We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Killearn

“Lovely lunch in cost atmosphere ”

The Old Mill Killearn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Killearn
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Old Mill in Killearn, formerly a weaving mill and now a characterful pub and restaurant within this charming 18th Century steading, complete with open fires, rustic touches and cosy snug. Our beer garden, with childrens play area, offers a very relaxed alfresco dining option for both lunch and dinner, which is always a winner when the sun is shining. During more typical Scottish weather you can warm up by the open fire with a wee dram. Our menu offers the best of local Scottish produce, responsibly sourced, lovingly prepared and skillfully presented.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great meal, lovely salmon sharing board. My main was the cheese soufflé and my husband had the venison stew with dumplings. Very high standard. Dalphionise potatoes, parsnip puree and other crunchy veg. A bit too much butter on the veg but thats a personal preference. My children enjoyed their meals too.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank KirstyCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 427 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Delicious gastro-pub food and excellent vegetarian and vegan menu. Lovely cosy country pub with a classy feel to it. Staff are lovely and very hardworking, could probably do with an extra staff member to ease the work load. Would recommend booking as it is always busy

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank TheFireyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Pre booked a table at this busy local gastro pub. Glad we did as the restaurant was busy, as was the bar. Great service and a wide range of offerings including veggie and vegan variants. Service was just at the right pace and the food was really. Always happy to support local businesses and it was good to see the ongoing interior works are now almost complete.

Would I come back: Yes most definitely.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank RegularTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2019 via mobile

We came here after a training day and were well looked after from start to finish. Ross was friendly and welcoming when we arrived and offered us the option of either eating in the bar or the restaurant. We chose the bar as there was such a nice atmosphere with the open fire making it super cosy. We chose the sharing platters to start with an additional Cullen skink which Jonty thought was the best he'd ever had. The main courses were fabulous with the rib of beef being the winner although the vegetarian Wellington turned out to be a very close seconded. Additional chips and onion rings were definitely just being greedy but we polished off the lot, delicious. We all had different sweets but The Old Mill Mess was the winner of that round.
Thanks again to Alice and Mark for making our visit so good, truly one of the best pub/restaurants we've visited.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2019 via mobile

We were staying close by and we’re recommended this pub by our hosts. I’m delighted to say it did not disappoint.

We arrived to a series of locals at the bar who along with the barman were friendly and welcoming to us and our child. We were the only people with a child but they were accommodating, kind and I have to report the food was excellent

Really impressed with the venison stew and also the steak. Mussels also were very good

All in all an excellent and family friendly experience!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Mill Killearn also viewed

Killearn, Stirlingshire
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire
 
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Drymen, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to The Old Mill Killearn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing