We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strathblane Falconry

Strathblane Falconry
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a half day gift voucher for Strathblane Falconry. Graeme was very knowledgeable and took time to answer all our questions and shared his enthusiasm for the really amazing birds under his care. We learned so much about birds and had a fantastic time getting the chance to fly a kestrel, eagle owl and a Harris Hawk. It was such great escape for a few hours and we couldn't have enjoyed it more.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank itsiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    2
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“An awesome time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A very worthwhile experience. Graeme was very knowledgeable and entertaining. He was also fantastic with kids who he kept involved....when they were paying attention. Would recommend this as an opportunity for a great family day out

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 860James_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Perfect Gift”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We just spent over 5 hours with a short break for a delicious lunch of soup and sandwiches at Strathblane Falconry and the time just 'flew' by. What an interesting, informative and friendly day we had. This Christmas gift from our son was not something we would have perhaps chosen for ourselves but it turned out to be a fantastic experience. We would thoroughly recommend it to all age groups. Graeme is so knowledgeable: his enthusiasm is infectious, opening a new world of birds to all. He is so passionate about his beautiful birds that you can't help but be excited and interested in all aspects of falconry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnneMac510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An excellent present”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

A unique experience, whilst I love all animals, birds had never been top of the list so my knowledge was limited, probably a benefit as it allowed Graeme to give me the full works. He is clearly very knowledgeable and cares greatly for his birds. Some of the birds I had seen before and even flown a Harris Hawk but only a limited amount. It was great to fly a variety of birds, most particularly a tawny owl, a bird known to most British country folk like myself but virtually never seen let alone to have one sit on your arm. These birds are both very delicate creatures and highly skilled predators so if you can take nature in the raw this is an experience well worth having. Thanks to those who gave it to me.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be careful.....this experience could be addictive!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I spent a very packed (though too short!) time at Strathblane Falconry last weekend. My fault as I hadn't booked till late in the week. The venue is in the countryside and beside a hotel where you can also have a nice snack before you go out to the falconry.The birds are kept in great condition, but they are NOT for petting, as they aren't pets. But that doesn't matter at all, because the wonder of being so close to a true predator, intelligent and free and independent, is a REAL joy... Just to see those greay wings and tose bright eyes coming towards you at a fast speed is superb. Graeme is a mine of information and is very helpful in answering all the questions you might have. It is a pastime not to be taken lightly as a hobby though, as the birds have to be closely monitored for weight, condition etc, and of course you would need legal access to a place to fly any bird you keep, should you decide to take up this ancient sport. It's an experience you will probably want to repeat...I know that IDO !! It is JUST GREAT!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomadGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strathblane Falconry also viewed

Milngavie, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Strathblane, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Strathblane Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing