We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pauline and Phil are perfect host, Great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aultbea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Aultbea B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We were greeted as though we had been friends for years. Phil showed us our room and assisted with us getting settled. The evening meal was very good as was the breakfast. We have corresponded with Pauline and Phil since we returned home and received an anniversary card from them this week. We hope to visit them and their pet sea gull Sidney some time in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Tranquility Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tranquility for 3 nights in May and we would definitely stay again. It is just a beautiful location!! A lovely gem on the west coast. The room was bright and had great views and felt private even with other guests just across the hall. There were so many great things, but the best were certainly the hosts and the food. The hosts made us feel right at home--they let us use their maps and walk guides, gave us fresh milk for our tea (yah!) and even dried our clothes for us after we got soaked on a hike. They were just great!! And then breakfast was so delicious, as were the bagged lunches we ordered. The bread is grainy and fresh, and the yogurt is homemade. The only thing I would change is a softer bed--it was quite firm and maybe even a mattress topper would make it more comfortable. Thanks for our great visit, we hope to see you again in the future!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmeg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We've been on a 2 week roundtrip in Scotland had were very fortunate that we spent one of our nights at the Tranquility B&B. The Bonds are wonderfull hosts, very friendly, you feel at home and I simply have to mention that delicious lemon curd (thanx again for the recipe!!)

In my opinion - out of the several B&B we've stayed in, this was by far the best!! If I ever visit this part of Scotland again, I will most definitaly stay with the Bonds at their Tranquility!!!

Keep up the great work!

Tamara from Switzerland

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeloo5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

It's not often you find a b&b that has been so well thought about. Every need is catered for and the first bathroom we found that had somewhere to put everything!
The big bonus were the wonderful dinners - home cooking at its best and excellant value for money. The packed lunch lasted us all day.
Phil & Pauline were excellant but unassuming hosts.
If you're visiting Inverewe Gardens or heading north - we can thoroughly recommend.
Julia & Peter

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhowAmbleside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Phil and Pauline provided the very best experience of our tour of N. Scotland. We stayed 3 nights. The room was spacious and the views just beautiful. The evening meals where just delicious. The need to avoid wheat in sauces etc was no problem and Phil quickly baked some wheat free oatcakes. It is close to many excellent places, but especially Inverewe Gardens and Laide Forest - where we saw a pole cat!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

A warm and friendly B&B, with high quality service, comfortable rooms and stunning views across Loch Ewe.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelBeeDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

My husband and me we had a great time in B&B “Tranquility” which is on a wonderful location in Aultbea, Westerross.
The rooms are lovely with comfortable beds, great food and Pauline and Phil are quite wonderful hosts, they knew a lot about the area and treat you like family and you don’t want to leave.
You can visit Ullapool with the nice shops, Gairloch with his little harbour and when you are lucky you can see seals, in Aultbea there is a wonderful perfume studio with his shop.
We also have walked on the beach in Mellon Uldrigle and Gruinard Bay.
This is all in the neighbourhood of Aultbea.
We will come back to this place because it is worth going back again to this lovely B&B.

Gerard and Ans Hendriks, the Netherlands

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ansje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aultbea
2.0 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
269 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
336 reviews
11.8 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
213 reviews
10.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
158 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21, Mellon Charles, Aultbea IV22 2JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Aultbea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aultbea
Price Range: $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility by name and by nature. Home from home. All bedrooms have fantastic views over the mountains and loch. All are either en-suite or private facilities. Each bedroom also has its own TV, hairdryer, easy chairs, and tea and coffee making facilities. Evening meals available on request. We can't promise that the wind won't blow, or it won't rain, or both, but we can promise you a totally relaxed holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bed And Breakfast Aultbea, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing