We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost it's finesse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Having visited hotels within this group for the last three years my partner and I decided to revisit the Bartley Lodge. One of the main reasons has been the excellent standard of food and service in the restaurant.
Upon arrival and check we asked the receptionist if food was available as we had missed lunch. Of course came the reply, sandwiches were available in the bar or hot food from 530pm. We checked in to our room and made our way down to the bar to have a quick snack and a drink. The bar as is customary in some hotels was unmanned and we had to ask the receptionist to take our order. It then took an hour to receive a sandwich and chips.
We were disappointed to arrive in the dining room for our evening meal and be handed a menu printed on a sheet of paper rather than a nicely bound menu holder as before. The limited but excellent daily choices we were used to seeing has been replaced by something resembling a pub food menu.
We received our food and whilst it was tasty and plentiful we felt that a certain finesse in its execution has been lost. I can only imagine that the hotel has gone through some changes in the kitchen team.
As someone who has worked in the catering industry for 20 years it was disappointing to have wine poured by a restaurant manager who struggled to work out whether red wine should go in the small, dirty (still had lipstick marks from a previous user) wine glass or the correct larger glass.
As a frequent user of this hotel group we were disappointed with our visit to the Forest Lodge in Lyndhurst last year. It was all a bit too quiet and lacked the cosy atmosphere of the Beaulieu or the Bartley Lodge. It seems the Bartley Lodge has also suffered at the hands of someone trying to fix something that isn't broken. Please return our favourite New Forest hotels to the former glory so we can enjoy another visit!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

We are currently trialling a new menu across the group and appreciate feedback from our guests regarding this, especially as a regular visitor. Thank you for your comments which I will ensure are discussed at our next Management Meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 906 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our second holiday at Bartley Lodge, and doubt the last. Lovely hotel set in nice grounds and good location. Room standards ok, food good, staff polite and happy to oblige...albeit service at times a little inconsistent, probably due to new hires/inexperience. However, overall hotel standard is very good...and could be excellent with the ongoing investments and improvement efforts being made by management. Speaking with many other guests at the time, all were complimentary about their stays, and most were repeat business having stayed a number of times previously. That speaks volumes and that is maybe more important than written comments alone.

Room Tip: Double check if room has bathroom amenities you expect (eg bath, shower, both), and whether any air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awrobbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for a midweek break in this very conveniently placed hotel both for road connections and its place on the edge of the New Forest.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the room was comfortable and clean, the dining was good and the flame style fires added atmosphere to the public areas. There is a smallish swimming pool that was also lovely and warm.
The wi-fi was a bit temperamental despite there being repeater aerials all over the place. Following some investment, an extension has been added to the original building (very tastefully) and this has enabled a lift to be installed and disabled access to be greatly improved.

My one bugbear that prevents me scoring this hotel 5 stars is the breakfast arrangements which have deteriorated over the 13 years I have been visiting the 4 hotels in this group.
What started as a really first class breakfast with a good choice of cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, muffins, croissants and a cooked selection where you could chose any items has been whittled down over the years to a more limited selection of cold items, croissants only to order and set hot meals with 50p surcharges for extra items.
Given what you could pay normally for B&B, it is an insult to be charged to (say) add mushrooms to the meat breakfast (they only come with the veggie version).

This is something I have been commenting on ever since this system was brought in and it appears someone is now listening as the management told me that from January, these charges should disappear. I certainly hope so because a hotel group of this otherwise very high standard really does not need a per item charge like you may get in a works or hospital canteen.
I expect to stay at one of the hotels in this group again shortly and provided this anomaly has been removed (and not sneaked in somewhere else) I shall be happy to rate a max 5 score.

These hotels are all 3 star (AA rating) but this must be on a technicality like not having a full meals service 24 hours or something as the comfort and quality would merit 4 stars in these other areas.

Good news for dog owners, these hotels do allow you to bring your dog with you (there may be a small charge).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vinylman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a great day at the hotel just before Christmas. It’s a beautiful country house that’s been well maintained and a delight to be in – the restaurant, lounge and bars are well appointed, very comfortable and just great for relaxing. We had a terrific three course lunch from an excellent menu with good fresh food, good wines at reasonable prices and very attentative service. Breakfast was similarly excellent. We peeked into the room being prepared for a wedding – just beautiful, colours and styles just right.
It was good to be looked after by the cheerful staff that were extremely friendly and helpful – especially Cesar who made sure that we really enjoyed our stay.
Our room was quite large with a four-poster bed and nicely decorated and furnished with great views over the ground and fields.
We’ll certainly be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the (modern) four-poster beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

this was a late anniversary present from our daughter...overnight stay with an evening meal and breakfast....when we arrived we were welcomed by very friendly staff.....our first room only had a shower and I really prefer to bath and the room was changed without any fuss at all....the evening meal was lovely as was the breakfast....this was a very enjoyable short break...would love to go again....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitkat93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wonderful wife, after surgery some 15 months ago, has an untreatable and incurable brain tumour. For the first time in nearly 25 years we decided to spend Christmas at an Hotel. We live on the Isle of Wight so we did not want to travel too far so we choose the Bartley Lodge in the New Forest - a short ferry and drive of just an hour.

Spending Christmas away was the best decision I think I have made for a long time. Choosing the Bartley Lodge was the next best.

When I originally made the booking my wife was reasonably mobile - now she is wheelchair bound. Jason, at the hotel, took on the case to swap us to a room near to the lift with no stairs to negotiate which made our stay so much easier.

We stayed for 5 nights, starting on 23rd December,. The whole experience was magic. The staff did everything they could to make sure that we had a great holiday. The food was fantastic, all of our extra requirements in view of our circumstances were provided without any problems.

To Stuart, the General Manager, you have every right to be proud of your team ( I hate the word "Staff") so will you please tell them so!!.

Would I go there again, under normal circumstances - yes of course. However, I suspect this is the last Christmas that we shall have together, it would be difficult to go alone !

Room Tip: We needed a room near the Lift and were given 44 which was absolutely perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding at Bartley Lodge on the 21st Dec 2013. We'd picked it as it is such a lovely building but with a cosy feel and we are so glad we did! Nothing was too much trouble for Haidee and Jason and so many of our guests commented on the beautiful setting and the lovely food. Most of our guests stayed (all said their rooms were a good standard) and we all had breakfast together the next morning (which was also lovely - my nephews enjoyed the pancakes). The hotel hosts weddings very often, but I never felt 'one of many' - staff were lovely and so attentive. We also booked an extra night so were able to enjoy the pool and had another lovely meal by the light of the Christmas tree. Our only complaint was that we did eventually have to leave!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadnam
2.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
875 reviews
5.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
841 reviews
3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
610 reviews
8 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
9.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest National Park Hampshire SO40 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park Hampshire > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range: $93 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing