We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalwhinnie B&B and Inns
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We have just spent 3 nights at Balsporran, and despite the harsh weather ,we had a lovely time ,great B&B ,lovely hostsand amazing location.We heard and felt the trains go past, while being cosy in our well set up room.....We will return....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
26
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

It's out a bit in the middle of nothing, the closest wee town being Dalwhinnie, so one needs a reason to come here, like climbing a particular Munro. But the B&B is lovely, the owners are obliging, and all the rooms are en suite.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indigotima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I stay here for 2 nights and it was great. Ann and Phil were great hosts, we stayed up the first night chatting. We did some traveling the following day and the location was a great half way point to our desitnation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_J_travelers2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

I stayed here, probably the same night as the previous reviewer, with my young son and a family relative, who had stayed here before on a few occasions. It was on his recomendation that we stayed here, on our way up to Durness, and what a recomendation!

It is a snall (4 bedroom) B&B in an absolutley stunning location. The views out of the guest lounge (which is both ample and very comfortable) are breathtaking and the hosts are very lucky indeed to live here.

It is just off the A9, but far enough away so that traffic noise is not an issue. It is also very close to the railway line, in fact our bedroom was probably the closest one to it, and I agree with the previous reviewer, this just adds to the charm and character of the experience. My son was very excited everytime a train went by, which wasn't too often, and I think the last train was at 22.00 and the first one in the morning was 07.30 ish, so it wasn't intrusive at all.

We enjoyed our stay so much we stopped over on our way back from Durness. We were made to feel very welcome.

The food was great. They make a lovey venison (Stalkers) pie, and I enjoyed haggis on our return visit.

I enjoyed the stay so much I was prompted to write ths, my very first review on Trip Advisor, and I would not hestitate to recomend the Balsporran to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annBalsporranB_b, owner at Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 13, 2009
Thanks for your comments Shane. Hope to see you next time you're in Scotland. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

My husband and I only stopped one night but were absolutely delighted with the cottage and the scenery was spectacular. What on earth the last reviewer was on about I don't know.......yes it is near to a major road but not near enough for it to spoil your stay. The noise from the road was minute and when you were in the cottage you could hear absolutely nothing and yes it does shake a little when the train goes by but so what it just adds to the quirkyness of the place. We went on to stop in a 5* b and b after this which wasn't a patch on Balsporran. Rooms were lovely and the breakfast was just the ticket for somebody who was cycling 90 miles!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annBalsporranB_b, owner at Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
Thanks Vicki for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Balsporran Cottage is a nice place but unfortunately it is stuck between the main road (A1) to Perth (with lots of trucks) and the train tracks right next to it, just under its windows. The house actually shivers when the trains pass. Unfortunately, that information was not apparent neither on their website nor on that of the Scottish tourism board or in the accomodation guide.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotland099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

Set high up in pass near Dalwhinnie here you can enjoy quiet, a good breakfast, lunch and dinner if you like. Friendly hosts, good local walking, great guests lounge with a fire and excellent bedrooms too. They have an attic double which is very good value at £50, great view out the roof window.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdglance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalwhinnie
10.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
12.9 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
11.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
6.0 mi away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 6 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Balsporran Cottages Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing