We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Homely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalwhinnie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalwhinnie B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Homely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was so pleased with my choice. It took some searching for an overnight stop and I couldn't believe my luck in finding this gem of a B & B where you can also have a home cooked evening meal. My room was small but so, so comfortable and I slept really well. The lounge is a very pleasant room where you can sit by the fire to read or chat to other guests. The only problem I had with the little trains was that they passed too quickly for me to grab a camera and take a photo! I felt very much at home here as the owners were very kind and welcoming. I will definitely stay here again when I go up north and have passed the details on to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotiaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have passed this B&B several times on route south from Inverness and have always thought what a stunning location, within easy access of the A9 sitting within walking distance of several munros surrounded by heather moors.
I stayed for a night in April and was not disappointed ..... excellent hosts, comfortable bedroom and guest lounge with stunning views. My bedroom was classed as a single but the bed was 3/4 size and extremely comfortable. My cosy room offered a selection of books, as well as the usual tea and coffee I found mineral water and orange to dilute. I couldn't hear any traffic noise and only heard two trains passing one around 10.00pm and the next the following morning.The ensuite toilet and shower room was small but big enough for a single traveller, maybe not if a six foot male though!
The breakfast was delicious, I'm not a great sausage fan but I must admit the venison sausages were pretty tasty! Although I did not have an evening meal I studied the menu and it looked quite impressive. Just wish I could have stayed longer .....mental note made .... next time bring my husband , arrive a little earlier and enjoy an evening meal there too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathRaymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Second time I've stayed here when doing grouse pointing at Drumochter and as it's smack bang next to the estate, you couldn't get a better location. This time I had my husband as well as our two GSPs in tow. It's a lovely, comfortable house right next to the railway track which adds to the charm. Ann and Phil are really easy going and didn't mind the dogs having a good sniff around (including at the bird cage....). They had a roaring log fire going in the guest lounge which was super and they have Wifi so you can check emails etc. We had dinner which was generous portions and very tasty, It's BYO for any booze. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here yet again ! It's a great location ,love being so near railway line .What fantastic views too .Great hosts as ever ....we will be back .....Good value .Cosy bedrooms ,we've stayed in them all I think ...Relaxing time ,tasty breakfast .I cannot say anything negative at all ...

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lisenicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I based myself here for eight days to walk the hills and try some off-road biking. Hosts Phil and Ann are keen cyclists and can give lots of useful tips. The B&B is right up against the main railway line with its own footpath level crossing leading straight out to four Munros - but you're never disturbed by the few trains that pass, nor by the busy A9. Balsporran is about a close as you can get to the centre of Scotland, so it's not far to drive round to Lochaber and Fort William, up to Aviemore and the Cairngorm summits, down to Pitlochry and the Perthshire hills, or the Monadhliath Mountains. The B&B is very comfortable, quiet, and well equipped with a guests' lounge and good rooms. Stay here!

Room Tip: Four rooms - all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As you travel along the A9 through the Drumochter Pass, you can see a small, isolated row of cottages from a long way back, set against the beautiful backdrop of the Scottish landscape. Its position on the A9 means that it is very accessible, unless the road is blocked during heavy snowfall.

Please be warned that if you are using a sat-nav, their postal code will not show you where the B&B is since it is shared with the village itself. The B&B itself is a few miles south of the village of Dalwhinnie Village and is on the A9 road and therefore a car is essential. Rail travellers note that Dalwhinnie station is a very long way from the B&B.

Run by a very attentive and dedicated English couple, we were made to feel at home from the very start. The guest lounge was very cosy with a wood burning stove to warm up next to. At the top of the grand staircase, is the room which was en-suite. The bed was comfortable and we had a great night's sleep there and what a view to wake up to. The bathroom was rather small and unheated, but that is about all the criticism I could give.

Breakfast was exactly what a good cooked breakfast should be. Tasty, satisfying and filling. The dining area is tastefully decorated and that fabulous view of the Drumochter Pass can be enjoyed as you eat your food and the wild chaffinches eat their breakfast from the bird-feeders outside. Being so remote, it is a long way to any restaurants and evening meals are offered. There are a few choices, including the traditional haggis from their "local" butcher about 15 miles away. The evening meals were delicious and warming and I would recommend it so long as you can get back to the B&B by 7pm.

A lot of effort goes into running this facility, especially when it is necessary to get supplies in for the meals since the place is so remote. It isn't possible to just pop around the corner just because there aren't enough eggs. The hosts, Ann and Phil, are very friendly and a great source of advice for places to visit nearby. With today's high tech devices, it is a nice touch that WiFi is available which helped me greatly with planning the day ahead using an iPad.

So long as you have a car, this B&B is definitely a great place, perhaps with the best possible views you could ever wish to wake up to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A creative conversion of 3 cottages filled with interesting artifacts.Gracious hosts a comfortable living room to share with warming fire. Great hiking right out of the front door. What more could one ask for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalwhinnie
12.9 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Glen Hotel
The Glen Hotel
#2 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
11.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#4 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Coig Na Shee
Coig Na Shee
#3 of 15 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#9 of 15 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 stars 6 reviews
6.0 mi away
Highland Holiday Cottages
Highland Holiday Cottages
#1 of 7 in Newtonmore
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing