We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveler rating
145
75
65
55
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
145
75
65
55
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house afternoon tea murder mystery glass of prosecco wedding planner lovely spa cream and jam lovely setting extensive grounds mr mrs summer ball finger sandwiches ground floor grange building birthday party wedding breakfast from start to finish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 372 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2019

Well what can I say...my experience seems to be the same as other people who have left negative
reviews.. Warbrook House has not made any changes with regards to any issues raised in these reviews..
The good points...Sandwiches and scones were lovely although when we asked for a few more sandwiches we had to pay for extra..you get four finger sandwiches per person..
The room we had afternoon tea in was lovely overlooking the beautiful grounds.
The Bad Points...The Staff were no where to be seen once they had bought over the initial sandwiches and cakes..
Plates weren’t cleared away and when we asked for Peppermint tea after our food we weren’t offered any fresh cups..
No forks are on the table for the cakes and no sugar for tea and coffee..
Although you could ask for them if you could find any staff..
Warbrook house..your staff need more training ! And maybe offer refills of sandwiches at no extra charge as do other places locally serving afternoon tea..
Lovely setting let down by inexperienced staff...

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Mejack2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarbrookGM, General Manager at Warbrook House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
I am pleased you enjoyed the food, which is all made in house and vastly changed since I too over this hotel.
We will discuss your feedback regarding the service with our operations manager to ensure all staff are trained to deliver the expected service and to create a consistent service throughout.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

We visited for our friend's 40th birthday. Other reviewers have described their visit as disjointed and puzzling at times, and I would have to agree.
Pros:
Spa treatments were lovely - very good full body massage.
Spa itself is nicely decorated and lots of chill out spaces, furry throws etc.
Gin and bubbles bar is great - wide selection of gins and tonics, reasonably priced.
Great hot tubs although some people may find them quite hard to get in and out of.
Delicious food in the Canal View restaurant - both dinner and breakfast.
Lovely main building and beautiful grounds with lots of potential.

Cons:
We were staying in The Grange annexe, which is basically a conference centre. This in itself is not an issue, but our rooms were not ready until 6pm (despite checkin being 3pm). The maids in the building were pretty rude and unhelpful. Dirty crockery, glasses etc from the previous occupants were strewn along the corridor. Later in the evening they were all dumped at the end of the corridor.
The rooms in the annexe are tired and in need of an overhaul - there was a horrible stain of something on our curtains, and our friend's room's curtains were ripped and coming down off the pole.
The service at dinner was nothing short of dreadful. The restaurant manager was tearing her hair out, saying that there was a private function on as well but extra restaurant staff had not been brought in. We had dinner booked for 7.30. Cocktails took nearly half an hour to arrive, starters a good 45 minutes after we sat down. Everything was done on an ad hoc basis - had to flag someone down to order wine, and when it arrived - more than an hour after it was ordered, it was the wrong wine. Mains arrived perhaps 2 hours after we had sat down. There is absolutely no excuse for this. We obviously complained, and the manager was very apologetic - we ended up not having to pay for cocktails and wine, and we had a complimentary bottle of prosecco too.
Quite a large proportion of the hotel grounds could do with an overhaul - lots of areas that are overgrown with weeds. Lots of small things need attention e.g don't just dump the cardboard boxes from the spa furniture against a wall and half cover them with tarp, actually get rid of them.

Warbrook House has a lot of potential and COULD be a really superior location for a luxurious spa break. At the moment, it just isn't.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank RuthP921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarbrookGM, General Manager at Warbrook House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your break at Warbrook House Hotel.

We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your Spa experience.
We had had delivery of new furniture for outside and set up some new tables on the patio and made sure it was implemented before you visited the Spa. Unfortunately a few empty boxes still needed to be removed from the side of the building.

I have discussed your feedback with the relevant colleagues that were managing our operations on Saturday and I would like to sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you received in terms of service. I am glad you enjoyed the food, but am sorry that the service on the night was not at the level we set ourselves. We should have had more staff on duty, which would have avoided the lack of service and quality on the night.

Our operations manager would like to be associated with my apology.
I will also discuss your feedback regarding the housekeepers who cleaned the room to ensure this is done in time and in the manner expected.

With regards to the gardens they are massive and we are working our way through them. We have a dedicated team of gardeners here and we are preparing them for summer. Our flowers have been ordered for the season and will be delivered in the coming week and our sunken garden will soon be full of flowers too and free of weeds.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

With such a wide range of previous reviews (some very critical) it was with some trepidation that we arrived a few days ago to spend the voucher from a friend. But all went very well. We had a choice of table in the Canal View Restaurant and chose one by the window overlooking the extensive grounds. Our waitress was friendly and helpful, and the food choice and quality was very good with a nice selection of sandwiches, cakes, fresh warm scones, and a refill of the teapot when needed. We did not even need to ask for a container to take away what was left; it was offered without prompting and a smart little box duly appeared.
All in all a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CruisingSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarbrookGM, General Manager at Warbrook House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your afternoon tea experience.
This is exactly what we are trying to achieve here and I am glad you took the time to write down your positive experience. We will continue to push for a consistent service to deliver nice experiences for our guests.

We hope we may welcome you back soon again.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Evening was extremely enjoyable food was excellent hotel let down by shabby rooms when we stayed there was an all night party till 4am and the hotel did nothing about it, next morning we went down to breakfast to find there was only 1 staff member as the rest had call9in sick we were told to find a seat at a table and someone would be with us when they could, all tables were dirty from previous sittings we sat and waited for around 30 mins not a single person in sight. We eventually left without breakfast and went to find a local restaurant that was still open

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarbrookGM, General Manager at Warbrook House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

I am sorry to hear about your experience, but I must stress it is a pity to get your feedback a year after your stay.
Over the last year, we refurbished the bedrooms and invested a lot into the property.
We will continue to work on improving our services further.

Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

Untrustworthy business, cannot uphold Groupon voucher that has been paid for. No effort was made to contact or explain why. Appalling customer service and extortionate without the voucher. Obviously don't have control of their own brand if they cannot prevent their name being used by Groupon.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lucinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WarbrookGM, General Manager at Warbrook House, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your experience through Groupon.
I am sorry to read about your experience, but wish to let you know that although we had had a deal with Groupon to sell a few vouchers, this deal had been terminated by ourselves with Groupon a few months ago.
Unfortunately Groupon had not taken it of their website despite our hotel repeatedly requesting this to be be sorted as per the cancellation policy.
Due to these circumstances you and some other guests understandably feel upset about not being able to book a table with us through Groupon. This has however 100% being caused by Groupon themselves.

As a result of the above issue, we have decided we will still take a table a day via Groupon for those that have bought vouchers, to minimize upset for guests, but obviously this does mean that if there is too much demand on a day, some of you might still be disappointed not to be able to book.
Under no circucmstances are we an untrustworthy business, we are simply dealing with an issue caused by Groupon. If you can't book a table with us, you are of course entitled to a refund from Groupon anyway.

With regards to our pricing overall, this sits generally very competitively within the local market, but I appreciate that Groupon offers are very attractive.

I trust this explains the situation.
Kindest regards,

Tony Tijhuis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews