We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Plover Cottage

Plover Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plover Cottage
Living Room Living Room - TV and DVD as well as games to play and books to read
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Plover Cottage
Living Room
Living Room - TV and DVD as well as games to play and books to read
Breakfast bar with two stools in kitchen
Kitchen with fridge ( and freezer box) oven, washing machine and dishwasher
Dining area - table opens up to seat 4
Front bedroom
Front bedroom - double bedroom
Shower Room
Side Bedroom
Courtyard garden with table and four chairs and umbrella to sit out in the sun.
Plovers
View towards Isle of Wight from Milford beach.
Hordle
Milford Beach
View towards Hurst Castle from Isle of Wight.
Sunset
Sturt Pond bridge - great for crabbing!
Hurst Castle
Paddle boarding at Christchurch
Festive doormat!
Christmas at Plover Cottage - decorated from start of December for that pre Christmas break!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Milford on Sea, Lymington, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AMANDA A
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Property is in perfect location within walking distance to harbour/seaside.
Short drive away from popular new forest destinations.
House is decorated and furnished to a high but very comfortable standard with modern facilities

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Thanks Amanda we hope you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharonS29...
1 review
“Perfect! Fully equipped, dog friendly, homely cottage.....”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely little cottage perfectly situated for the local amenities. The owners have provided everything necessary to feel at home immediately, from the dog towels/bowls to a fully equipped kitchen! The extras like teabags, sugar, shower gel etc. were a lovely touch as was the parking permit for the local towns which proved very useful. Suffering with a chronic back condition I always worry about the beds, didn't need to here, they were very comfy! Our first break with our dog, she settled in very quickly and had a great time (in fact she came home exhausted!). Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review, we are lucky that the kitchen is big for a cottage so we have the space for all the things you need as well as a breakfast bar to sit at. We are glad that the beds were comfortable for you and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic short stay away”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I booked Plover cottage for a 4nt stay with my hubby and two dogs. This cottage is amazing, it has everything you need. Very comfy beds, a great shower and in a great location. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone. We decided to eat in a couple of evenings and eat out the others. The cottage is very well appointed. What a gem!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you we are so pleased you had a good time and we hope you will recommend us to friends and family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTour...
1 review
“Great Location - Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We (wife, daughter, dog and myself) had a great stay at this wonderful cottage. It is in a great location and everything (and more) is included.
You can see and feel that the owners have tried really hard to make sure your stay is perfect.
We Look forward to our next visit...!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nattynoos...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed April 19, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Plover cottage for 4 nights over the Easter break and will definitely be back.

It was really lovely to be able to take our dog with us with enough space for his crate in a corner for him to relax as well as us. There is an enclosed stoned courtyard which was needed-however literally just next door is a nature reserve/walk which was perfect for a morning walk for the dog and a jog for me. Just a pleasent 10min walk to the sea.

The cottage was perfectly equipped with all the mod cons we needed in the kitchen. Comfy sofas with room to eat at the table.
Upstairs are 2 double bedrooms. The beds are comfy and the pillows and dovets are cosy too. I actually slept in past 8am which for me is unheard of in a strange place.
It was really beautifully decorated which made us feel very welcome. We both felt very relaxed whilst there. Very much needed.

The local village had everything we needed all within walking distance.. -A local shop
-At least 3 pubs
-A wine bar
-Restaurants including fish, Chinese, Indian,Thai,chippy plus many more
-coffee shops and cafes.
-many shops.

Our favourite restaurant was the local fish restaurant. Absolutley divine! A must to try. Sunday roast at the Smugglers Inn was good and drinks at the Red Lion were friendly.

All in all we had a super stay at Plover cottage. Small but perfectly formed. A Home from Home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Hi Natalie thank you so much for a wonderful review, it is so good to hear that our guests enjoy the cottage as well as Milford which is a place we love very much. We had a roast at the Smugglers ourselves only the other week so we know just how good it is! We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna B
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a perfect location!”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We absolutely loved it here, Pip the dog really enjoyed her walks from the cosy cottage, didn't need to drive anywhere. We hope to go back soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Anna and we very much hope that you return soon to enjoy more of what Milford and the surrounding areas have to offer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue F
1 review
“Short Stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our stay was only two days and it was shame as we would have loved to stay longer. Plover Cottage is a delightful compact cottage that is well equipped with all that would you need for a break. It makes a change to find a cottage that is so well furnished and decorated that allows dogs.

We will be back soon I hope

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2017
Thanks so much Sue we love having four legged friends come to stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing