We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Mey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here in Sept 2012. Teresa was very helpful with practical advice on things to do and places to go in this area in and around John o'Groats. Its a beautiful B&B with generous sized rooms and ensuites. There is plenty of off street parking. The breakfasts were delicious. I cant add anything to what has already been written about this B&B just know its all true.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pushkin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 177 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

So much thought and detail has been put into the running of The Hawthorns. The welcome we received, the comfort, cleanliness and delicious food are all very much appreciated. We would recommend this pleasant house with its lovely views of Dunnet Head to anyone visiting this area.

Room Tip: Room with view of Dunnet Head
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetHarrisAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Teresa and her husband. We only spent 2 nights but would have loved to have stayed longer. We could not fault it and will be telling all our friends who want to visit the Castle of Mey or Jon O'Groats .
Lovely rooms with everything you could possible need, delicious breakfast, easy parking and great views from all the rooms. Such a shame that on our trip round Scotland we did not find another one as good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hawthorns with Teresa for four nights. Everything was perfect, breakfasts, our room and facilities, very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom with little extras, free wi-fi, mini fridge with jug of milk, homemade shortbreads everyday with the tea tray, jar of teabags and jar of coffee plus choice of other drinks on the tray. The view from our room was beautiful. Isla, Meg and Whisky ( the dogs), greeted us each day. Whisky was our little favourite. In the bedroom was also a choice of watching tv or dvd, and a large selection of books and magazines to read. If we get the chance to visit near Thurso again we will definitely stay at Hawthorns, we miss you already Teresa!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A warm welcome awaits you at The Hawthorns B&B. Beautifully furnished and decorated and the most comfortable bed I think I've ever slept on. Teresa's hospitality is second to non, an excellent choice for breakfast, fruit juice, cereals, yoghurt and fruit followed by continental breakfast or a large choice of cooked options which are all delicious and plentiful.
My room was lovely, tv dv player, tea and coffee facilities and a mini fridge. Home made short bread and fresh milk replaced each day. The room, bed linen and en suite wc and shower was absolutely spotless. I couldnt recommend this b&b enough, superb!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flashmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had high expectations having read the awesome reviews on The Hawthorns, and certainly was not disappointed! We received a warm welcome and were shown around the house and facilities. There is a guest lounge room which is large and comfortable with a good selection of DVD’s to borrow, although we didn’t need to use this as we were out for the evening.
The house, room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and the room was huge. Every attention to detail had been taken care of from the home made shortbread in the room was a really nice touch (and delicious!). There is even a mini fridge in the room for fresh milk.
There were extra bathroom supplies/toiletries which could get you out of any emergency should you need it. Even the shower had been set at the correct temperature which saved the cold blast of an unknown electric shower being used for the first time.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!
Breakfast was unsurprisingly delicious and so nice to have the alternative selection of lighter options from a traditional fried breakfast which gets a bit much when travelling.
I would thoroughly recommend The Hawthorns for anyone needing a place to stay in the far north.
Just a note of warning if you need to eat in Thurso – do not go to La Bistro – worst service ever, but I will be reviewing this separately. Just don’t want anyone else to experience the same disappointment!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed in the Hawthorns as part of our two week road trip around Scotland and would rate this as one of the best B&B's we boooked. Theresa and Andy were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and the food excellent, all the little personal touches made our stay very special. We would definately return and recomend The Hawthorns to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mey
320.4 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
276 reviews
4.6 mi away
Northern Sands Hotel
Northern Sands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunnet
51 reviews
16.1 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Castletown Hotel
The Castletown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletown
230 reviews
5.5 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#3 of 6 in John O'Groats
310 reviews
5.5 mi away
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
Natural Retreats John O'Groats
#1 of 3 in John O'Groats
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hawthorns Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hawthorns A836 | Mey, Mey KW14 8XH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Mey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mey
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a spacious and comfortable B & B located right on the NC500 route within easy reach of the Orkney ferries and all the wonderful scenery and attractions that Caithness has to offer. Enjoy a tasty breakfast before you set off on the rest of your journey, or stay a few days and really take in all of what this amazing part of Scotland has to offer. Well behaved dogs are welcome for a small fee. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing