We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Plover Cottage

Plover Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plover Cottage
Living Room Living Room - TV and DVD as well as games to play and books to read
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Plover Cottage
Living Room
Living Room - TV and DVD as well as games to play and books to read
Breakfast bar with two stools in kitchen
Kitchen with fridge ( and freezer box) oven, washing machine and dishwasher
Dining area - table opens up to seat 4
Front bedroom
Front bedroom - double bedroom
Shower Room
Side Bedroom
Courtyard garden with table and four chairs and umbrella to sit out in the sun.
Plovers
View towards Isle of Wight from Milford beach.
Hordle
Milford Beach
View towards Hurst Castle from Isle of Wight.
Sunset
Sturt Pond bridge - great for crabbing!
Hurst Castle
Paddle boarding at Christchurch
Festive doormat!
Christmas at Plover Cottage - decorated from start of December for that pre Christmas break!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Milford on Sea, Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Roryosatr...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A beautiful cottage in the heart of Milford on Sea. The cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. As we were flying, with limited luggage allowance, to have extras provided, such as soap, tea bags, towels etc was very much appreciated. The kitchen has everything you would require. The shower is great and the beds were very comfortable.
The information pack provided by the owners is a useful read if you are not familiar with the area. Within a short walk, you have a plentiful choice of pubs, cafes and restaurants. There are also a couple of small supermarkets very nearby for all your requirements. Lymington is about 5 miles away, with a choice of larger supermarkets etc.
The cottage advertises itself as dog friendly - if we were not flying, our dog would have loved the area, especially the walks along the coast. From our experience, much of the area is dog friendly, with dogs welcome in many of the local pubs as well.
I would certainly recommend Plover Cottage. Should we return to the area, we would stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2017
Glad you had a great time. Our soaps are handmade locally as we like to use local products where we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget C
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love Plover Cottage”
Reviewed August 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Love Plover Cottage we have had a couple of long weekends there and would definitely recommend it. The cottage has everything you could possibly want and is just like home. In a lovely location with lots of dog walks down to the beach. Even the dog (Alife) is getting to know his way around! Took the boat to Hurst castle and then walked back along Hurst Spit not sure Alfie appreciated going the boat! Lymingtion is a must on a Saturday the market is great. Lots of nice places to eat but the cottage has a great kitchen with everything you could possibly need to make a lovely meal and sit outside.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2017
Thanks Bridget its lovely that you and Alfie keep coming back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEM0754
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat - Plover Cottage”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Plover Cottage is just perfect right in the centre of Milford On Sea.
Perfectly equipped very clean and dog friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you so much we are pleased you had a good time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C
1 review
“Lovely cottage in good location”
Reviewed July 29, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is in a good location with the Isle of Wight and New Forest within easy access. The village of Milford-on-sea has good amenities and the beach is within walking distance from the cottage.
Although the lounge is small, the kitchen is a good size and well equipped. The bedrooms are very comfotable and the bathroom is a good size.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2017
Thank you, you may be interested to know that when the cottage was the local dentists surgery the kitchen was the dentists room and the lounge was the waiting room!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulfoste...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming quirky little cottage with all modern convieniences close to local shops and pubs.”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage is located near the centre of Milford- On- Sea with off road parking next to the cottage. The location is perfect as only a 2 minute walk to the local shops and pubs. The cottage is fairly compact and the staircase and hallway upstairs are narrow but fine for most people to manage, downstairs there was more than enough space for three visitors and a fairly big German shepherd dog downstairs. The owners have gone to extraordinary lengths to make sure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. As you come in through the front door there is a small reception area with coat hooks, dog towels and bowls which then leads into a dining area with a table and 2 chairs, power sockets and a cupboard with an airer to dry towels and a hoover. On the table is a folder containing lots of useful leaflets, maps and guides. Moving on into the lounge area there is a comfortable 3 seater sofa and an additional cottage chair, TV, books, DVD's and a selection of games as well as a very useful Ordnance survey map of the area. Wi-Fi is also available and more than fast enough for general web surfing and checking emails. Off the lounge area is the kitchen which has all modern appliances you need including cooker, washer dryer and dishwasher all with instructions. There is also a neat 2 seat breakfast table and stools in the corner. Upstairs are 2 bedrooms with comfortable double beds and a fully equipped bathroom with shower. We used the cottage as a base for 4 days so we could explore the south coast and the New Forest, the cottage is ideally situated for both, the beach is only a 5 minute drive away and Hurst Castle is well worth a visit by driving down Newhaven road and getting the local ferry to the Castle. Brockenhurst and the New Forest are minutes away and a short run to Mudeford Quay and Christchurch is well worth the 20 minute drive. Overall we were so glad we booked Plover Cottage. In summary, this cottage and it's standards of cleanliness and the facilities are over and above what you would expect from a holiday rental property and Jane should be proud of what she has achieved and delivered. Would we stay again...... definitely..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2017
Hi Paul thank you for a lovely review and we are so glad that you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1LAF
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic perfection”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was better than hoped for. Perfectly equipped and well maintained. Good location for plentiful walks or trips to local attractions or coastlines.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2017
So pleased you had a good time and that we exceeded expectations!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brassingt...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pure magic”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is perfect, right in the heart of the village and just a stroll to the beach. Our favourite is by the bridge over the Sturt Pond.Look south to the Needles,look west across Christchurch Bay, look east across the creeks of Keyhaven and right up the solent. The cottage is a gem, tiny but full of charm and full of all the thoughtful touches that make the break special.Got its own parking bay.Shops,pubs and the village green less than a minute away.So far we have been twice,we will be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you so much and we are always so pleased to welcome back our returning guests, we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing