush up on the local knowledge prior to visiting.
The Perfume Studio/Aroma cafe is a walkable distance (20 min) and the closest place for a drink or a bite to eat but has limited opening times, there is also the Aultbea Hotel which is a short drive (10 min) back to Aultbea serving fantastic food with two great hosts, I have left reviews for both these establishments on TripAdvisor.
One definite recommendation is whilst heading to the apartment watch out for the house on the left with a large iron work lady in the garden, slow down and look in the clear honest box for fresh eggs, leave £1.40 and help yourself to six of the best eggs you will taste.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2016
Thank you very much for your review it was nice meeting.
Alexander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraaD...
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We would highly recommend this apartment. It is very well appointed and very comfortable with all our needs met. The apartment was very clean and neat. The views from all the windows were spectacular, not to mention the glorious night skies. Very quiet area allowing for complete relaxation.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2018
Thank you for your review nice meeting you
Alexander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorfolkBi...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Taighali provided a well designed, spacious and warm refuge to return to at the end of the day. In addition to all the facilities that could possibly be needed, the views in all directions from the windows are stupendous, living landscapes. Good wi-fi connection too. Our stay was further enhanced by the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner, Alexander.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing