We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distress Book In”
Review of The Bay Trees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Trees
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Owing to a power failure where we were going to stay, we visited Mark & Sarah on a wet and windy January night. They were in the middle of decorating! We were given the most warm welcome and took a room for the night. It was so tastefully decorated, spacious, immaculate and warm. Breakfast the next morning was outstanding with all locally sourced and fresh produce.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for The Bay Trees
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 208 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a lovely large room with a view of the pretty garden, equipped with everything we might need, including sherry and home made shortbread. The breakfasts were first rate, and Mark and Sarah could not have been more pleasant, or more helpful with advice about walks etc (they even made sure my boots were dry). A particular treat for me was viewing the model railway in the shed, but that is optional!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Mark and Sarah were wonderful hosts. Super breakfast, lovely clean and tasteful bedrooms. In addition and very helpfully, they gave us some useful information about local attractions.You will be lucky if you can get to stay at the bay trees !

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissdebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Mark and Sarah are superb hosts and the Bay Trees is very comfortable and welcoming! Breakfast as ever is wonderful and it is lovely to have the option of smoked haddock... one of my favourites. Attention to detail is faultless and Mark and Sarah definitely go the extra mile for their guests. We will be back!

Room Tip: Love the Garden Room...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Nice welcome including coffee and cakes in the conservatory . Mark and Sarah were very pleasant and took time to explain in depth everything we needed.
Lovely garden which was so peaceful.
Very clean and tastefully furnished. Bedroom large with four poster bed.
The cooked breakfast was locally sourced with a variety of options. A lot of choices of quality fresh fruits and cereals.
Could not fault and ideal for a number of good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Trees on our first nights arrival in the area. Mark and Sarah we welcoming and showed us around the residence highlighting the various facilities such as the breakfast room, garden etc. Also Mark informed and made us aware of the action to be taken in an event of a fire.

The room was clean, bright and well furnished, the bathroom was fantastic and had a beautiful shower and bath. The bed was soft and very comfortable.

The next morning we attended Breakfast, their was a very good selection of cereals, fruits and Yoghurts, the cooked breakfast we well presented and very ample indeed.

We the left the Bay Trees and checked into another local B&B, however the standard of service and hospitality was such that that we longed to return to the Bay Trees. We were able to book and check in for our final night stay at the Bay Trees and again we were treated to home made Lemon Drizzle and Chocolate Walnut cake upon our arrival.

We enjoyed our stay so much and Mark and Sarah are so warm, attentive and friendly people who welcome you into their house, they have a unique and friendly way of providing a service which i have not seen for such a long time.

I cannot recommend the Bay Trees enough, we have told our families and friends and we plan to return to the New Forest next month, the choice of stay will definitely be the Bay Tree B&B, due to exceptional service, friendliness and just very nice friendly welcoming people who make the effort to care for you whilst you stay.

Thank you Mark and Sarah.

Room Tip: We stayed in Two rooms, both were amply equipped and serviced.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had booked to stay in the area at a other B&B for two nights. However deciding to go a day earlier we needed to find somewhere to stay as the other was booked. How luckily were we as The Bay Trees was simply many notches above the other. So much so that we had the opportunity to stay in the area one more night, this rested on if we could get back into The Bay Trees I was so pleased they had a room for us, so we left the other and went back to The Bay Trees for our final night.

Tea and homemade cakes on arrival just set things of to a great start.
Both the rooms were clean and great attention to detail with even things like lovely bath salts for you to use. With little treats left for the quests such as sherry and some chocolate. Just made you feel cared for and cared about.

I never felt anything but welcome and at ease there, even little Jasper the dog was a delight and just made the stay far more homely .

I can honestly say that the breakfast was outstanding, high quality yogurts, cereals and fresh fruit salads, cooked fresh fruits, dried fruits and seeds. You also had a choice of cooked breakfast which was divine, fresh coffee and a large selection of teas as well as toast all provided at your wishes. It’s the thought behind providing such good breakfasts with the top end of the range ingredients that add to the feeling of personal service. Its very apparent that Sarah and Mark care greatly and are very passionate about the service they provide ... Already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHIRLEY96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
6.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Trees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Trees

Address: 8 High Street, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: $167 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bay Trees 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Trees Visit England Five Star Bed and Breakfast is located in the heart of the village of Milford-on-Sea, on the edge of the New Forest National Park and within 5 minutes walk of the sea. This relaxed and informal home offers comfortable accommodation all year round in a selection of individually designed rooms. The village offers an excellent range of places to dine from village inns to restaurants of distinction, all of which are within a short walk of the Bay Trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Trees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Trees Milford On Sea, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing