We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 5:30 AM
Save
Review Highlights
A gem

Took the boat across to Hurst Castle. Really enjoyed the crossing with the view of the castle as... read more

Reviewed today
Drewber40
Sunday morning walk!

Visited here on sunday - really nice little castle! Lots to see and read about and very friendly... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kathy L
,
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,086 reviews
  
Reviews (1,086)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveler rating
480
434
121
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
434
121
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long walk henry viii small ferry isle of wight audio guide english heritage boat trip lots of history shingle spit car park small cafe interesting place to visit shingle beach entrance fee world war interesting displays nooks and crannies
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed today

Took the boat across to Hurst Castle. Really enjoyed the crossing with the view of the castle as we approached. The was a lot more to this place than I first thought. Amazing views all round at the top. Plenty of history and displays to look at. Very reasonable entry fee, well worth a visit.

Thank Drewber40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here on sunday - really nice little castle! Lots to see and read about and very friendly staff and volunteers. Only £5 for an adult - well worth it. We walked along the spit to get there - I would say that it is quite a walk! But you can get a ferry there and back from Milford Beach - we got it back.

Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, just to clarify the ferry goes from Keyhaven not Milford Beach. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was blessed with good weather, but this really is a stunning location to spend a sunny day. Do support the local ferry company. At £6.50 return, not expensive and the dog is welcome at no charge. Gives you the best approach view. Lots of exhibits to look at in the Castle and I do take the point that it is all a bit dated, but it is fine. Real let down is the Cafe. Very poor. Will go again, but taking a flask and own food next time !

Thank Colin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, sorry to hear the cafe was up to your expectations, your comments have been passed on to the cafe staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took a boat ride with local chap who was very friendly sharing some personal anecdotes to keep us updated!

We enjoyed the visit although a cold day. Friendly staff. Stunning views from tower.

Thank jacqueline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, we are proud to say we offer one of the best views in England from the top of the Tudor keep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a walk along the shingle path from Keyhaven - wild wind but fabulous views, and we were anticipating a visit to the caste but the reality fell far short of expectations. Poor signage and inadequate information meant we were never really sure of what we were looking at. Staff seemed pretty disinterested apart from the lady organising the crafts for children. Badly maintained and falling into disrepair which was a little shocking for English Heritage. Coffee shop was essential on such a cold day but we felt the staff were probably doing us a favour. Really disappointing. Very best part was catching the ferry back - fantastic captain who made the whole trip worthwhile

Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. Hurst Castle is a LMA site, which is managed on behalf of English Heritage by a local company. Most of the work undertaken at Hurst Castle is by volunteers and we are currently looking at ways to improve signage within the budget we have

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Magnificent example of a Tudor naval fortification which has been adapted over the centuries as the risk of invasion changed.
Well laid out and access to most areas.
Incorporated into the site is a significant museum of the lighthouse service.

Be warned, it is along walk along a shingle spit where you are exposed to the elements and the sea but well worth the effort.
We went expecting a couple of hours but by the time we had finished the best part of a day had gone.

Thank Samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, so pleased to hear you had a great day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After parking our car in Milford on Sea my grandson and I took a stroll to the castle which took us about an hour as he is only six,when we arrived he decided he didn't want to go into the castle so I asked the lady at the entrance if we could just go in and use the toilets and have something in the cafe to which her stern reply was no only if you pay the entrance fee to which I replied that he was only six but she still refused which upset him so much as he had to find a quiet spot in the rocks so he could go to the toilet,I would have thought that as he was so young she would have been a bit more lenient instead of the stern faced person she was.

Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So sorry to hear the negative reaction you had, but our toilets are for paying guests only as we are unable to offer a public convenience to walkers as our salt water internal sewage system would not be able to cope with the numbers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We caught the ferry from Keyhaven which was a fun trip and would allow us 4 hours there, as recommended in the reviews. We paid about £6 for parking and £23 return tickets for the ferry. If we had more time we may have walked along the spit from Milford on sea.

We had fun going up stairs to the top of buildings for amazing views and then down stairs to tunnels for darkened sometimes wet tidal floors, much to my 15 year old daughter’s delight. There was a lot to see and do and lots of STAIRS. My 79 year old mother did well. We stopped briefly for a drink in the cafe and caught the 5pm ferry back. Sadly we ran out of time to go to the outside lighthouse or anything outside. We used our English Heritage passes luckily as it would have worked out to about £18.50.

1  Thank 983caroled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear you had a great day out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took the ferry to the castle (rather than walk the two miles along the coast) which was lovely - fairly expensive at £6.50 per adult and £3.50 per child for a return - but well worth it for the views.

The castle is very impressive in both architecture and history. Lots of very information on its varied past - particularly good for those year 5s studying the Second World War!

From the ferry to the children’s entertainment staff, everyone was very friendly and couldn’t be more helpful.

Thank Abssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Difficult to reach as you need to walk along the shingle spit or catch a ferry - it is well worth it. Originally from Henry VIII time and added to until WW2 it is interesting to all ages. On a clear day you get stunning views over the Isle of Wight and the Needles. If you take the kids make sure they have a torch as they will love running around the interior looking in all the rooms.

1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelewisgang, Manager at Hurst Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great to hear you had a good day, hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews