We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome , wonderful homemade food and spectacular location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aultbea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquility Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Aultbea B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Warm welcome , wonderful homemade food and spectacular location.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two nights at Tranquility and loved every minute of our stay. The room was excellent value for money with amazing views of the loch. Phil and Pauline were extremely welcoming hosts, providing us with an impressive choice of homemade food as well as an extensive knowledge of the area with guide books available to borrow. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Screenbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
32
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I loved my time in Mellon Charles and at Tranquility so much from my visit 2010, I came back for a second round in 2012. Drove up from Edinburgh on a Sunday and had a great dinner awaiting me when I arrived. I stayed two nights, went to Lewis for two nights and stayed one more night at Tranquility. Pauline allowed me to keep some of my belongings in my room, since it hadnt been booked and graciously attended to some of my laundry on my third night.

Breakfast was immaculate, filling and fresh.

Mellon Charles makes a good home base to drive around the area and explore. Catch the sunsets down the road on the wooden bench atop a hill above the perfume shop. They cant be beat.

Will I be back again? You bet.

Tranquility is more than just the name, it's a way of life here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Coming to the Highlands of Scotland, especially to this corner called Wester Ross, is always an experience quite very much worth doing.
So is Tranquility.
Nowhere in this area You'll find an accommodation better than this one.
I know, it always depends on personal tastes, but as long as what You are looking for in your holiday is precisely what they say in their web site, then, You won't absolutely be disappointed.
I can definitely assure You.
This is the third time i stay in this b&b, and the air, the views, the feelings You get here are comparable to no other in this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaEagle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

the place is a credit to them both ive stayed here many times & always enjoyed it phil & pauline are very nice & friendly & the place is spotless the rooms 10 out of 10 for how clean they are kept ive stayed in lots of places over the years & this b&b is 1 of the cleanest ive stayed in the beds are very comfy the views are great & the breakfast is spot on

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dowdy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah and Peel Region, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were researching our family tree. Pauline was very helpful in providing any information that she could. She and Phil made us feel very welcome and at home. The view from our spacious bedroom looked right across Loch Ewe and the only sounds were those of seagulls and sheep. Breakfast was substantial and tasty with lots of homemade jams and spreads to go with the homemade bread and yoghurt. YUM! Highly recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful retreat. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Used to camp near the beach at Mellon Udrigle back in the seventies but, revisiting this time, looked for an equally stunning situation closeby and found it with Phil and Pauline - as perfect a location but with the added luxury of comfort, good food and straightforward friendly hosts (and no midges!). Can do no other than recommend Tranquility B&B as an ideal base from which to enjoy the wonder of Wester Ross - it's truly a winner!

Room Tip: View from upstairs are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Hadn't realised this was top rated B+B in the area as didn't check pre-booking (not like me!) but doesn't surprise me that it is. Stayed for 1 night while travelling north and wish it had been longer. You just don't usually get this level of service or comfort - especially not in Scotland. It felt more like I was staying with a relative.

Scrupulously clean and comfortable room. Even provided extra blankets and a dressing gown. Flat screen TV. Tea and coffee - but with fresh milk and home baking provided. Utterly quiet and peaceful and with views to die for right outside the window. Slept like the proverbial. And breakfast - home made oatcakes, home made jams, and a wide choice. I honestly felt like I used to years ago when I went home to mum and she just cossetted me. Will definitely stay again any time am in the area. These hosts are stars - and I thank them for a wonderful start to my holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aultbea
1.8 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
6.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
11.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
10.1 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bed and Breakfast

Property: Tranquility Bed and Breakfast
Address: 21, Mellon Charles, Aultbea IV22 2JN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Aultbea
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Aultbea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquility by name and by nature. Home from home. All bedrooms have fantastic views over the mountains and loch. All are either en-suite or private facilities. Each bedroom also has its own TV, hairdryer, easy chairs, and tea and coffee making facilities. Evening meals available on request. We can't promise that the wind won't blow, or it won't rain, or both, but we can promise you a totally relaxed holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bed And Breakfast Aultbea, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing