We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opportunity missed”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel building has a fascinating history with some original features - oak panels, stained glass windows and stunning William De Morgan tiles. Our room - without a sea view- was well furnished with good facilities for a "standard double", but door didn't lock properly and "old" toiletries were left in bathroom.
Public rooms,including dining areas, seemed dusty and un-cared-for in places - below expected standards of cleanliness (dirty cleaning cloths left on tables).
The food menu seemed to be more "pub" than hotel standard and, though we were told it was not necessary to book a table, only one (in the doorway) was available for us.
It was an opportunity missed in our view to make this a good hotel in a superb building.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelMoore43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 673 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here last year so it was a natural choice when on business in the area again. A beautiful building with wonderful atmosphere. However, the owners have changed since last year and it shows. Usually you have good public areas and poor bedrooms - this is the other way round! Bedrooms are still very good but perhaps needing a refresh but the public areas now show the fact the hotel is owned by pub group. They've removed the old restaurant furniture and replaced it with tatty tables and chairs and removed some sofas from the wonderful old lounge. I'm told by the staff that refurbishments are due in January 2014 but I don't like the idea of a bar in the fantastic entrance hall! I would still happily stay here again but it will be interesting to see how it looks next year?

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveRochefort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. Location, location, location. We had a sea view room overlooking the gardens, isle of wight and the needles. The room was very comfortable and beautifully furnished, although the roman blinds have seen better days.
Food very good and reasonably prices so we ended up eating in every evening. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had a suite, which made our stay very relaxing. We stayed in the Siemans Suite which I would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chapman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights, had a lovely spacious sea view room which was lovely. We ate at the hotel a few times and the food was lovely and well priced, the service throughout was excellent from the welcome we had on arrival to the end of our stay.
We would definately stay again and pay the extra for the sea view although we had a good deal and would recommend to anyone it is a good base for travelling in the New Forset.
Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: room 5 was very spacious with a lovely big window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in a 'small double' which turned out to be fine. We'd asked for a sea view, which we got. You could see the sea and the Needles from the high long window, though not when sitting in bed. I kept getting lost finding the room; there are some odd twists and turns to access some of the second floor rooms (probably the old servants' quarters as one of the other reviewers points out). The pigeons outside were a pain if you had the double glazing open; the cooed loudly all the daylight hours. We had food one night, which was acceptable. Yes, it's a bit 'pubby' but then one doesn't expect fine dining in the surroundings. The French waiter was helpful, though not entirely reliable at making good his promises to bring things (mustard, a clean napkin [paper]). Breakfast was fine if you had the cooked part; the fruit was all tinned and the cereal looked ordinary. Coffee came one cup at a time, though they did bring another if you asked. The décor, splendidly moulded ceilings and almost deco stained glass windows notwithstanding, is a bit tired, indeed, but we found the place clean and there was everything you could need in the bedroom and bathroom. There is plenty of parking and a good terrace where you can have a drink or eat overlooking the sea. You can also walk down from the terrace to the beach and, should you wish, along the spit to Keyhaven and even to Hurst Castle. For the price, we were OK with it and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on booking and on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently for one night. Staff are very friendly and helpful including Lancelot the cat! Although we had booked a small double room we were pleasantly surprised to find that when we arrived we had been upgraded to a larger standard room. The room was clean and spacious and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a good choice and served quickly and efficiently. A pleasant experience in a comfortable hotel. If we're in the area again we'll definitely stay there again. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corkieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We live in Milford and every weekend this place is packed. Even the garden is full which I've never seen before.
Certainly the building is wasted as a pub, it is spectacular but needs some TLC, though as a listed building, that's gonna cost someone a few bob to do.
In its previous life it was known as Westover Hall, which the locals believe should still be the case as it reflects its grandeur far better.
I'm guessing a lot of the staff have been drafted in from other Hall & Woodhouse establishments as there are few familiar faces. (except a nice French man called Guy)
Whats not working is that the staff are run ragged, almost abandoned by the upper management, left to get on with it. The manageress is pulled in all directions from other staff members, serving food, the public, pouring pints, clearing tables and is therefore unable to carry out her role satisfactorily.
There are not enough staff to cope with the workload which leaves those that are working exhausted, resulting in them coming across as rude and unfriendly.
The fault here is in the management of the place but why would they bother to change anything when the place is packed every weekend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sheilathedoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,653 reviews
6.8 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: Beach House Park Lane, New Forest National Park Hampshire, Lymington SO41 0PT, England (Formerly Westover Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: $66 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Milford On Sea, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing