We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Reviewed August 31, 2009

we have just had a weekend ,in chester ,came across woodhey ,it was perfect,food excellent,rooms great size,swimming pool and steam room,also drinks free 6pm to 11pm ,plus bar open 24hrs what else does a person want,staff was lovely,a credit to the company

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 901 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

Just got home from the worst hotel break ever. Arrived about 6pm Fri tthought we had got the wrong hotel (wonder which hotel they used for the pictures) it certainly didn't match up to website pics. Two members of staff on duty thought they must have been new as they didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing waiting about ten minutes whilst they tried to find our booking, eventually found it after blaming a new computer system we were allocated a room on the ground floor directed to the room along the corridor which looked okayish till you got further and further down the corridor, the carpets were absolutely disgusting, filthy paintwork all peeling wallpaper left a lot to be desired. Got to room which backed onto a grotty yard, room smelt horrible fusty mouldy smell window rotten, wallpaper hanging off walls and mould in bathroom cupboard. Back to reception requested a different room had no problem changing room receptionist explained that all twin rooms were in the process of being upgraded. We were then given a room on first floor, considerably better however still grotty, paintwork and paper peeling off walls. Wardrobe door hanging off, Bathroom filthy more a case of wiping your feet as you leave the room not on entering it. However bedding was clean towels two were white the others grey. Had already paid so had no option but to make the best of things.

Booked for dinner at 7.30 met by a friendly waitress who took our order requesting what we would like for all 3 courses when we questioned this she told us that we needed to order dessert incase they ran out!!

Couldn't fault the food it was enjoyable just felt very rushed as each course was served one ofter the other with no chance to rest between courses.
Second night a friend was served a glass of red wine only to find a fly floating in the glass and when she requested that the barmaid replace the drink she was looked at with disdain and was given another drink that was all but shoved across the bar at her with no word of apology. (We found the barmaid very rude)
Pool was nice and warm pity about the changing rooms guests were expected to shower before entering the pool - not a chance they were filthy!!!!!!

There is obviously a lot of work to be done at this hotel not to mention training the staff how to treat guests and what the word polite actually means.
Spoke to a number of other guests who felt as we did.

Have stayed in far far superior hotels for the same price and less, can't ever see it being a thriving business unless it undergoes major changes throughout.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millymolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

sorry for my english!!!!!
I love this hotel. it is very cozy. the staff is super friendly, service and good customer care
I enjoyed the meal
l'hotel est tres propre
the sun was with us ..... what chance
close to the train station we could easily go to Chester and Liverpool
the bar is very friendly
I will return


PS:is that the English drive on the left side and I was impressed by the pub and the pints of beer hihihi

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamanrenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Hotel very friendly, very nice.
The room we stayed in had new beds and was basic but nice.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
There are obviously changes happening since take over, but will take time.
Booked as a group but nothing seemed too much trouble as long as we asked.
Will without doubt stay again if only because of the food and staff.
First class!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Evening meal was digusting and made to feel like staying in a care home sitting on long tables for the meal. Breakfast was alot better and quite enjoyable.The cutlery that was not used was taken from the tables and put back to set the tables again next time it should have been washed again before use . The bedrooms not as shown on the internet very dated and very disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polytel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed here on an all inc. deal through hotel shop £79 per night!! What a bargain. Hotel and room very clean.All inc drinks from 6pm - 11pm inc house wines soft drinks and draft beer. Red and Rose wine good but i'd give the white wine a miss.
However the best thing about this hotel is the food- it was amazing. Staff lovely.
Plenty to do around here Chesshire Oaks factory outlet is 10 mins away if you like shopping. Didn't get to see the pool but it has one. We arrived late on Friday at 9.00 and Resturant provided all meals requested. If you get a good deal then I would reccomend this hotel. However if you are looking for a plush 4/5 * then this is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I found a half-term holiday deal here for 2 adults and 2 children for just 224 DB&B for 3 nights, although just my mother and I visited. In fact a packed lunch was also included but we didn't take this.
The room we were given was a decent sized twin with disabled facilities as requested for my mother - this usually means a large bathroom, and this was the case here too.
The room was clean and tidy with thick fluffy white bed linen and the most comfortable beds. We both commented on how well we slept on them. There was TV in the room, the picture wasn't the best but was perfectly watchable, although we only the 4 main channels, plus pay tv for films was available though we didn't use this. Limited wardrobe space, but plenty for a couple of people on a short break. The room felt spacious and there was plenty of dressing table space and a kettle and complimentary tea and coffee which was replenished daily. There was shampoo/body wash provided in the shower too.
The inclusive dinner was up to a total of 19.95 off the menu. The food was amazing! I cannot speak highly enough of the waitress service and the quality of the food. I have paid substantially more in posh restaurants for food of far inferior quality! Between us we had wild boar sausages with sweet potato mash, rainbow trout, beer battered cod and home-made chips, pork florantine. The trout and pork were so good we ordered them more than once. Also on offer were gammon steak, pot roasted rib of beef, baked aubergine and burgers and steaks. Having looked at other people's meals it all appeared to be plentiful and looked delicious. One minor comment - there was a very limited vegetarian offering. The starters and desserts were equally as good, and the drinks very reasonably priced considering the hotel has a captive-audience!
Full English breakfast was great each morning, with cereal, toast and cold meats, yogurt and fresh fruit for those with lighter appetites!
The decor in the hotel restaurant was modern and fresh but the other communal areas could do with a bit of a revamp. Having said that the whole hotel was very welcoming, great friendly staff and far better than I would have expected for the price we paid.
It is superbly situated for site-seeing, but a car is needed as it is off a main road but pretty much in the middle of nowhere. Just 10 minutes to Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks outlet village and maybe a max of 20 minutes into Chester city. It was a great base for our 3 day break but for just a night it would be better to be based in the city-centre.
The hotel was amazingly quiet the whole time, especially considering it's school half term, and we can only attribute this to the credit crunch. There is no doubt we would visit again for a similar break.
We didn't try the pool, but I caught sight of it on the reception desk's CCTV and it certainly looked good.
Nothing negative to say about this hotel and on reading other people's reviews I wonder whether they were staying in the same place!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
412 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
22.9 mi away
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
283 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
Travelodge Cheshire Oaks
#2 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
492 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range: $72 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing