We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic quality and value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chanteclerc

Le Chanteclerc
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Cadnam
Price range: $7 - $31
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic quality and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Been many times to this restaurant, when you walk in it doesn't look to inviting, but the food is fantastic and the value even better, good quality produce and Cooked fresh with an ever changing blackboard of specials, the prices are so reasonable it's like stepping back 25 years!!! Unlike the pub down the road which is overpriced and food is dreadful, this place should be packed every session.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaharris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great Sunday lunch! Made a nice change from a roast. Lovely menu go for the 3 courses. Food well above average and good portions. Beautiful setting. Pricing is very good for the high quality. Would recommend :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbaPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food but not for hard of hearing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We eat in the Bistro side and had a table for 4 in the none carpeted area. On arrival we were the first table and all was quiet (the chairs are very basic so don't plan to sit for too long). We ordered from a lovely selection of specials and I must say the food was the best we have eaten out for a long time at very good value for money, as is the wine.
The down side was the noise. Because of the lack of furnishings then every noise in the room echo's and what with the chairs on stone floors, cutlery banging and the chat from other guests we were unable to talk to our table as could not make ourselves heard (and we have no hearing problems :) ).
We would go again but insist on a table in the carpet area..no idea what the a la carte is like but heard its good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic little restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

The food here is delicious! I've eaten here for years and I have never been disappointed. Would definitely recommend, although eat in the bistro side if you can the a' la carte restaurant is very formal.
Great value for money and reliable good food cooked fresh on site. You won't find any microwaved/pre packed crap here

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joules26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fair and reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A bit like eating in the 1980's - rather outdated menu and decor, but the food was good, service friendly and price reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonDelphine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chanteclerc also viewed

Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Le Chanteclerc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing