We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great views and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Dalwhinnie B&B and Inns
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As you travel along the A9 through the Drumochter Pass, you can see a small, isolated row of cottages from a long way back, set against the beautiful backdrop of the Scottish landscape. Its position on the A9 means that it is very accessible, unless the road is blocked during heavy snowfall.

Please be warned that if you are using a sat-nav, their postal code will not show you where the B&B is since it is shared with the village itself. The B&B itself is a few miles south of the village of Dalwhinnie Village and is on the A9 road and therefore a car is essential. Rail travellers note that Dalwhinnie station is a very long way from the B&B.

Run by a very attentive and dedicated English couple, we were made to feel at home from the very start. The guest lounge was very cosy with a wood burning stove to warm up next to. At the top of the grand staircase, is the room which was en-suite. The bed was comfortable and we had a great night's sleep there and what a view to wake up to. The bathroom was rather small and unheated, but that is about all the criticism I could give.

Breakfast was exactly what a good cooked breakfast should be. Tasty, satisfying and filling. The dining area is tastefully decorated and that fabulous view of the Drumochter Pass can be enjoyed as you eat your food and the wild chaffinches eat their breakfast from the bird-feeders outside. Being so remote, it is a long way to any restaurants and evening meals are offered. There are a few choices, including the traditional haggis from their "local" butcher about 15 miles away. The evening meals were delicious and warming and I would recommend it so long as you can get back to the B&B by 7pm.

A lot of effort goes into running this facility, especially when it is necessary to get supplies in for the meals since the place is so remote. It isn't possible to just pop around the corner just because there aren't enough eggs. The hosts, Ann and Phil, are very friendly and a great source of advice for places to visit nearby. With today's high tech devices, it is a nice touch that WiFi is available which helped me greatly with planning the day ahead using an iPad.

So long as you have a car, this B&B is definitely a great place, perhaps with the best possible views you could ever wish to wake up to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
25
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A creative conversion of 3 cottages filled with interesting artifacts.Gracious hosts a comfortable living room to share with warming fire. Great hiking right out of the front door. What more could one ask for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Balsporran became our point of reference for all the other B&Bs we stayed at during our one month adventure in the Highlands and the Islands. Lying in splendid isolation between beautiful heather clad hills, a tinkling stream sparkling its way to the river just outside, this 18th century converted soldiers lodgings felt like home away from home. We slept in beds hand crafted by our host, sat in a lovely and very personally decorated sitting room where a fire was lit for our pleasure, ate in the cozy kitchen with our hosts working together to make us delicious breakfasts (with home made jams) or dinners. We walked in the purple hills and simply thrived. Don´t miss a tour of the Dalwhinnie distillery just a few miles down the road. It added its touch to the lovely magic of our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shalougus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Arrived in the afternoon, for a weekend stopover on our way to the islands. Our room was very comfortable and had a fantastic view.
Ann and Phil made us very welcome,Ann was a good help in suggesting a walk up the hills suitable for our abilities.
We had breakfast and dinner both days, good choice of menu, very well cooked.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had a very warm welcome from Phil and Ann when we stayed after a day in the hills. We turned up about 5.30pm and were shown to our room. They have evening & breakfast menus in the rooms and we needed to get our evening order in by 6pm so we quickly selected our choices before washing up and recovering. The room had Sky tv and a very comfortable bed. We went down for our evening meal which meant sitting at a kitchen table with the other guests which was nice and meant we all got talking about our days. Good food - home made chips to die for! Starters, mains and dessert. All really good and filling.
After a very good nights sleep we were looking forward to breakfast which didn't disappoint. Even the fry up looked healthy! A great start to the day and didn't feel rushed out. A lovely converted cottage. Would definitely stay again as it's a great location for several hill walks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buielass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Superb setting right next to very long cycle path. Hill walking on your door step. Very nice owners who cook an excellent breakfast. They can also cook dinner although we chose to drive into Newtonmore. Tasteful decor inside and comfortable room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deenadavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed with 2 friends while on hill walking expedition in the area. Owners are very welcoming and totally unfazed by muddy boots and wet gear. They have a drying room (very important for walkers) Rooms are cosy - in fact a wee bit too warm - we had to open the window. Nice decor. Kitchen, where we ate is warm and comfortable. Evening meals can be provided and the choice is far more extensive than other remote B&Bs I have stayed in. There is also a large sitting room to relax in after dinner. It is fun to hear and watch the occasional train passing and we were not really aware of the traffic on the A9 (the train line is closer than the A9) Breakfast was excellent with a good choice - you choose the previous evening. All in all could not have done better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz49Elgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalwhinnie
12.6 mi away
The Scot House Hotel and Restaurant
12.9 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingussie
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
15.8 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 21 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 1,246 reviews
11.0 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#1 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tigh an Each
Tigh an Each
#9 of 16 in Newtonmore
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Balsporran Cottages Drumochter Pass, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Dalwhinnie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dalwhinnie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely cottage, in the heart of the Drumochter Hills, has very comfortable rooms, tastefully decorated, with splendid views of valley and mountainsides. It’s an ideal base for discovering the delights of this beautiful region. Experience high energy sports, ramble in the countryside enjoying the extensive wildlife, get to know its distinctive cuisine or simply chill out over a glass of wine and drink in the stunning views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Balsporran Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing