We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Doncaster
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on Nov. 4th/5th 2012 and felt that the deal inc. all meals and free drinks between 7 and 11pm was excellent value. All the staff were both friendly and helpful. It was very quiet when we were there but apparently had been crowded over half-term.
Only problem was the swimming pool heating was defective and I for one didn't fancy a cold dip - but my wife did!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doncasterover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I would very much like to thank you for your kind comments in relation to your visit to the Mercure Chester North. We are very proud of our hotel and passionately aim offer a fantastic experience for all our guests, and it is very rewarding when guests pass on their feedback which indicates that our efforts are being appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    323
    184
    73
    54
See reviews for
142
439
21
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice hotel and staff very freindly which always help. Food at breakfast was average nothing too different but enjoyable. the Hotel was within easy distance to travel to various locations, Having an indoor pool was a bonus , but could have been warmer, the gym seemed very popular with guests and members.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabbottatcheasterzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
May I take the opportunity of thanking you for your comments in relation to your stay with us here at the Mercure Chester North Hotel. It is always very pleasing to receive positive feedback and your comments will be passed on to the team here at the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming back again in the near future.

Regards

Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pleasant and friendly welcome and a very good room, if rather hot at night, but window could open. Very disappointed with the food at dinner on the first night. My lamb dish was over cooked and all i could taste was cinnamon, my wife's was beef and must of come from a very old cow. Most of it returned later. Pudding wasn't much better. However it is well situated for visiting Chester, a lovely city. Food on second night slightly better but again wife left her duck which was like leather. It is a shame as everything else including breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springer187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. Having read your comments I can imagine your disappointment and I would therefore like to apologise for the poor quality of food in our restaurant. I have discussed your feedback with our Chef and as a result we have taken the necessary steps to ensure that similiar issues will not be repeated in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback and I sincerely hope you will give us another chance in the future, so we can restore your faith in our hotel and in the compnay as a whole

Kind regards

Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

me and my partner stopped here for 2 night break and found it to be a very nice place to stop the staff where very happy and friendly.
i will stop here again keep up the good work it was very clean the meals in the hotel where very good, close to chester and easy to get to park and ride
kevin

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay here at the Mercure Chester North. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Kind regards

Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and in general the hotel was clean and modern if still a little tired in places. That said we had our fair share of issues which were addressed by both the night porter/reception staff and ultimately the manager and eventually resolved, 2 room moves later and on our lastnight.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
I would like to take this opportunity to personally apologise that your stay here at the Mercure Chester North fell short of your expectations. Your feedback assists us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide ourselves on.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future

Kind regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having driven from the ferry port at Holyhead, I arrived @ 02:10am and waited at reception, was then greeted by a lovely mannered young man who processed my reservation very quickly and with a minimum of fuss. The room was well laid out, bed very comfortable, but was a narrow double. Great shower, however, the bathroom could do with updating. Wifi very easy to connect to and great speed. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room are good and if required fresh milk is available from reception, should UHT not be to one's liking. Breakfast was just fair enough, only packet 'sliced pan' bread available, no fresh fruit apart from whole pears, apples etc.... All staff apart from the chamber maid and the guy who appeared to be the manager or possibly the owner were very nice and spoke. Manager/Owner - learn from your reception and breakfast staff!!! All in all one could not complain as one had stayed for £38.40 on an offer from Accor Hotels. Would it be worth more? Up to £50 including breakfast. Worth noting that Premier Inn were demanding £79 + breakfast fro the same night. Perhaps the manager/owner might consider staying at another Mercure Hotel: 'Mercure Hotel Berlin City West' to experience the best Mercure Hotel that I have ever stayed at. (see review from September 2012) Large free car park is great - 7 miles from Cheshire Oaks factory outlet centre with lots and lots of branded shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of the Mercure Chester North for our future guests; I was delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience.

I have already passed on to the team your very kind comments about being attentive and providing great, friendly service because this is what we aim to provide for all of our guests.

Regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Got a great deal on travelzoo,stayed two nights with evening meals and all inclusive drinks from 7pm till 11pm.The hotel is a great base for visiting local attractions we visited Chester and was advised to use the park and ride at Chester Zoo to save on parking in Chester.
The hotel is clean and modern,we had a large double room think we were upgraded as part of the deal.The view from the window was great "a bush" had to keep the light on as it made the room so dark.Could not fault the cleanliness of the room,bed was massive and comfortable.The food in the hotel was great,breakfast and evening meals.The bar prices were expensive glad we had all inclusive.The service in the bar in the afternoon was non exsistent,had to keep going to reception to ask for service,which was a real pain sometimes had to ask twice.It seemed the lady who worked the leisure facilities did everything she was a real star,did not once let it get her down.Some of the bar staff in the evening looked like they wanted to be anywhere but there and it really showed,not good for customer service.Other staff were great and could not do enough for you.Would reccommend this to others,We did enjoy the break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-woodhey, General Manager at Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and on behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Mercure Chester North, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Regards
Paul Wadsworth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Sutton
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
0.5 mi away
Brook Meadow Hotel
Brook Meadow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
5.1 mi away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thornton) Hotel
Premier Inn Wirral (Childer Thor...
#1 of 2 in Childer Thornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
8.4 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel
Address: Berwick Road West, Little Sutton, Ellesmere Port CH66 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Ellesmere Port > Little Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Little Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is situated in quiet rural surroundings, yet is only minutes from Junction 5 of the M53 and the major motorway network. Located halfway between Chester and Liverpool (with North Wales a couple of miles down the road), the Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel is an ideal base for both business and leisure. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Freeview Channels, Internet access, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhey Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing